We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
nuneaton, warks
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel as convenient to my daughter who I was visiting. Lovely hotel, very cosy and welcoming. Has parking at the hotel which I've noticed is not readily available in the city centre hotels. Staff were very helpful and polite. I was upgraded to a double room. Bathroom was a good size and very clean with toiletries available. The shower was lovely, no problems with water pressure. Bed was very comfortable. It was very clean and facilities were excellent with tea/coffee, hairdryer, iron and ironing board (if you needed any of these, but nice to have the choice). I didn't eat at the restaurant in the hotel but it was fairly busy and looked nice. I paid £44.50 for the room and that is a good rate after checking out some of the hotels on various sites in Leeds. Would definitely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank normski101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Thank you for your kind review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    175
    67
    23
    16
See reviews for
108
157
31
59
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

Stayed here midweek with work, £60 for B&B, room was clean and comfortable, breakfast was nice, very good value for money. Only issue was the water pressure in the shower was poor, was like someone showering you with a watering can! But overall pretty good, and would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
sorry about the watering can, we do know at peak times some rooms do suffer a little by lack of pressure for a short time. Thank you for for your review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, England
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Looking for a place to stay for the night whilst doing some Christmas shopping in Leeds and visiting friends in nearby Halifax we stumbled across Haley's Hotel.

Great location a few miles from the city centre, up a quiet cul-de-sac.

The building looks quite impressive from the road and that is carried through to the interior where you are greeted with a welcoming lobby/ reception with the bar, restaurant and sweeping staircase to the upper floors branching off it.

Decor was nice and tidy and our room had been upgraded to a deluxe for an extra £10. Bargain!

Our room was on the top floor in the front corner tower. Large bay window with secrecy blinds and curtains. Largish room with equally spacious bathroom with both shower cubicle and bath.

We had booked dinner as the restaurant looked okay. Food wise; well maybe it was the night we picked (there were a couple of Christmas parties booked in), but I'd describe it as wholesome rather than haute cuisine. Some of the courses had run out by the time we sat down (20:00), which restricted choice, our vegetarian friend in particular had little choice, which was disappointing. I think the regular menu offered more selection so maybe it was a seasonal thing.

Beds- super comfy. Slept well as the room, despite being on the front was very quiet.

Breakfast next morning provided plenty of choice. We're not "full English" folk, but it was there if you wanted it.

All in all a great find and one that we will be using again when we visit the area.

Room Tip: As for a deluxe room, the upgrade is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VonTwinzig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
Sorry about running out of some of the dishes on the menu, but hope to see you again. Thank you. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2012

We were married at Haleys on 29/09/2012. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much for them. Gordon (the owner) is a real character - and clearly very experienced in the ins and outs of creating an great day. The place is quiet and relaxed, with quirky decor the staff are experienced and motivated - but with excellent customer service kills. The food was very good - you don't expect it it for a large function - but it was really good food. Our room was very warm and relaxing with great views from the turret windows I cannot speak highly enough of this location for our wedding (and it was an absolute bargain), i have been to much (much), more expensive wedding venues that werent a patch on this place. Cant wait to for our anniversary to go back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rikkard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 February 2013
I think i owe you a bottle of wine on your anniversary - please mention it at the time. Thank you for your kind comments. Best wishes for your future together. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skelmersdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2012

We visited Headingley for a family wedding for one night. The location is perfect, set back off the main, lively, Otley Rd, so although very quiet and peaceful, just a stones throw from the action.

We had a double room, which was clean, comfortable and reasonably sized.

Check in is usually 14.00 but because of the wedding we asked if we could check in earlier and sure enough the room was ready and we were in our room at 12.00. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good, although there was a distinct lack of toast which was a very minor problem in relation to our whole stay.

I would definitely stay there again if I was staying in Headingley in future, good value for the money.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Sorry about the toast and it must be a coincidence but we have just supplied an additional toaster for use by the breakfast staff this will enable them to toast 8 slices at a time. Y

You will se from the previous reviews that a lot of our guests are on return visits we hope to see you again in the near future.

Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

My fourth visit to this hotel that provides excellent value for money. Reception staff are friendly and helpful as is Bob the night porter, providing friendly service at breakfast.

Rooms are clean though fittings and furnishings are getting a tired appearance. Sometimes a little attention to detail will make all the difference.

I would not mind paying a little more if the rooms were brought up to a higher standard, overall though a good, value hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for aroom not above the restaurant as you will hear the piped music through the floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PlymouthArtist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
We have an on going programme at Haley's to visit the furnishings in the bedrooms, it is not our intentions to modernise but to improve the general quality and appearance of the furnishings. Thank you. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stevenage
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Haleys in Headingly is a blast from the past. Stayed for the third time visiting my daughter who is at Uni in Leeds. The whole feel of the place in sharp contrast to the usual standardised chain hotel is superbly charming and relaxing. It does look a little weary in places, but I would much prefer that to modern hotels. Located along a leafy lane with loads of car parking space you would not know you were in a city. However the main road with pubs, shops and restaurants is in easy walking distance. The breakfast is excellent and although we did not eat dinner in this time, it has previously been very good. The price too, at under £70 for two is very competitive for a hotel of this standard. We'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank artysport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 December 2012
Haleys has that special feeling of a country house hotel situated on the edge of Leeds City centre. Thank you for your review. Gordon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
1.4 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 87 in Leeds
764 reviews
0.3 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
308 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#45 of 87 in Leeds
491 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
391 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Queens - Leeds
The Queens - Leeds
#11 of 87 in Leeds
3,180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing