We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A calm oasis just outside busy Leeds city centre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Great Saling, Essex
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A calm oasis just outside busy Leeds city centre”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our choice for Leeds Met Graduation day
The hotel was calm, quiet, clean and tidy. The beds were clean and very comfortable.
The food excellent which included a Sunday value carvery. A wide choice for breakfast was also something to look forward to each day. The staff were all very helpful. Well positioned for numerous, bars and restaurants just a short walk away. Pleasant front garden offering a relaxed area for outside drinks. People with walking disabilities may find the stairs a problem as this is an older property no lifts are present..
Finally the price was very fair for our two night stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pete4713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Thank you for your review. We do have ground floor bedrooms in our Bedford house accommodation which we use for disabled and handicapped guests.

Gordon Jowett (M.D)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

427 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    169
    66
    23
    16
See reviews for
108
152
31
58
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013 via mobile

We arrived at this hotel on Saturday 27th July on an impulse stay in Leeds.On arrival we were greeted very well and politely and were given room 26. The room was large clean and very well decorated with a very modern excellent bathroom containing an excellent standing shower cubicle. The hotel has its own bar and we were served by a member of staff whom brought us our bottle of wine to a table set outside in the hotel grounds.The breakfast was a buffet style of a good standard full English or crossiants or cereals with filter coffee and pure orange. All this for £69 this is what I call excellent value and next time we stop in Leeds we will be returning to this hotel.Haleys Hotel and staff thank you very much !

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Neils291
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
Your kind comments have been passed on to the staff. Thank you for this review.

Gordon Jowett (M.D)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norn Iron
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stayed here due to its location to Headingley. We booked a deluxe room which was on the second floor. There is no lift in the hotel and due to a minor disability I found that a little difficult (also don't understand how that is legal...). The deluxe room was a little disappointing - didn't really feel luxurious. It felt a bit dated - the furniture was scratched and old. Bathroom was good though, spacious with a separate shower and bath.

Not sure who the neighbours are, but someone seemed to be having a party in the next building over.

This hotel could be really stunning as it is a lovely old house, but it's a little tired and could do with a facelift. Great location for the cricket - 10 minute walk from the cricket ground.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheScorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

This is a lovely quiet hotel although only about 200 yards from the main road. Rooms and beds were all clean and comfortable. Bathroom was a little small but had both bath and over head shower. The staff were all very pleasant and helpful any small problems were soon sorted.Breakfast was excellent one of the best we have had. A choice of croissants, fresh fruit, cereals or a full English Breakfast, all self service and eat as much as you like. There is a bus stop just around the corner at the end of the road where a no 6 bus will take you to the bus station in the centre of Leeds. We had a most enjoyable stay and we would stay here again. Would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel could be a little dark due to the trees, not a big problem but needs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheddleton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

Dining room and food excellent,great location for visiting universities . Although the rooms are comfortable and good value for the money a little more TLC and in some areas re- painting would improve customer experience .A lovely Hotel in a quiet road .First impressions would be improved by cleaning up the front garden area . We enjoyed our stay in this hotel based on the price. One major problem for our party which consisted of a young family and grand parents was the lack of a lift.

Room Tip: Up stairs rooms not suitable for the elderly or infirm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovesfood69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CornmillLodge, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 August 2013
We can offer ground floor bedrooms in Bedford house (just across the carpark).

The hotel has been fit out with all new beds with a high spec, this was completed early july with new carpets to follow shortly.

The garden has been transformed since you visited with new table, chairs and sun umbrellas.

Thank you.

Gordon Jowett (M.D)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berwick-upon-Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Well this was the third time we've stayed at Haley's and won't be the last...although this is the first review it will apply to all visits.
The booking process was really easy with very helpful staff who seemed genuinely interested in customer service..

The hotel itself is excellent, easy parking and the rooms are light and comfortable. (Now we've been a few times we ask for the same room each time) Need to be aware that some rooms have showers and some baths, as we prefer baths we get an appropriate room.
The restaurant has a great reputation talking to other guests in the past but we've never used it for evening meals, so no real helpful comment can be made here.

We go for the rugby at nearby Headingley Carnegie stadium. It's a bout a 5 minute walk away.

Breakfast has been excellent on the last two occasions, I have to say much better than the first time which was by no means bad. Plenty of food, freshly cooked with a good variety.

So in conclusion, friendly staff one and all, but need to make a special mention to Bob who in our opinion epitomises what customer service should be about, nothing too much trouble, a real asset to the hotel (and no, this is NOT Bob writing this! lol)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
With Headingly Cricket and Rugby stadium within walking distance Haley's is in a great location. Thanks for your kind comment about the staff. Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london,england
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We were looking for a good quality small hotel for six golfing mates offering good value in the Leeds area. This hotel is situated in a quiet leafy street offering good parking. We did not want the bother of finding a restaurant for dinner so we went for full board option.. Our package was for dinner bed and breakfast for two nights each having a single room and in fact they gave us two doubles at the single room rate. I paid a bit extra an had a deluxe double which had a king size bed and flat screen tv and the normal tea/ coffee . It was all very comfortable ,clean and quiet. Breakfast was buffet style offering full English as well as fruit and cereal.
My deluxe package was £85 per night for full board which I think was fantastic value so I hope you might find it the same.

Room Tip: Ask about the size if that is important
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clarkio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HaleysHotel, Owner at Haley's Hotel and Restaurant, responded to this review, 24 June 2013
Haley's is perfect for golfers with about 5 courses close by. Thank you for this review. Gordon Jowett M.D
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
1.4 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 754 reviews
0.3 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 384 reviews
11.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
2.7 mi away
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
Corn Mill Lodge Hotel
#44 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haley's Hotel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haley's Hotel and Restaurant

Property: Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
Address: 6-10 Shire Oak Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2DE, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Haley's Hotel and Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Haley's Hotel and Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Haleys Hotel Leeds
Haley's Hotel And Restaurant Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing