We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and homely visit”
Review of The Butlers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Butlers Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Friendly and homely visit”
Reviewed 23 March 2013

Having worked in Hull most of the day, and travelling to Leeds in the evening for an early start in Leeds, my Son booked the Hotel for me half an hour before we arrived !

The Manager of the Hotel was really friendly and helpful, and even moved his car from the front of the hotel so we could park easily as the rear car parking area was full.

All staff were really friendly and polite, and the breakfast was really good, and for the excellent value, they cannot be faulted.

I would recommend them to anyone travelling that way, and the next time I am working in the Leeds area I would definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it really is appreciated. We look forward to seeing again when you next travel to Leeds.

Thank you again from all the team at the Butlers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    42
    31
    34
    47
See reviews for
20
52
28
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 February 2013

The Hotel quite easily accommodated my group of 30+ people. The staff went above and beyond what would be expected and fulfilled every request (no matter how strange) we put to them.

If you are organising a group booking and want an easy time of it this is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chezmojohnson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2013
Thank you so much for your positive feedback, it really is appreciated. We look forward to seeing again when you next travel to Leeds whether there is 1 or 30+ of you!

Thank you again from all the team at the Butlers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 26 January 2013

Stayed for mates graduation and a year later for a wedding. Really friendly fun and quirky room. Central location. Free room upgrade and amazing value breakfast. Will we be back? In a heartbeat! Cheers

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

We stayed at The Butlers Hotel as we where seeing a rugby game at the ground (which you can actually see from the back window its that close!!) It is comfortable, nice beds, great clean bathrooms, cosy, a bar with a snooker table, the staff where fantastic and friendly, the breakfast was great, car parking at the back and yards from some fantastic bars and pubs too!! What else do you want? Fantastic value for money! Its not a 5 star hotel, if you want that, stay at the Hilton in Leeds - but this is a brilliant "proper" friendly B&B, and I'm sure you'll have a great stay here - couldn't fault it! I will be returning next season!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Manager at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review.
I am very pleased you had a grate stay with us, and managed to visit some of our local bars. We hope to see you in the next rugby season.
Kind regards
Tom Fligg
Duty Manager
Butlers Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012 via mobile

Booked this through Groupon. On arrival the staff seemed really nice. We stayed in the Bronte room, I really loved the room. Quirky and so much to look at. However the bed was unbelievably squeaky, the toilet seat was broken and there was very little room.

Anyway from 12am we had problems. The room next to us was so noisy. Singing, shouting, playing music till 4am, thats when we decided to leave. We couldn't cope any longer. We did ring reception around 3am and explained the situation. The staff member did speak to other room as we heard one of them say 'some guy has gone and complained about us!' So he had tried to do something about it was just not on.

At 4am we packed our bags and left. We were offered another room but after being awake all night I think my own bed was the better option for the 4 hours of sleep I could have before leaving for work.

Through the Groupon voucher we had also paid for the breakfast, but after reading some of the other reviews its probably better we didn't stay for it.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Antonia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Manager at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 29 December 2012
Thank you very much for taking time to write a review.
I am however very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay.
We do take criticism seriously and feed back from our guests is a must.
I am sorry you were disturbed buy the guests next door to you , and as you explained in your review you did tell the duty manager on shift and he did try to resolve the problem by talking to the other guests and offering you a new room but you refused.

Kind regards
Tom Fligg
Duty Manager
Butlers Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Headingley hotels

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2012

The staff were very very helpful could not do enough for u. The most comfortable beds I have ever sleep in very clean as well. It very good value for money its small and every room is based on different themes such as the Jayne

Eyre room and a captain room

Room Tip: It is an excellent place to stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GRAINNE224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Dear Grainne,
Thank you so much for your kind words, they really are appreciated. Don't forget to come and see us next time you are visiting your daughter!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2012

This is a very good B?&B, the room was basic but a reasonable size, teh location was good for me whilst I was on a course, a fairly good work top to work at. Staff were friendly and flexible, allowed me to change a day in the middle of my stay with no penalty.
Food is also good, a fair variety, and on the whole a good stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 9 November 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, it really compliments the team and for us to move forwards.

We to have a multitude of rooms with varying themes and decor so we welcome you back to the hotel at anytime to sample more

Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
325 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 87 in Leeds
1,200 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butlers Hotel

Property: The Butlers Hotel
Address: 40 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Butlers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and LateRooms so you can book your The Butlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Leeds
The Butlers Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing