We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Creepy Dungeon'” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Butlers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Butlers Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“'Creepy Dungeon'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place is hilarious. If you are looking for somewhere cheap to sleep and really don't care about anything else then it is perfect.... We visited as a large group of young people so we saw the funny side.

During our stay, another gentleman was booked into a room which had not been cleaned or made over! He even has the pleasure of finding someone's sick in his bed. The people who worked there didn't seem too bothered, but they did move his room after 10 minutes.

The decor is very outdated with various holes and marks all over the place. Instead of a duvet you get a poor quality brown blanket. Most rooms have shared bathrooms - ours wasn't cleaned whilst we were there. That was only 2 nights, but shared by about 9 people it got a bit grim, and the toilet was already dirty upon arrival. Our microwave had a massive dent in it - not sure how safe that is! And the kettle switched itself off before it managed to boil.

I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
I am very sorry to hear your stay was not satisfactory.
You had booked into a large group in our sister hotel, however to get your group all together we had placed you into our standard rooms in the butlers hotel.
In regards to you hearing one of our guests mentioning vomit in his bed, this guest was reporting this as he had had the accident, and would praise that my Duty manager had moved his room for convenience to our guest.
The ‘various holes and marks all over the place’ is due to us undergoing maintenance work on our ground floor and apologise for the inconvenience.
The shared bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis and are shared by 6 people on that floor, all 6 of your group had shared this bathroom.
I have also checked the electrical equipment in those rooms and thank you for reporting the issues.
Thank you again for your review, as criticism is a must for us and will be taken very seriously to improve our service.
Kind Regards
Mark Lowther
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    29
    34
    47
See reviews for
20
51
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were put in a room in "The Boundary Hotel" which is conjoined to Butlers, despite booking for Butlers Hotel. It was a dive and not in any way as described.

The room was damp, narrow with brown stains on the walls and sink and visible dust and grease on surfaces. The bed had an ancient sagging mattress which was very uncomfortable. Just above the bed was a broken wall lamp with wires poking out, just above the pillow, which seemed really unsafe.

The shower looked like it was permanently out of order, judging by the signs written on the shower door. The toilet seat was chipped with brown stains, which meant one filthy, arguably useable toilet and shower between a whole floor.

We didn't want to chance the breakfast as the whole place seemed unclean and smelt funny, and the level of cleanliness in the rooms put us off.

The staff member who greeted us, and the staff member who dealt with my complaint, were both very friendly and helpful, but we saw no one else during the rest of our stay.

I've never had such a bad stay anywhere in Europe or England, and I've stayed in a wide varietyof hostel and hotel. We did get a refund after complaining.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank n m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Headingley hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We also did this hotel on a group, We aIso did not receive our welcome drink....in fact we didn't see any staff apart from the young man who checked us in and the chef who took our breakfast order. The first thing you notice as you go through the door was the dank smell, which was everywhere, we checked in were given our room key, the young man took our groupon and disappeared......never to be seen again. The room was relatively clean, but very run down, shabby and out of date, draylon headboards and pelments anyone......The carpets could do with a good deep clean or else ripping out and burning and the side of the bath was a sheet of MDF. We were located to the rear of the hotel in an extention. everytime the room next door or above us, used the toilet or even switched on a light it could be heard loudly in our room, so we got very little sleep..... There are far better and cleaner budget hotels for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were a bit worried about staying here after reading the reviews, however it wasnt as bad as some of the reviews say. Yes the hotel is in some need of a makeover, our room we stayed in was nice and big, the shower worked well, the room was clean. However the toilet was leaking which we noticed. Breakfast in the morning well we waited ages to get served and for fresh cups. In the end my husband asked for our breakfast as no body came and took our order. We booked the hotel through Groupon for £29 which we felt was not a bad price although we probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013

We (myself, wife and daughter) stayed in June 2013. Fortunately it was only for one night. We had had a long drive and arrived too late to search for an alternative - but would have done had we known all the horrors that awaited us. The first impression given by grimy exterior proved an adequate precursor to the disgusting interior. We'd booked a triple room which was located in the bowels of the hotel accessed by a vertiginous set of stairs and a gloomy corridor. The room was dank and dirty and the shower did not work. On complaining I was shown three other rooms - all worse - danker, darker and smellier than ours. We were concerned that the entrance door to our room had a "fire exit" sign above it. We've since established (via Leeds Environmental Health Department) that we were sleeping in a fire exit and that other guests would escape a fire via our room!

Do not stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I was slightly surprised to walk through the front door of The Butlers Hotel to see that the foyer is joined to that of the adjacent Boundary Hotel. Indeed, though my booking was with Butlers the room was in the Boundary Hotel half. Not a problem and indeed the still quite independent looking frontages of the 2 hotels made me smile as I had just avoided parking in the front area of the "other" hotel.

Characterful decor in the public areas, though the room was rather small and drab. Slightly surprised to see the headboard laying on the bed, with a collection of screws to fit it (didn't expect to have to make my own bed - ba-dum!), so I think perhaps a bit short-staffed (just 1 person in the evening for both hotels and running the bar as far as I could see. However, not expensive and very short walk to centre of Headingley village with easy parking behind so met my requirements.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

Room was comfy and clean
Service at breakfast on both mornings was shabby and we had to ask for forks, milk, bread to toast on both morning, there seemed alot of staff in the kitchen but nobody front of house over seeing to the customers. That said the food was good and the hotel was placed well close to pubs and places to eat

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mopbucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.3 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#27 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butlers Hotel

Property: The Butlers Hotel
Address: 40 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Butlers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com and SpeedyBooker.com so you can book your The Butlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Leeds
The Butlers Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing