We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night Leeds break”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of The Butlers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Butlers Hotel
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Billingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“One night Leeds break”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked this hotel deal off groupon read all the usual negative reviews and thought we would decide for ourselves, we were looking for somewhere to lay our head after a day / night on the tiles! We arrived to a very dark shabby reception with a lovely happy concierge, we were two hours early and our room was ready, we had the Reniour room 236 which was very bright and airy compared to the hall way, yes the room and bathroom were dated and it was in desperate need of redecoration but it was clean and had a really large comfy bed, staff very friendly & helpful, breakfast was mediocre but for £29 B&B for two it was ample, not sure I would return but certainly doesn't deserve the reviews it's got, you want 5 star pay 5 star prices! close to town £4 in a taxi (don't use the black & white taxis they take your eyes out)

Room Tip: Reniour room had a very comfy bed which made up for the decor but unfortunately our window was right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    30
    34
    47
See reviews for
20
51
26
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is in a serious state of disrepair. We booked last minute through laterooms, but the photos look now to be abour 15/20 years old. All furniture seemed damaged, including a smashed mirror in the entrance hall. The reception area also had a disgusting smell that we couldn't place. The wallpaper on the stair case was worn and looked as though it had been damp and then got scraped by something. Many of the floor tiles in the bathroom were smashed and the bath looked dirty. There was rubbish on the floor under our bed and rubbish on the floor in the corridors. We both barely slept and I have had a serious rash since leaving the place! Absolutely disgusting doesn't even begin to describe this place. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Headingley hotels

Poitiers, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

Butlers isn't a city centre hotel, or caters for business people who are looking for 5 star services. If thats what you want, look elsewhere. Butlers is a super place, offering decent honest value for money. We've stayed here twice now, and have nothing but praise for it. The reception is really friendly, which was just what we needed after a long days driving. Someone who is friendly and attentive, offering a genuine welcome, is every bit as good as one of those false 5 star smiles at corporate quarters... Our room was The Bronte, and it didn't let us down. It's decked out in the style that you'd expect, and with a nice large comfortable 4 poster bed. There was little noise from outside, despite it overlooking the very busy Cardigan Road. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Full English breakfast is excellent value. No greasy eggs, bacon just as I like it cooked. The only negative I had was that I had to make my own coffee. Hardly a thing to downgrade an otherwise excellent stay. Lastly, it is very good value for money. If we're in Leeds, we'll stay there every time.

And before anyone thinks we have low standards, I've done my very fair share of staying in the large city centre "name" hotels, over a twenty year period, and stopped in all the large cities in North of England. Very sanitised, and over-rated. Give me a genuine friendly face EVERY time...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place is hilarious. If you are looking for somewhere cheap to sleep and really don't care about anything else then it is perfect.... We visited as a large group of young people so we saw the funny side.

During our stay, another gentleman was booked into a room which had not been cleaned or made over! He even has the pleasure of finding someone's sick in his bed. The people who worked there didn't seem too bothered, but they did move his room after 10 minutes.

The decor is very outdated with various holes and marks all over the place. Instead of a duvet you get a poor quality brown blanket. Most rooms have shared bathrooms - ours wasn't cleaned whilst we were there. That was only 2 nights, but shared by about 9 people it got a bit grim, and the toilet was already dirty upon arrival. Our microwave had a massive dent in it - not sure how safe that is! And the kettle switched itself off before it managed to boil.

I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jdoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Thank you for your recent review.
I am very sorry to hear your stay was not satisfactory.
You had booked into a large group in our sister hotel, however to get your group all together we had placed you into our standard rooms in the butlers hotel.
In regards to you hearing one of our guests mentioning vomit in his bed, this guest was reporting this as he had had the accident, and would praise that my Duty manager had moved his room for convenience to our guest.
The ‘various holes and marks all over the place’ is due to us undergoing maintenance work on our ground floor and apologise for the inconvenience.
The shared bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis and are shared by 6 people on that floor, all 6 of your group had shared this bathroom.
I have also checked the electrical equipment in those rooms and thank you for reporting the issues.
Thank you again for your review, as criticism is a must for us and will be taken very seriously to improve our service.
Kind Regards
Mark Lowther
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were put in a room in "The Boundary Hotel" which is conjoined to Butlers, despite booking for Butlers Hotel. It was a dive and not in any way as described.

The room was damp, narrow with brown stains on the walls and sink and visible dust and grease on surfaces. The bed had an ancient sagging mattress which was very uncomfortable. Just above the bed was a broken wall lamp with wires poking out, just above the pillow, which seemed really unsafe.

The shower looked like it was permanently out of order, judging by the signs written on the shower door. The toilet seat was chipped with brown stains, which meant one filthy, arguably useable toilet and shower between a whole floor.

We didn't want to chance the breakfast as the whole place seemed unclean and smelt funny, and the level of cleanliness in the rooms put us off.

The staff member who greeted us, and the staff member who dealt with my complaint, were both very friendly and helpful, but we saw no one else during the rest of our stay.

I've never had such a bad stay anywhere in Europe or England, and I've stayed in a wide varietyof hostel and hotel. We did get a refund after complaining.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank n m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

We also did this hotel on a group, We aIso did not receive our welcome drink....in fact we didn't see any staff apart from the young man who checked us in and the chef who took our breakfast order. The first thing you notice as you go through the door was the dank smell, which was everywhere, we checked in were given our room key, the young man took our groupon and disappeared......never to be seen again. The room was relatively clean, but very run down, shabby and out of date, draylon headboards and pelments anyone......The carpets could do with a good deep clean or else ripping out and burning and the side of the bath was a sheet of MDF. We were located to the rear of the hotel in an extention. everytime the room next door or above us, used the toilet or even switched on a light it could be heard loudly in our room, so we got very little sleep..... There are far better and cleaner budget hotels for the same money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clarpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

We were a bit worried about staying here after reading the reviews, however it wasnt as bad as some of the reviews say. Yes the hotel is in some need of a makeover, our room we stayed in was nice and big, the shower worked well, the room was clean. However the toilet was leaking which we noticed. Breakfast in the morning well we waited ages to get served and for fresh cups. In the end my husband asked for our breakfast as no body came and took our order. We booked the hotel through Groupon for £29 which we felt was not a bad price although we probably won't stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.3 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ibis Leeds Centre
Ibis Leeds Centre
#28 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,138 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Leeds Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Butlers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Butlers Hotel

Property: The Butlers Hotel
Address: 40 Cardigan Road, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Butlers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Butlers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butlers Hotel Leeds
The Butlers Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing