We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Butlers Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$139
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Grange Hotel(Headingley)(Great Value!)
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boundary Hotel(Headingley)
US$63
US$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$94
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Headingley Lodge(Headingley)
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
30
42
33
35
51
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
42
33
35
51
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscaptain's roomleeds rhinosplenty of hot waterfull englishwhat it says on the tintea and coffeefollowing morningcity centreexcellent value for moneydouble roomrugbyemmerdale
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

We booked this hotel deal off groupon read all the usual negative reviews and thought we would decide for ourselves, we were looking for somewhere to lay our head after a day / night on the tiles! We arrived to a very dark shabby reception with a lovely happy concierge, we were two hours early and our room was ready, we had the Reniour room 236 which was very bright and airy compared to the hall way, yes the room and bathroom were dated and it was in desperate need of redecoration but it was clean and had a really large comfy bed, staff very friendly & helpful, breakfast was mediocre but for £29 B&B for two it was ample, not sure I would return but certainly doesn't deserve the reviews it's got, you want 5 star pay 5 star prices! close to town £4 in a taxi (don't use the black & white taxis they take your eyes out)

Room Tip: Reniour room had a very comfy bed which made up for the decor but unfortunately our window was right next to the main light for the hotel sign which made the room very bright if this bothers you for sleeping.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2013

This hotel is in a serious state of disrepair. We booked last minute through laterooms, but the photos look now to be abour 15/20 years old. All furniture seemed damaged, including a smashed mirror in the entrance hall. The reception area also had a disgusting smell that we couldn't place. The wallpaper on the stair case was worn and looked as though it had been damp and then got scraped by something. Many of the floor tiles in the bathroom were smashed and the bath looked dirty. There was rubbish on the floor under our bed and rubbish on the floor in the corridors. We both barely slept and I have had a serious rash since leaving the place! Absolutely disgusting doesn't even begin to describe this place. Avoid at all costs!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rebecca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Butlers isn't a city centre hotel, or caters for business people who are looking for 5 star services. If thats what you want, look elsewhere. Butlers is a super place, offering decent honest value for money. We've stayed here twice now, and have nothing but praise for it. The reception is really friendly, which was just what we needed after a long days driving. Someone who is friendly and attentive, offering a genuine welcome, is every bit as good as one of those false 5 star smiles at corporate quarters... Our room was The Bronte, and it didn't let us down. It's decked out in the style that you'd expect, and with a nice large comfortable 4 poster bed. There was little noise from outside, despite it overlooking the very busy Cardigan Road. Bathroom was clean and tidy. Full English breakfast is excellent value. No greasy eggs, bacon just as I like it cooked. The only negative I had was that I had to make my own coffee. Hardly a thing to downgrade an otherwise excellent stay. Lastly, it is very good value for money. If we're in Leeds, we'll stay there every time.

And before anyone thinks we have low standards, I've done my very fair share of staying in the large city centre "name" hotels, over a twenty year period, and stopped in all the large cities in North of England. Very sanitised, and over-rated. Give me a genuine friendly face EVERY time...

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This place is hilarious. If you are looking for somewhere cheap to sleep and really don't care about anything else then it is perfect.... We visited as a large group of young people so we saw the funny side.

During our stay, another gentleman was booked into a room which had not been cleaned or made over! He even has the pleasure of finding someone's sick in his bed. The people who worked there didn't seem too bothered, but they did move his room after 10 minutes.

The decor is very outdated with various holes and marks all over the place. Instead of a duvet you get a poor quality brown blanket. Most rooms have shared bathrooms - ours wasn't cleaned whilst we were there. That was only 2 nights, but shared by about 9 people it got a bit grim, and the toilet was already dirty upon arrival. Our microwave had a massive dent in it - not sure how safe that is! And the kettle switched itself off before it managed to boil.

I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdoks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Markalowther, Owner at The Butlers Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2013

Thank you for your recent review.
I am very sorry to hear your stay was not satisfactory.
You had booked into a large group in our sister hotel, however to get your group all together we had placed you into our standard rooms in the butlers hotel.
In regards to you hearing one of our guests mentioning vomit in his bed, this guest was reporting this as he had had the accident, and would praise that my Duty manager had moved his room for convenience to our guest.
The ‘various holes and marks all over the place’ is due to us undergoing maintenance work on our ground floor and apologise for the inconvenience.
The shared bathrooms are cleaned on a daily basis and are shared by 6 people on that floor, all 6 of your group had shared this bathroom.
I have also checked the electrical equipment in those rooms and thank you for reporting the issues.
Thank you again for your review, as criticism is a must for us and will be taken very seriously to improve our service.
Kind Regards
Mark Lowther
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were put in a room in "The Boundary Hotel" which is conjoined to Butlers, despite booking for Butlers Hotel. It was a dive and not in any way as described.

The room was damp, narrow with brown stains on the walls and sink and visible dust and grease on surfaces. The bed had an ancient sagging mattress which was very uncomfortable. Just above the bed was a broken wall lamp with wires poking out, just above the pillow, which seemed really unsafe.

The shower looked like it was permanently out of order, judging by the signs written on the shower door. The toilet seat was chipped with brown stains, which meant one filthy, arguably useable toilet and shower between a whole floor.

We didn't want to chance the breakfast as the whole place seemed unclean and smelt funny, and the level of cleanliness in the rooms put us off.

The staff member who greeted us, and the staff member who dealt with my complaint, were both very friendly and helpful, but we saw no one else during the rest of our stay.

I've never had such a bad stay anywhere in Europe or England, and I've stayed in a wide varietyof hostel and hotel. We did get a refund after complaining.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews