We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“a two night stay”
Review of Cliff Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff Lawn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“a two night stay”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

The Cliff Lawn Hotel is set in an established garden that seems like a secret oasis when you drive in off a city street of houses. The location is a lovely surprise, the hotel is very good value for money with comfortable rooms, fabulous big beds and accommodating happy staff. The breakfast was delicious and beautifully cooked and served. Though it is walking distance from the city centre the hotel enjoys a very quiet location ensuring a good nights sleep.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    66
    29
    5
    6
See reviews for
34
47
12
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2013

We booked this place for an overnight stay when we moved our daughter to her new Uni accommodation. Great price, lovely room and great service. Breakfast was superb. The room was recently refurbished and the bathroom was lovely.
The building is old and it looks it from the outside. But inside the place is great, retaining many features of the Victorian architecture. Outside is in need of some TLC which I'm sure it will receive as and when.
The gardens are kept beautifully and there is outside furniture to use on a nice day.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

A very good hotel. Rooms are fab. Very good value for money. Very clean. Lovely building! One little niggle - service for breakfast could be better, not many of the staff speak English, they struggled to understand us. No vegetarian option either.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MerylJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

The hotel is a lovely converted Victorian country house and is set in quiet grounds but still within walking distance to the City centre. Our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. The en-suite was good with a huge shower. Breakfast was delicious with lots of choice; staff were very attentive and couldn't do enough for you. We only stayed for one night as we were attending a concert. We would definitely stay here again as it was also excellent value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgnorth
Level Contributor
178 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We had a fantastic corner room on the first floor overlooking front and side lawns. We paid for a top quality room got exactly that. The room was spacious, quiet and well appointed. It had been recently renovated with new bathroom suite and king size bed. The breakfast was excellent. I had a full English on the first day and Scrambled Eggs with Smoked Salmon on the second day. Both meals were served very hot and well prepared. Service was excellent at all times and the staff were very efficient. We ate out in Headingley in the evenings although Leeds City Centre is only a short ride away (by car or a very frequent bus service from Hyde Park).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the large rooms on the first floor overlooking the lawns, but be advised that there i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2013

This was a lovely hotel in very nice grounds. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, and it was very quiet, even though we were staying on the ground floor. The cooked breakfast was very good and there was a good selection of food. Very good value for money.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonE123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Went up to pick my daughter from uni, so wasn't looking for a luxury hotel just somewhere to crash before the return journey. The hotel is in a quiet residential party of town, a large victorian building, with very friendly staff. Room was fine, clean with a bath and shower and free parking. We didn't have breakfast as apparently I hadn't booked it on line but we were keen to head home. It was £7.50 per head had we wanted it, which sounded reasonable.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank serena m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Leeds City Centre
The Chambers Park Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#28 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lawn Hotel

Property: Cliff Lawn Hotel
Address: 45 Cliff Road | Headingley, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lawn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Cliff Lawn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cliff Lawn Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing