We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean,friendly,great breakfast.”
Review of Cliff Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff Lawn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed here with a group of friends and was delighted by the clean, well equipped room. Staff were friendly and welcoming at all times and the breakfast was delicious. The location is great for Headingley or the city centre, being in a quiet street near Hyde Park. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Jgray2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 75 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2013

Hotel does not fit description on Internet and definitely not 4 Star. Not disabled friendly, steps to entrance which was locked and had to ring to be let in. No lift. Booked twin room, not delivered. Had to unzip single beds push apart and remake. No phone on room to contact reception so had to walk up and down the stairs. Went to ask why no wifi reception was told it was difficult to get in the room that I was in and if I wanted wifi I would have to come downstairs or sit on landing where reception would be better. Was then told that if I was not happy I could leave. Found another hotel Corn Mill Lodge which is fabulous. Staff brilliant.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 3PalmsManager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Stayed with friends at this hotel. Owner extremely helpful and welcomed us on arrival. Room large and clean with very comfortable bed. Staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful giving as much information as they could to all questions. In a quiet area but close to all amenities. Will definitely stay there again. This is the second time we have stayed and this was as pleasant as the first time.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gail H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

First of all, this is an upmarket boutique guest house not a hotel. I say that because it only offers bed & breakfast and has almost zero other facilities. It also has the look and feel of a guest house. Having said that, it providers a very good service although it does have a few areas it needs to work on. For starters, that perennial bug bare called cleaning. The place is clean(ish) but the attention to detail is lacking. For example, there was dirt on the valance in our bedroom which showed us it had not been changed with the sheets or the dusting didn't extend to the edges of frames, doors, etcetera). The owners are clearly working on improving the place as there is evidence of resent work (the on-suite bathroom clearly only had one coat of paint on the fresh plaster). The breakfast was excellent and they managed to provide Gluten Free bread (we advised them of our dietary requirement when booking).

Room Tip: If you upgrade to a Superior Room, make sure you get a large bed. They initially tried to give us a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Booked through booking.com when attending the Leeds festival.Exchanged a few emails with hotel regarding advice for getting to leeds festival from hotel and Rachel was extremely helpful and informative. On arrival greeted by owner of the hotel who was also very helpful and welcoming. Very impressed with the hotel, it is a beautiful old house and immaculate. The staff are friendly and efficient and we enjoyed a full English breakfast! We would definitely stay again!! Thankyou to all the staff for a perfect stay :)

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Emma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Our daughter has just graduated from the University of Leeds and we have visited a fair few times over the last three years. We discovered The Cliff Lawn in her second year when she was living up the road in Hyde Park and it has been perfect for us. Excellent location, very quiet, easy to leave the car free of charge at the B&B and walk into town or up to Headingley (or there are buses) comfortable rooms (not luxury) at reasonable rates, and a good breakfast. Can highly recommend if you don't want or need to stay in a City Centre hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fatsnscrats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We bought this off wowcher in good faith when booked the fellow who we gather is owner was so rude never the less we went we were put at top off hotel in smallest room could not fault cleanliness nor the staff and breakfast was lovely home cooked . Come to checkout was same fellow oh you were one of them wowcher things nothing to do no did u have good stay or safe journey once again very rude . Such shame as we would have used this often as son lives in Cambridge and would been half way stop

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazedgar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#33 of 87 in Leeds
875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Headingley Lodge
#2 of 9 in Headingley
341 reviews
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
444 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lawn Hotel

Address: 45 Cliff Road | Headingley, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lawn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Cliff Lawn Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing