We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“overnight stay in Leeds”
Review of Cliff Lawn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Cliff Lawn Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We recently stayed at Cliff Lawn. Lovely building, friendly staff. Clean and spacious room. Private car park. Buses every 10 minutes at the bottom of the road and in Leeds in 10 minutes.
very nice full breakfast and a lovely cup of tea!

Room Tip: we had a spacious room at the front of the building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KLH861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

58 - 64 of 151 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2014

We arrived late and reception was closed but all was well-organised for us to enter. It was cold and raining but when we entered there was a blast of heat from the radiators in the hall, and in our room. Much appreciated. The following morning, the staff were very friendly and accommodating so my one regret was not to be able to avail of breakfast which I think would have been good ( it was Wednesday and breakfast finished at 9am but we had had a late night). Very nice and I look forward to a longer stay next time.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
Thank Kathryn459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

Overnight stay in this old building that has seen better times. I appreciate it is difficult with such old buiidings to keep them bright and clean but this establishment needs to review its housekeeping. Bedroom carpet had not been 'hoovered' since previous occupants and I strongly believe our bedlinen had not been changed, e.g. hairs on bottom sheet and pillow slips marked. As we were not back to the hotel until staff had closed the reception, there was nothing for it but to use the bed as found, not the most coducive way to settle for the night. The redeeming factors were a good breakfast with tasty bacon and the ample parking in such close proximity to the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SHHAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

i was there for new year eve. one night. and it great. very clean. staff were awesome. would deffo stay there again. and i plan to too!!! just enough distance away from the city centre. cant say anything about the food. i didnt have any. but overall, a great place to stay.

Thank garb88
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My scores relate to how I think others might judge it honestly, but I loved it. Lovely, big rooms with comfy beds. Great value. Not the cleanest but acceptable standards - I say not clean because of the old building so eg the window frames need replacing.

Service was great - taxis booked, vegan breakfast! And all with a smile.

Stayed here 23rd dec before seeing family. Prices were so reasonable that I didn't have to share with my mum and we had separate rooms! Amazing.

Lovely location, buses into town. Big car park. What else can I say? Great.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FaithVictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

This is a very comfy hotel, but somehow you feel you shouldn't really be here... The Reception desk is so tall it obscures the person behind it... when there is one... and you just get the impression that no one really expects you around here... maybe this hotel isn't for the likes of you... but as there doesn't appear to be anyone else here this seems a little odd... No bar, as mentioned elsewhere, and very abrupt welcome. But breakfast very good.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RuthC141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

We choose the Cliff Lawn as it was very convenient for visiting our daughter who is a student living nearby. The location was quiet, and the price reasonable. The cooked breakfast was very good indeed - scrambled egg was creamy and beautifully cooked, and came with a generous portion of mushrooms and grilled tomato.
The 'hotel' has a rather sparse feel somehow, and would have benefited from some colour in the bedroom, and a few pictures and plants around the place. We had a 'superior' bedroom, which was large, warm and contained everything needed. There was a small, modern en-suite shower room.The building however, though beautiful, is in need of serious money spent on maintenance and renovation, without spoiling the original features.For example, there was evidence of damp around the cornicing in the bedroom, and the sash windows were single glazed, with condensation being a problem each morning. Would have given three stars, but the breakfast saved the day!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
434 reviews
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#35 of 87 in Leeds
845 reviews
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cliff Lawn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cliff Lawn Hotel

Address: 45 Cliff Road | Headingley, Headingley, Leeds LS6 2ET, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Hotel Class:4 star — Cliff Lawn Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Cliff Lawn Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing