We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a budget hotel. Has pluses and minuses”
Review of Ascot Grange Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Good as a budget hotel. Has pluses and minuses”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

I stayed in a single room at a weekend.
The building is presumably from the Victorian era. There can be windy corridors and a lot of stairs. Check regarding access if you aren't too good on your feet as I'm not sure that there is a lift.
My initial reaction when entering was that it was very dated, but this really is due to the era of its architecture. In fact, from what I saw, fixtures & fittings, carpets and paintwork, etc. are in good condition.
My room was a largely good experience. Carpets, bedding and towels look brand new. The room looked more like an elegant bedroom from a large, old home. However, there was a very strong smell of cigarettes (despite it being non-smoking throughout) and this smell was stronger in the bathroom. If it was due to cigarettes they should have aired the room before using it. If it is something to do with cleaning products, they should change the type that they use.
The bathroom was tiny (not a problem) but rather than tile the walls, they had sort of plastic wall paper which was peeling at the edges, and laminated boards in the shower cubicle. Also, the cleaner clearly hadn't dusted behind the radiator and pipes as furred-up dust was clearly visible. Other signs of superficial cleaning in the room were visible.
Not sure if all beds are identical, but mine was incredibly comfortable. I'd swap it for my bed at home in a flash! It was a duvet, which made it easier to sleep as I am used to them. Not sure whether the quilt inside the cover would get cleaned between guests...
Sleep quality was let down a tad due to very creaky floorboards in the room above. If my neighbours moved, I heard it. If you are used to silence, this can be a problem.
Wifi in the bedroom is a good touch.

Breakfast, which cost extra, was nice and reasonably good value. It was a classic - cereals, toast and jams, hot English. The buffet element wasn't extravagantly large, but for £5 I don't mind. It is less wasteful and it covered my needs.
The hot element is done to order, and was good - but not wildly large. As there was only a one hour slot for breakfast, the cook and waiter had to get them all ready at similar times, and the waiter apologised in turn for the wait when he arrived.

My experience of all staff was that they were conscientious (with the caveat about the room cleaning) and friendly.

Room Tip: If you or companions are not good on your feet, ring ahead re. more easily accessible rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Britboyslim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    149
    66
    22
    22
See reviews for
80
91
68
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Haverhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I stopped here overnight while travelling between two destinations.
Check in was efficient, rooms was clean with a kettle and drinks. A modern TV was in the room.
Bathroom clean and tidy.
Breakfast was good, nothing special but it gave a good start to the day.
There are lots of pubs and restaurants along Otley road should you not fancy a trip into the city.
The BP garage opposite is handy it doubles up as a Spar supermarket.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostlybytrain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2013

For the price paid I was expecting less than what we got. It was a lovely surprise to get such a spacious, fresh, clean room. Everywhere was spotless.
No noise from other rooms or within the hotel. Its location is on the main Otley road, which is perfect for a stroll to the shops/bars.
Service recieved was great, and there was always someone at hand if you needed assistance.
We didn't have breakfast but we were recommended this hotel by another couple who said the breakfast was lovely for only £5 p.p.
Free wifi and free parking (plenty of spaces) is a bonus that not all hotels are willing to provide.
Overall I highly recommend this hotel as a budget and affordable hotel which is...great value for money!! Many thanks to Ascot grange and all of the friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ruth b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

The Ascot Grange is a budget hotel which does exactly what it says on the tin, offers clean comfortable accommodation at budget prices.
Location - just off Otley main road, plenty of parking for guests.
Cleanliness - I'm quite fussy and it was clean enough for me. Bed linens and towels were absolutely spotless.
Rooms - the mattresses were so comfortable, the owner told me that they had bought new throughout and I have to say it was one of the nicest beds I've slept in. The bathroom was clean.
Noise - there was some noise from the main road but that was probably because I had the windows open due to the summer heat. It didnt disturb me too much and to be fair I could have closed the windows!
Breakfast was really nice. There was plenty to choose from and the cooked breakfast I ordered was plentiful.
Its obviously family run and they were welcoming, friendly and courteous.
Definitely worth a look if you need a cheap overnight stay.
I would go again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrso908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

Stayed in this hotel recently and found the two owners very helpful , the rooms where spotless, we had a double and a family room and both where of a very good size ,As we where working in leeds it was ideally located for our needs , and although there are a few nice real ale bars and restaurants close by we chose to eat in the hotels restaurant , which served home made and wholesome fair as well as a lovely full english breakfast , infact out of our four night stay at the Ascot grange we had dinner in the hotel for 3 nights,
I would recommend this establishment as you are assured of a warm welcome by the freindly owners I will be using it again ,

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fairtraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2013

Stayed one night prior to a family wedding near Leeds. Had got the information from Trip Advisor and found most comments correct. Comfortable, clean, friendly, good parking, reasonably priced and excellent breakfast. Didn't do evening meal - chef on night off!! If need to, will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2013

The hotel is basic but it is also great value. the staff were extremely helpful. Room service and reliable international beats some of the more expensive hotels. Overall the stay was pleasant with an excellent breakfast and much better value than the other end of the hotel market.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonbvgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.8 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
0.7 mi away
Weetwood Hall Hotel
Weetwood Hall Hotel
#28 of 87 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Headingley Lodge
Headingley Lodge
#3 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
11.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
0.8 mi away
The Butlers Hotel
The Butlers Hotel
#8 of 9 in Headingley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot Grange Hotel

Property: Ascot Grange Hotel
Address: 128 Otley Road | Headingley, Headingley, Leeds LS16 5JX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ascot Grange Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Ascot Grange Hotel in Leeds where we provide quality accommodation in an informal and relaxed atmosphere.The hotel is ideally situated just two miles north from Leeds city centre, in Headingley close to horsforth, cookridge, roundhay and meanwood.Ascot Grange Hotel has free private secure parking and a bus service located close to the hotel going into the city centre every 10 minutes.The Hotel has 30 bedrooms all en-suite,with desk and lamp,free wifi, tea/coffee making facilities, telephone and hair dryer. Thinking of your comfort all bedrooms have 1200 pocket spring mattress. The 1200 individual springs that make up the mattress are housed in their own little pockets and work independently of each other, therefore offering superior support for your body. To complete you comfort in the bedroom with an aesthetic feel all bed frames and bedside cabinets and chest of draws are matching solid oak and ceiling lights from John Lewis. Heating in the rooms are created from a commercial state of the art gas boiler, heating the rooms up quickly, evenly, efficiently and sustaining the heat longer than electric radiators that you find in other hotels. All bathroom have porcelain tiles with a beautiful mosaic tile trim, steam proof mirrors with light sensors and Mira showers (except the budget rooms). We are also a short walk away from Yorkshire Cricket Ground, Leeds Rhinos stadium,Leeds Met University, many golf courses and many bars, pubs and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Ascot Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Grange Leeds
Ascot Grange Hotel Headingley, Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing