We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value hotel in the UK”
Review of Headingley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Headingley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This has to be the most under-sold hotel I've stayed in and the value is amazing as it comes with wi-fi and parking, making it cheaper than most Travelodges or budget hotels. If more people knew it existed I am sure it would be significantly more expensive.

Basically, it's corporate hospitality boxes at Headingley cricket ground that are converted into hotel rooms when there isn't a major match on such as a test match or one day international. You are quite literally overlooking the cricket pitch so this is a dream hotel for any sports fan.

Bearing in mind the cost, the service is excellent. Parking and wi-fi are included in the price and the hotel is very close to Headingley town centre where there are amples of food and drink options. The rooms have fridges and huge beds.

The staff are extremely friendly, answer any questions and go out of their way to help - I asked for an iron expecting to have to collect it from reception, and the receptionist knocked on the door 2 minutes later with an iron.

If I absolutely had to knit-pick, the bathroom was a little squashed, the shower will spray outside the shower door unless you close it at lightening speed and the bathroom could have done with a little more cleaning.

I cannot recommend this place enough, get in there before they jack the prices up!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GarethK95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (335)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 19 April 2013

Yes, the views over Headingley are superb and everyone should stay here once. But the rooms were effectively designed as hospitality suites and the soundproofing between rooms is not as good as you would expect in a "normal" budget hotel. Even at a "normal" volume, TV noise permeates through the walls, and luckily our neighbours did not engage in any other noisy activity.
Because the rooms are so cheap - and of otherwise good quality for the price - and because of the location, I suspect that many guests do indeed spent much of the evening in their rooms watching TV and eating a takeaway. If that is what you want, fine, otherwise, be warned!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

This is my second time staying at Headingley Lodge and it never disappoints. Budget hotel price, but the quality of the accommodation is much better than any Travel Lodge or equivalent I've stayed in. The rooms are very clean, bathrooms are a great size and you get the fantastic view of the cricket ground. I would highly recommend Headingley if you're staying in Leeds even though it's a little bit out of the centre.

Room Tip: 3rd floor seems to be the best as you'll get a better view of the ground.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We booked this hotel for the proximity to Headingley's coaching facilities for young cricketers, which our son was attending. The rooms certainly have the wow factor when views/proximity to the pitch are concerned, a fact not lost on our son, who thought this was superb. The room was clean, comfortable and large - ours had a super king sized bed, a single, and still room for a sofa and desk, etc. The shower was excellent. Our only negative comment would be that the experience was a touch impersonal - the business-like check-in was the only contact we had with any staff. Also, it would be good if there was a deal which included breakfast - £7.50 each for a continental-only breakfast is steep, especially when there's a host of cafes five minutes' walk away in Headingley offering a greater choice for perhaps less cost. (We did not book the breakfast, for this reason, and availed ourselves of the alternatives.) However, we enjoyed our stay, and would happily return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stevo750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

We sent one night at Headingley lodge last weekend. The room was excellent, immaculately clean, warm, very big and had everything we needed for our stay and the view of the cricket stadium from the room was fantastic. Plenty of secure parking and lots of places to eat within 5 minutes of the hotel. Nice big super king size bed and full single bed for our son (13). Ample Tea and coffee and mini fridge in the room.
Only negatives are, it was a little impersonal, no niceties on the part of the receptionist. A package with breakfast included would be nice.
Would recommend and use this hotel again.

Room Tip: All rooms have a fantastic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joutet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

my partner and i went up to leeds to watch the rugby friday22nd february 2013 , unfortunately the rhinos lost the match but they played well , but going back to the room made up for the dissappointment , a lovely comfortable large bed , large screen tv on the wall , a good night sleep , all the rooms named after great cricketers which is a nice touch , the room looked over theheadingly cricket ground , woke refreshed ready for breakfast which had to pay extra for , all served on a tray , cereals , yoghuts, juices and pastries, there is coffee and tea facilities in the room , with some buiscuitswhich is a lovely touch indeed , there also is an en suite but unfortuately not very good for me being disabled but is plenty big enough , shower facilities as well , everything very clean , all made homely and welcoming , a lovely stay , espesially after a superb rugby match , thanks to everyone concerned :)

Room Tip: all the rooms lovely s, quiet and named after cricketers, very clean and en suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oOoHEAVENLY1oOo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Went to watch rugby game and stayed at the Headingley Lodge and was very impressed, the hotel and our room were very clean, the staff could not do enough for you, will stay there again next time in Leeds.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Holbeck
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Leeds City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headingley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headingley Lodge

Address: Headingley Carnegie Stadium | St Michaels Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3BR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range: £66 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Headingley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Headingley Lodge Hotel. For high quality four star room only accommodation at a great price, friendly service and an ideal location, make Headingley Lodge the perfect choice for your next visit to the region. Headingley Lodge is situated inside Headingley Carnegie Stadium, with access to FREE car parking* and all bedrooms overlooking the world famous Yorkshire Cricket pitch. The Lodge provides excellent accommodation for business travellers, being handy for Leeds city centre and the University areas, but also ideal for a short city break or a base for touring the Yorkshire and the Dales. *Please note on cricket or rugby match days and special stadium events that car parking maybe in a different area of the stadium. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and LateRooms so you can book your Headingley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headingley Hotel Headingley
Headingley Lodge Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing