We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Almost an excellent” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Headingley Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Headingley Lodge
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Certificate of Excellence
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
214 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Almost an excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

The rooms are large, they all look out over the cricket pitch and this morning we watched nets before checking out. The bed was huge and very comfortable, the shower was hot and powerful and the room was spotlessly clean. The staff were pleasant and helpful. It would have been an excellent apart from three little niggles, which could easily be addressed. The receptionist mentioned when we checked in that we had a recently refurbished room (Tony Richardson - all the rooms are named after cricketers). It was lovely, except for the huge crack in the washbasin which had clearly been there for some time as it was black with grime. This should have been sorted out as soon as it happened. The patio doors looking onto the pitch were locked. I can understand the security aspects of this but the only other windows were two high vents which necessitated someone taller than my 5ft 6 standing on a chair to open. On Saturday night we arrived back to find the barrier to the site down and the security guard away on his rounds. A queue of cars had to wait about ten minutes for him to come back from the far side of the site to let us in. It should be possible for the hotel receptionist to open the barrier as the gate is clearly visible from the reception. That said, we had a good say and we will return. let us hope the washbasin has been replaced by then. People should be aware that the restaurant/coffee shop is not open evenings or weekends, which didn't bother us as there are plenty of places to eat nearby.

Room Tip: All the rooms look out over the cricket pitch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dianaen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    118
    110
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
49
103
25
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
uk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Good room, big bed and great views. Would stay again. great to see some green space from hotel window, looking out on cricket pitch is a nice change from the usual brick wall. decent size comfy beds and powerful shower.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 68leeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2014

This hotel is in a brilliant location for anyone wanting to attend anything at Leed's rugby or cricket, as the hotel is in the grounds. The rooms are comfy, spacious, with great views over the cricket ground. One word of warning though, there is a car park, but cars need moved to their alternative car park on match days/nights.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rachel W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014 via mobile

We have stayed at Headingley several times whilst attending rugby matches & it always fits the bill.
Rooms are big, with massive beds to match, great powerful showers & a fridge. I did note this time we didn't get the two bottles of Harrogate Spa water that we've had on previous occasions.
Staff are friendly & helpful - we arrived early & asked if we could store our luggage, but the room was ready so the receptionist let us check in. Always appreciated.
Never had either of the breakfast options, so unable to comment.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

I stayed here for a wedding and it served its purpose. We were told a number of rooms were set aside so we should book as guests of the wedding and the price would depend on the number of guests. On paying I was charged £10 more than everyone else as I chose to book over the phone. I asked why this would make any difference when it was a block booking and we received exactly the same service as all other guests. When I questioned this the reply was they booked at a different time and to be honest I wasnt here when you booked. Shocking, unhelpful and totally unproffesional in my eyes I understand you can get online discounts but that should not apply to a party booking and at least have a decent excuse when ripping people off. You already overcharge in your functions and then do the same with the rooms. This just topped off the fact your bar ran out of brandy after an hour of opening and I was charged different prices for the same drinks on 2 occasions. Sort yourselves out.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ange A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Although the rooms were both clean and well proportioned, and the staff affable, I personally couldn't find much to enjoy from this hotel.

Bedrooms are converted 'stadium boxes' overlooking the cricket ground,
The novelty lasted mere seconds, after which it just felt like a bed in a corporate box.

The decor was cheap and the fixtures were old, uncomfortable, and inadequate for a family of four (I booked a family room though it only had three beds and management couldn't provide a camp bed). The bathroom reminded me of being at school, with plastic curtain shower, though the jet was strong enough to hit the far side of the room (and it did! Drenching me, fully clothed!!)

Family room - no bath? A little unusual.

I slept in the crack of two pushed together beds so that my husband and son could both sleep on a mattress. The pillows gave me a crick in my neck and I slept horribly. The dimplex heater had too settings, boiling and freezing.

Breakfast was not included, but there is a cafe and its open until 10am (not 10.30 as the receptionist said!!) The staff did offer us a cold selection and were very helpful despite us missing the official breakfast.

With a little investment this place could be brought up to Travelodge standards but as it stands, I wouldn't return in a hurry.

Room Tip: Specify the number of guests to be staying in the room. If you book a family room, don't expect...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank loveluxurioushotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We stayed for a rugby game and we were literally about 150 yards from room to seats. The view over the cricket field was great and the service was superb all in all it was very enjoyable. On another note parking was good and straight forward with lots of help from security/stewards.

Room Tip: Big beds and good sized rooms get the heating on early get warmed up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Craig C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Headingley
0.3 mi away
Haley's Hotel and Restaurant
1.2 mi away
Village Hotel Leeds North
0.8 mi away
Ascot Grange Hotel
Ascot Grange Hotel
#1 of 9 in Headingley
4.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Weetwood Hall
Weetwood Hall
#29 of 86 in Leeds
4.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
11.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Milford Hotel
0.0 mi away
The Butlers Hotel
The Butlers Hotel
#8 of 9 in Headingley
3.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Headingley Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Headingley Lodge

Property: Headingley Lodge
Address: Headingley Carnegie Stadium | St Michaels Lane, Headingley, Leeds LS6 3BR, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > West Yorkshire > Leeds > Headingley
Amenities:
Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Headingley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Headingley Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quality four star accommodation at a great price, friendly service and an ideal location, make Headingley Lodge the perfect choice for your next visit to the region. Situated inside Headingley Carnegie Stadium, with access to FREE car parking and all bedrooms overlooking the world famous Yorkshire Cricket pitch. Headingley itself is a vibrant area of Leeds and offers a wealth of restaurants and bars for your refreshment enjoyment and entertainment. As we do not have a restaurant or bar we can recommend local bars and restaurants for you to visit in Headingley which is only a five minute walk from us. The centre of Leeds is only 2 miles away should you wish to venture further. Renowned for it's nightlife, Leeds has a variety of theatres, cinemas and casinos as well as many fashionable bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Headingley Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Headingley Hotel Headingley
Headingley Lodge Leeds

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing