We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply wonderful place to stay and eat”
Review of Parklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Parklands Hotel
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at this hotel in the little town of Ogbourne to break up two legs of a walk along the Ridgeway. The rooms are on the small side but quiet and very pleasant, with everything you'd need, and a very comfy bed with more pillows than you can shake a stick at. What makes this hotel really stand out, though, is the food. Frankly, it's brilliant. I had the best evening meal I've ever had in any hotel (ham and eggs - just amazing) and breakfast was similarly sensational, with nothing but locally sourced food. Just wonderful. The hoteliers were kind and friendly, and all things considered I cannot praise this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jake H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
There are newer reviews for Parklands Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2011

We walked the Ridgeway, so steamed in on our own feet, and how very pleased we were to find this contemporary establishment, tidy, clean and efficient rooms and an excellent dining room [really the only game in the village] with Mark as owner/chef presiding. This was a real find especially after 10 miles of walking.

Room Tip: Make sure you book for dinner - it's great!
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StarCarl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2011

This is a good stop over hotel, I stayed here on business and found it good value for money. The food is very good, the proprietor and his wife very obliging and the rooms ok for the price. However it is run as a business and the owner's attitude might not suit all. Another review mentioned having items stolen, the layout of the building might encourage opportunists, one always has to be careful in hotels................ Overall good though, and an ok nearby if you like beer!

Room Tip: The back rooms might be quieter.
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cryptomuncher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

We were disappointed by this hotel. We booked a superior room through Laterooms but found the room very small and poorly serviced - the sheets had marks on them. The shower room was miniscule and there was nowhere to put the usual clutter we all require in a bathroom. The room description said there was a full length mirror and a make up mirror but we did not find them. If this was a superior room then I'd hate to see a normal one. We were also supposed to have chocolates and wine in our room under the terms of our booking. These never did appear and when queried with the owner we were told that they no longer do this so hard luck! Dinner at the hotel was very poor. It was an hour between ordering and receiving our order - rare steak was medium rare on one half and well done on the other! 'Pink lamb was also overcooked and the vegetables looked as if they had been sitting around for the whole hour we had been waiting! Breakfast was very meagre -not enough orange juice for two of us and no alternative and no cereals (that I saw) or bread alternative to toast. It had been our intention to book a further night to break our return journey but decided against this. The lady of the house was delightful and tried hard give service as did the young lady who greeted us on arrival and helped with the bags.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank red46uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2011

Waited until the last minute and arrived very parched. Owner, Mark dropped everything and provided a pitcher and 2 glasses and it was his day off! Very clean, restaurant has very good food and all amenities were designed for comfort. Way off the beaten path- lots of hikers and bikers wandering thru the village.
Thanks,
Judy Minear
Orlando Florida

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2011

This place looked to be recently remodeled. The rooms were clean, beds comfortable, and the baths had hot, well pressurized water. The food seemed pricey but the meals were delicious and well worth the couple extra quid. The food is quality food and actually very reasonably priced. The sack lunch they packed for us was amazingly delicious and filled us up, again very reasonably priced -- I would have been willing to pay another pound or two for what we got. This was our first stop on our Ridgeway hike and we were quite pleased with the value, the service, and our accomodations. There were 6 very different places that we stayed at on the Ridgeway and they were all about the same price. This was the cheapest, but breakfast wasn't included. Once you add in breakfast it ends up about the same as all the others. The staff here was very friendly and helpful too.

Room Tip: Leave muddy boots in foyer, ask about their drying room if you are wet and muddy.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank walking4beer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2011

It was very cold in the rooms, we were told that it is too warm to switch on the heating. Double room was twice the price of the single room (is there any logic in it?). Small room, small bathroom, low water pressure, stinking drainage. Expensive food, not tasty, I had only soup and had to pay the whole 3 course menu. Poor breakfast. The bar (two seats) was closed in the evening, nothing else going on in that area. The staff was polite and friendly (the man) but did not help us in any of our problems. We had to stay there for the business trip and someone else organized it for us. I´d never go there again. Most of us came back with cold and angry.

Room Tip: Go for the Castle and Ball in Marlborough!
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zuzick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogbourne Saint George
3.3 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
642 reviews
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,020 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#14 of 25 in Swindon
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#2 of 4 in Hungerford
288 reviews
12.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
197 reviews
6.1 mi away
Swindon Marriott Hotel
Swindon Marriott Hotel
#7 of 25 in Swindon
682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Ogbourne Saint George SN8 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Ogbourne Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ogbourne Saint George
Price Range: £63 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Hotel Ogbourne Saint George, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing