We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel but with limitations”
Review of Parklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parklands Hotel
Reviewed 27 June 2012

We stayed in this hotel for a long weekend as part of a walking group. It is located in a pleasant village and the hotel itself is good. The staff were very friendly and the lady of the house was particularly polite and helpful. The food was excellent and the rooms clean but there were a few things which did detract somewhat from the overall experience.

In the rooms the lack of double glazing meant that the temperature at night was quite cold, while the bar area lacked space, at least when one is part of a group. However the main problem was that the food, while cooked to a high standard, appeared to be prepared by one person and, as a consequence, the time taken for meals was much longer than many would find comfortable. Perhaps this comment just reflects my natural impatience, as many would not be bothered by long mealtimes.

Nevertheless the overall ambience was good and, if looking for a hotel in this area, this one would be a good choice.

Room Tip: Best away from road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ColinBern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2012

We only stayed at this hotel for one night after a family funeral in the area. It was just what we needed. We were upgraded to a superior room, which although very comfortable was still quite compact. The only real criticism with the room, was that it could have done with some double glazing. It was a very windy night when we stayed, and the single glazed sash windows rattled a lot, and let in quite a draught.

We ate in the restaurant in the evening, and the food represented very good value for money. We both felt it was a little bland, but was served piping hot, and with a smile. A good wine list, and reasonably priced.

The breakfast was superb. Again, the food was really hot, and an excellent choice.

We would certainly stay in this hotel again when we are in the area.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLP63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We spent two nights half board at the Parklands Hotel. Parking was easy and we were given a very warm welcome. Our room overlooked the main road but we need not have worried as there were very few cars. The room fell into our "quiet" category.
Dinners were excellently cooked and the portions were gargantuan. The wine list was also good and not overpriced.
All in all a very nice Hotel which we will stay at again when in the area.

Room Tip: Pay the extra few pounds and have a Superior Room. Also, pay in advance and get a good discount for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sussexdriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2012

Stayed here for a work reunion on 27th April for one night. Had a double bedded room at the front, very nicely decorated and with all amenities including tea/coffee facilities. Evening dinner was lovely - quite a mad affair as it was a reunion but the owners coped fantastically and went above and beyond on service. Food selection good and well priced as was the bar. Great breakfast with full English or other alternatives and also smoked haddock which the husband raved about. Hotel is about 5/10 minutes by car from Marlborough and all in all a great little place to stay and very convenient for the motorway.

Room Tip: Front facing room lovely and not disturbed by the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights ,as my husband is disabled we asked for a suitable room . The room itself was lovely but the ensuite was very small so it was not suitable for any one with mobility problems. The staff were brilliant very helpfull and friendly as was the owner , The food was very good, although we only had breakfast as we were out all day, but we looked forward to it to set us up for the day and it was delicious . We had a lovely few days here and its not too far to the local attractions so all in all i would recommend this hotel but not if disabled due to the very small ensuite.

Room Tip: The ground floor room for disabled visitors is next to the main door . this can be noisy as it does...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tinaoconnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

My son and I really enjoyed our stay here. The room was smart, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. More importantly, it seemed reasonably priced when you include an exceptional, local-produce breakfast into the bargain. We also ate in the restaurant one evening, and the food was excellent. Everything here reflects very well on the hard work and effort of the owners, and I'd definitely go back. I also found it a good base for sightseeing Avebury, Silbury and Marlborough. It's a lovely part of the world, and there's a lot to see in quite a small radius.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flamenco_Sun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2012

LIke many other reviewers, we stayed here to finish our last two legs of the Ridgeway Path. Ogbourne St George is a sleepy little village and quiet too. We couldnt fault the food, delicious and very accommodating to my dairy free needs and all freshly cooked to order. The decor is to a high standard and a lot of time and thought has gone into the finishing touches. The room was good value (£118 for two nights B&B) but too small for our liking. It was ok for two nights but the storage space was very minimal so you would struggle for a longer stay, and living out of our cases meant we were forever squeezing round things in the room. I suspect it is this was to fit more rooms in. Also I would have loved the option of a bath after 12 miles walking, a shower is not quite the same! Very friendly owners and if you want somewhere for a short stay whilst walking, this is very convenient.

Room Tip: Perhaps the deluxe rooms would be larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merlins_mistress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogbourne Saint George
4.2 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,043 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
647 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#15 of 25 in Swindon
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.0 mi away
Days Inn Membury M4
Days Inn Membury M4
#3 of 4 in Hungerford
291 reviews
20.1 mi away
Travelodge Amesbury Stonehenge Hotel
0.1 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Hotel

Address: 1 High Street, Ogbourne Saint George SN8 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Ogbourne Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ogbourne Saint George
Price Range: £58 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Parklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Hotel Ogbourne Saint George, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing