We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Parklands Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alexandra House(Wroughton)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Harrow Inn(Wanborough)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveller rating
31
36
14
10
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
31
36
14
10
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsone nightfriendly hostsridgewaymarlboroughavebury
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
60 - 65 of 100 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stopped here for one night and would definitely stop here again.
Although there had been a mix up with the dates, Mark found us room without any fuss.
The room was spotless with a lovely view over the hills.
Thev evening meal was excellent - the steaks werere cooked exactly as requested and the food was well presented.
The breakfast was once again excellent - both the full english and the smoked haddock.
The owners are very friendly and I would recommend the Gold beer served in the bar - from a nearby local micro brewery - very nice indeed !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NigelP_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

Stayed at the Parklands in Ogbourne with my wife and also sister-in-law and brother-in-law whilst in Marlborough for a family gathering. This was our first stay here as we initially tried to get rooms at the Inn on the Well also in Ogbourne (but they were full).

Our en-suite rooms were both smallish (read cosy) but well furnished, perfectly functional, and very tastefully decorated, with nice period features. The beds were very comfortable, and very tastefully dressed with more than ample pillows and extra blankets etc. We slept very well.

Buffet/full English Breakfasts (cooked to order) featuring local produce were provided in a pleasant dining room. The cooked English breakfasts were well cooked and presented.

Service throughout was efficient, helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Broughies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2012

First visit to this Hotel. Lovely country inn, with friendly hosts in husband and wife team - Mark and Nicola. Nice double room for us, very clean and certainly adequate, for an overnight stop. Excellent, locally sourced food, with breakfast 'cooked to order' and of lovely quality. Will definitely stay again, when we travel from the Cotswolds to visit family in Salisbury.

Room Tip: Appeared quiet in all locations , but suggest upgrading to a Superior room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank STEPHEN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We were cycling in the area and arrived hoping for sandwiches. The two ladies in the restaurant didn't seem too keen on providing food so we settled for two pints of Coke and some crisps. We were brought two 80% full glasses and charged nearly £6. The crisps never arrived. Admittedly there was nobody else there at 1:15pm on a Tuesday but it is easy to see why.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tigger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2012

Three families - 11 people - stayed at the Parklands after a wet day walking along the Ridgeway. Fortunately we had booked in advance, as we occupied most of the rooms. Mark and Nicola were most helpful in finding places to dry our wet and muddy clothes - not an easy task! Everybody in the party were pleased with this charming little hotel, and the friendly staff. We enjoyed staying in a place different from a big three- or four-star hotel in a city. The food was good, and we slept well in peaceful surroundings. After more than a week in England, we considered the Parklands the best place we stayed.
Low ceilings, a creaking bathroom floor, small bathrooms? We found it part of the atmosphere that we were looking for.
We certainly would like to come back to stay there again, either as walkers on the Ridgeway, or by car, sightseeing this beautiful area, so rich in history.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KaareD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews