We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay, nice people and good value”
Review of Parklands Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Parklands Hotel
leicester
Level Contributor
191 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay, nice people and good value”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Just stayed for one night but found everything to be to a good standard. We ate in the restaurant/dining room which was very quiet but that suited us fine and the food was enjoyable and reasonably priced. The breakfast was really good and for what we paid it was very good value. I'm sure when busier it can have more atmosphere but the owners were very friendly and made us very welcome. The rooms are quite basic but again, for the money they were absolutely fine. It's fairly close to the town but you need a car to get from A to B. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoLeicester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    35
    14
    9
    8
See reviews for
9
47
5
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

Stayed one night b&b in this nice little hotel. Staff and surroundings were pleasant.
Recommended. The Wiltshire breakfast is also recommended- very nice breakfast of eggs, sausages, mushrooms, tomato, bacon and hash brown.
I found the staff to be attentive, but not in your face!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rory M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 August 2013

The hotel was very clean and tidy. But we arrived to find know one around we rang the bell but still know one around. In the end my wife see a lady in the kitchen and went in to see her. We finally got our key to our room. We decided to freshen up then go down to the bar for a nice drink. We got down to the bar to find the tv on the bar open and once again know one to be seen. We waited for quite some time and decided to go to the local pub. The breakfast was lovely. We were booked in for two nights but left after one. There was no service. All the time we were there we couldn't even get a drink. We won't be going back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gordon D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Ogbourne Saint George hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

A nice bed and breakfast .. Helpful patrons .. Rooms pleasant .. Breakfast excellent ... We would certainly return happily when next in Marlborough .. Although we were not hiking it appears lots of people use hotel as base for hiking

Room Tip: All rooms seem good
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OFC44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2013

We were here for 2 nights B&B. The hotel was very nicely presented and spotlessly clean. The room may not have been huge but there was plenty of storage for our needs & the bathroom was perfectly acceptable.

Breakfast was great; plenty of choice & it was all cooked perfectly.

The owners were very friendly & we felt at ease as soon as we arrived.

In terns of value we stayed when there was a near 50% off deal on, not sure if that is a regular thing, which we thought was excellent value. We would be more than happy to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkh1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Stayed at Parklands on a last minute stop over. Arrived to wait a long time to check in. Only one girl on duty who seemed to be doing the job of 3, serving drinks, dealing with customers and also checking guests in. She was a little hararssed but understandly so. Hotel very neat and tidy but room very small and I wouldn't want to spend more than one night in it ideally. Sound proofing not great, slamming doors etc... Breakfast was very good but again a little unorganised and slow as same girl on duty multi tasking. Tables not cleared so was a little chaotic on arrival to breakfast with couples trying to find where to sit. We had to find our own breakfast bowls and glasses. Would have been muich better to just have an extra paid of hands around the place I think to offer a efficient check in, welcome and service.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissR74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I stayed at this hotel whilst on a week walking. I think I had what can only be described as the smallest room going. My friend who also stayed had a room more than twice the size as mine but paid the same. Saying that, it was clean and the food, service was great. The owner moaned a bit but what I think was his wife was lovely.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono_C123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ogbourne Saint George
3.3 mi away
The Castle & Ball Hotel
The Castle & Ball Hotel
#1 of 1 in Marlborough
625 reviews
4.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
953 reviews
3.5 mi away
Chiseldon House
Chiseldon House
#11 of 24 in Swindon
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Campanile Swindon
Campanile Swindon
#15 of 24 in Swindon
498 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Inn with the Well
The Inn with the Well
#1 of 30 in Marlborough
419 reviews
12.5 mi away
The Barleycorn Inn
The Barleycorn Inn
#1 of 4 in Collingbourne Kingston
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklands Hotel

Property: Parklands Hotel
Address: 1 High Street, Ogbourne Saint George SN8 1SJ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Ogbourne Saint George
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ogbourne Saint George
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklands Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Parklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklands Hotel Ogbourne Saint George, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing