We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down hotel - avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Bell House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bell House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Benger
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Run down hotel - avoid!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2010

The room was shabby and the bathroom in particular was not fully functional; the shower attachment didn't work and the toilet seat was broken (although this was fixed when it was pointed out). The room was in dire need of decoration. Breakfast was below average. It was overpriced for what you got. The signs say award-winning chef but this is of historical value only as the chef has changed several times since this award was given.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AvenueCompass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    31
    17
    7
    8
See reviews for
19
41
7
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex, England.
Level Contributor
258 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2010

Stayed at the Bell House because of its close proximity to a party that we were attending that weekend.

Greeted by an unfriendly dog at reception who at least attracted the attention of a member of staff to check us in. Room was a good size with a nice four poster bed with clean bed linen. However, the whole room was very dated and in need of a thorough clean. I hesitated to use the bath/shower as it was so filthy.

The whole place needs a total refurbishment but certainly needs a deep clean.

Breakfast was good and the service was friendly.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Essjay9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampton Court, Surrey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2008

Stayed for one night at this charming old inn. A warm welcome greated us and a large room with 4 poster, although very outdated decoration every where was clean and everything you could need was provided. Fantastic pub style menu and staff could not be more helpful. Great breakfast with local sausages and bacon. Would highly recommend this hotel for one night and we would certainly go back again if only to sample more of the menu.

  • Liked — The food
  • Disliked — Out dated decor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LadyPenelope_4842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pontlliw, Wales
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Bell House for one night in April 2008. Very large, simply furnished and spotlessly clean room, good bar and restaurant with a short simple menu but very well cooked and presented. Huge garden with plenty of seating. The staff were friendly and efficient. All in all, excellent value at under £120 for dinner bed and breakfast for two.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brillo51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2008

This hotel is actually in Sutton Benger, just 5 minutes drive from the M4 Junction 17, so very convenient for travellers but we stayed there on the occasion of a friend's birthday in the village. It's a typical village inn, full of character and with lovely gardens. Our room (number 14) was at the end of the corridor and was extremely spacious with a four-poster bed, a comfortable sofa and an armchair. The bathroom was rather small but big enough for its purpose. Being at the end of the corridor, it did take some time for hot water to come through but visitors are warned about that and when it did arrive it was very hot. All the usual facilities are also provided - refreshment tray, hairdryer, T.V . The room has a private balcony overlooking the carpark and gardens - big enough to sit out on during sunny weather.
We had a good meal in the brasserie downstairs. Service was efficient and attentive. Breakfast is served until 10a.m at weekends and there is a wide choice of cooked dishes but the cold selection was limited to cereals and tinned grapefruit or fruit juice, which was the only disappointing part of our stay.
This hotel is very good value for money - we paid £75 for B&B - very convenient for all the delights of Wiltshire and beyond and with very helpful and welcoming staff.

  • Liked — Spacious room with four poster bed
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2007

Stayed at the Bell House Hotel for one night over the bank holiday weekend. Arrived at 13:45 (15 minutes before the already generous check-in time of 2pm) in 2 cars. Neither caused the bat of an eyelid, let alone any problems. Check-in very smooth, friendly staff; asked whether we'd had lunch and would like any but upon replying we were going out, probably to Chippenham, we were re-directed to Malmesbury (home of the Abbey and the naked gardeners!) as a much nicer place to go. Our room (number 10) was spacious, four-poster, with a balcony (well, metal fire-escape!) and huge bathroom. The bed was very comfortable with crisp cotton bed linen, and the balcony was south facing, so nice to be able to open the door and bask in the sunshine. Everywhere was clean and very pleasant, except perhaps for the bathroom, which was very dated (yellow suite straight out of the 1970's) with a 'shower-over-bath' that was more of a trickle than a monsoon! However, it did the job so we thought of it as adding to the charm, together with the non-opaque bathroom window (could be embarrasing!) and the sash window between the bedroom and the corridor (ditto!).

Having read rave reviews of La Flambe restaurant which is about 100 meters away, we tried to book a table (for 2), but it was booked. Being reluctant to drive we dined in the hotel restaurant. The menu was OK, but not really one which you browsed and were spoilt for choice from. We had pate to start and skewers for mains, finished by sharing a pecan and walnut cheesecake. All food was good; the pate came with a delightful chutney and great fresh granary bread, the skewers came with piping hot chips and fresh salad (skewers available in a choice of lamb, beef, salmon and cod or chicken) and the cheesecake was heavenly (definately one for sharing though!). We washed this all down with a good bottle of pinot noir, with wine and food all reasonably priced. Everything was fresh and service was polite and prompt. We even had our own little alcove which would be perfect for a romantic meal (or for hiding away!). Although we were disapointed not to be able to get a table at La Flambe, TJ's brasserie in the hotel was certainly a very good alternative.

After a good night's sleep, we came down for breakfast which was served until 10 at weekends. There was a good selection of juices, fruit and cereal, as well as the obligatory full English (alternatives were smoked salmon, scrambled eggs and muffins, as well as smoked kippers). Having ordered the full English, toast arrived nicely hot - a pet hate of mine is serving cold toast! - which was accompanied by a good range of preserves. Tea and coffee were both served quickly and of good quality. And the breakfast, well it was probably one of the best we've ever had! All cooked fresh, the sausages and bacon were I think both locally sourced, and this was accompanied by free-range scrambled egg (fried or poached were also on offer), tomato, beans, black pudding and mushrooms. A great way to set yourself up for the day - no lunch required!

We paid £75 for the night B&B and we'd definitely go back again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Liked — Great breakfast
  • Disliked — Dated bathroom
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank LooseButton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2007

We stayed at The Bell House for one night in June 07. The location is good for exploring Bath and heading into the Cotswolds.

Our room was an OK size and clean if a bit shabby (and wonky!). The pub downstairs is nice and the restaurant was of a good standard. The breakfast was also good and staff friendly and helpful. We paid £75 for bed & breakfast which was about right, I wouldn't want to pay any more than that though.

  • Stayed June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JulesLondon_England_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sutton Benger
3.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
4.6 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
2.7 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
5.7 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
5.5 mi away
The Old Bell Hotel
The Old Bell Hotel
#2 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bell House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bell House Hotel

Property: Bell House Hotel
Address: 47 High Street, Sutton Benger, Chippenham SN15 4RH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Chippenham > Sutton Benger
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Sutton Benger
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Bell House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Book Direct Rooms, Traveltool, S.L.U., Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bell House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bell Hotel Chippenham
Bell House Hotel Sutton Benger, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing