We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a view!”
Review of Railway Inn

Railway Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Malvern Wells
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Railway Inn
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“What a view!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend as a friend was having a house party who lives nearby. We had lunch on the terrace which overlooks the whole valley. What a view. The ploughmans lunch we had, had the largest pickled onions we had ever seen. The food was all very fresh, but would have liked to have known if the ham and cheese were locally sourced. The barmaid didn't seem to know! Would recommend to anyone who likes a walk as it is a bit off the beaten track shop wise.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank julie s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    15
    1
    2
    4
See reviews for
13
30
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ivybridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We came up to The RS Malvern Spring Show and stayed at The Railway Inn. It was great. We had a large bedroom with a sitting room and bathroom. This is in the separate house, next to the pub. It was quiet (wooded hills to the rear and v pretty church next door) the main road, in front, didn't bother us. The rooms were clean and comfortable - masses of tea- / coffee-making sachets/pots. We threw open the french doors and went onto the balconies - bathed in sunshine, the views were breath-taking (we could see the three-counties showground). Kate and Scott are very friendly and helpful / laid-back. Breakast was huge and delicious; we had to ask for a reduced version on the second morning. We're hoping to come up to the Malvern Autumn show and will definitely stay with Kate and Scott then - if they have room!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We have just returned from a one night stay at the Railway Inn with our dog. We were all made very welcome by the hosts and the room which was detached from the pub was very quiet, spacious and clean.

We had a lovely meal in the evening and a large breakfast which set us up for our walk up the Malvern Hills.

We will definitely be visiting again soon - it is rare to find somewhere where dogs are as welcome as their owners!!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PJPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford on Avon, null, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2013

we stayed over night for a dog walking weekend.Our room was large,clean and very comfortable.Our two young dogs were made very welcome.Kate and Scott were very helpfull and friendly. We had a very good dinner in the pub and a huge breakfast the following morning.Ideal place for walking in the hills.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Kate and Scott are very much in charge now and must not to be blamed for the shotcomings of others in the past, so disregard the history of the Railway before they arrived! They are the most superb hosts and they made us feel really welcome.
We found them after visiting the area on spec and driving round until we found the right mix of space and affordability. The room was excellent with plenty of room for the comfortable bed and fitted out with an extra level to sit simply looking out across the valley or just reading a book. I'm sure that at a warmer time of year the balcony windows would have been thrown open to the dawn - but not in February!
Food was good, well cooked, well presented and the portions generous. Staff were all friendly and helpful and very much in keeping with our expectations after meeting our hosts.
If you, like us want a decent stay, a walk up to the tops of the Malvern Hills and good beer and good company included then the Railway is for you.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Radstock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

We called in for a meal here in September and were so impressed with the service and value for money that we booked for an overnight stay in November. The room was spacious, clean and comfortable for both ourselves and our young dog. The bar was dog friendly and the owners and their children made us feel very welcome. The location is very central to attractions, although it is on a main road we did not find it very noisy. There are plenty of dog walking opportunities close at hand. The breakfast was excellent as was the Sunday roast. We heartily recommend the Railway Inn to you!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woolacombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2012

This is the second time we have stayed at the Railway, last time being a few years ago, but although the old reviews were a bit daunting, we booked anyway. We enjoyed every minute of our stay. The room was spacious. The bed was comfortable and the view across the countryside towards the Three Counties showground was stunning. We had Sirloin steak 2 nights on the run as the price was good and in fairness, so was the steak. We were not overloaded with chips and stuff, just a good tasty meal. Price of drinks at the bar were fair and a good 20p per pint cheaper than at home, so that went down well, as was the wine - sensibly priced. We had good company at the bar as Kate ans Scott are friendly hosts, and any pub that gets the locals in, is certainly worth staying at. Thank you again. We look forward to our next stay. Which I hope will be soon. Best Wishes Rich & Jan

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
0.7 mi away
The Cottage in the Wood
The Cottage in the Wood
#1 of 1 in Malvern Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,119 reviews
1.3 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Royal Oak Hotel
The Royal Oak Hotel
#4 of 4 in Ledbury
3.5 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
1.3 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
1.3 mi away
Great Malvern Hotel
Great Malvern Hotel
#8 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Railway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Railway Inn

Property: Railway Inn
Address: Malvern Wells 78 Wells Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4PA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Railway inn is located on the A449 in Malvern Wells, we are a family friendly bar/restaurant with 3 superior guest rooms located in an out building with private access. We offer a traditional pub menu with great ales, wines and soft drinks. We also offer free WI-FI in the bar, restaurant and guest rooms, free parking, fantastic views and friendly service. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Railway Hotel Malvern Wells
Railway Inn Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing