We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hotel”
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for two nights, had dinner on both evenings. The atmosphere in the hotel is so friendly, welcoming and everything is done to make you feel comfortable. The food is so well prepared and presented you feel as if your in the Ritz.The staff were always so willing to help with any requests and as for the room it was large and airy with such fantastic views across the malvern vale, a wonderful sight to behold first thing in the morning. The whole hotel is clean and everything was just how it should have been. Thank you very much for a brilliant stay, we look forward to seeing you again in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room and just drink in the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
I'm not sure about the Ritz but I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food and the team did their stuff. The tenuous link we have with the Ritz is that Baroness Thatcher (Lady T) stayed here on quite a few occasions to escape from London and of course she spent her last days/weeks at the Ritz. We look forward to your return in October.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    198
    73
    19
    15
See reviews for
104
589
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

With a location to die for, the views outstanding, the room as comfortable and inviting as you could get, we absolutely loved our Living Social deal - what a bargain! My other half said it was the most comfy bed he had slept in.

Our room (25) had a balcony with garden furniture, overlooking amazing views and we had warm March sunshine - we felt like we were abroad on holiday and wishing we had booked a longer stay.

Only (minor) issue was the footsteps/creaky floorboards from the room above. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay at this heavenly place and would definitely wish to return.

Room Tip: Room 25 was large and comfortable with its own balcony, on the ground floor, with far-reaching views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
I'm pleased you found the Living Social deal - it's designed to help our bookings in the quieter months and offer you outstanding value. I'm also pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the bed comfortable. It's a Vi-Spring and they are really good. I was quite excited when I found them. Sorry about the creaks from above, I've done a lot to try to cure it and have had success in other rooms.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stayed for two nights as I was doing the Land Rover Experience (also highly recommended) at Eastnor Castle less than 15 minutes down the road. The view from our room (5) was fantastic and the room itself very comfortable. We dined at the restaurant both nights and ate well both nights. All in all a very friendly, comfortable family hotel in a great location. We would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 51pendomer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for posting a review. I've wanted to do the Land Rover Experience - I've heard great things about it. Delighted you enjoyed using us as a base and ate well and I hope slept well too to set you up for the Land Rover challenge.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 March 2014 via mobile

We had a quick trip to the Malverns, just for 1 night. The whole stay was just lovely. Great setting, fabulous views, wonderful food, and impeccable service. Wish it had been longer, and cannot wait to return.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Grandrea29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
I'm very glad that we hit the spot for you to be able to relax - even if only briefly. I share all reviews with my team and I thank you on their behalf. Delighted you enjoyed it and we look forward to your return.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our first visit to The cottage in the wood was in 1991 for our honeymoon not long after the present family took over. Our second recent stay (because we normally stay with family in Malvern) was for a 60th birthday reunion.
The hotel has lost none of its charm and the hotel still has that family run feel.
Long may it continue.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
Thank you very much for this review. It's as great a compliment as I've read because it shows we are still delivering! I've often said in my responses to reviews that consistency is the biggest challenge for us as a 365 days a year operation. Don't leave it another 23 years though because I'll either be in my early 90's or "on the other side"!!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at the Cottage in the Wood with my Wife for a one night stay during March. The premise is situated in stunning grounds near to British Camp. Check in was quick and easy. The room we had (26) was ground floor level in the Pinnacles building, set a 1 minute walk away from the Bar and Restaurant. The room was clean and extras including a bone for our Dog were nice additions. Despite there being no view from room 26, patio doors opened conveniently onto a small parking area and woodland walk which was ideal for our stay with our dog. The Bathroom was excellent with a very large bath and power shower. The evening meal was fantastic. Rather than have you wait at your table for an extended period, you are served your drink in the Bar area which is very comfortable before being shown to your table having already ordered your meal. Service was perfect and the courses well spread out. I was disappointed to hear another customer complaining so much about his food, requesting to see the Manager etc. When asked if he would like a different dish or one to suit his requirements he was told this would take 15 minutes, but still demanded to speak to staff. If he didn't like his meal, why did he have it? Again, this just shows how accommodating the staff are with a difficult customer. Sleep quality was good but floorboards on the first floor in the Pinnacles were rather creaky. The following day we had a walk up the Hill from the Hotel. This is a non strenuous walk with several benches provided. The views would have been fantastic were it not for the fog!

Room Tip: No view from room 26 but is ideal if you have a dog as patio doors open out for Dog to toilet and to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
What an interesting tale about another diner. Delighted the team did their best. We want everyone to have a really great stay but we either have to set our stall out and be true to it or try to be everything to everyone BUT that's the way to bland anonymity. Delighted you and the dog enjoyed your stay. Sorry about the fog - beautiful here today in contrast to last year when I was shoveling snow!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

great location, great food, wonderfully staff couldn't recommend highly enough.
the staff are really attentive without being in the way and the food (esp dinner)was very, very good.
really good place to start a walk from and overall would go back tomorrow.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anton C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
What can I say other than thank you? Fantastic you enjoyed your whole stay and thank you for posting the review. We''ll be waiting for your return.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,136 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
438 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Malvern
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing