We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Special Occasion”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Special Occasion”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

I booked a Celebration Break at the Cottage in the Wood for my parents.

They have just returned, and in particular praised the comfort of their room, the friendliness of the staff, and the presentation of the food. The hotel also benefits from an excellent location, with matchless views.

I hope to visit myself one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneDoe01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Front Office Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
I'm very pleased to hear the feedback from your parents. What a nice idea as a present. When my father was still alive and birthday or Christmas loomed and I asked him what he'd like he always used to say "consumables only". ie he had all the rest of what he needed especially having downsized. We hope you will visit yourself one day and we'll look froward to welcoming you.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    572
    192
    68
    18
    14
See reviews for
96
567
24
40
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (325)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014

my children bought us this from Social Living as a christmas present. It was one of the best hotels we have stayed in. Super location and views. Room spotless and food fab with excellent service and a family-run atmosphere We had a lovely walk up the Malverns from the hotel after a full English breakfast. We stayed in the Pinnacles . The room was far better than the pictures on the internet. I was expecting the room to be smaller from the pictures. Thank you Jane and Keith Duggan

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Hallo Mr and Mrs Duggan. Delighted you enjoyed your stay and you are another who has benefited from the break as a present. It's a lovely idea. Very pleased you enjoyed the food and the family feel of the place. Hope you will return one day.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We only had 1 night there, but it was great.
Great location for walks, and the views in decent weather.
We were taken by surprise with the excellent service, and quality of the evening meal.
Beware of the full English, it's huge !
The staff really could not do enough for us, thank you.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
Thank you for your review. I note that you were surprised by the excellent service and good food. I wondered if it was because of poor standards you'd suffered elsewhere or whether your expectations were well and truly exceeded. If the latter, we lived up to the standards we always aim to achieve. As for breakfast, at least it set you up for the day!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We stayed for 4 nights on a half board basis earlier this month. Splendid location with a view that's everything others say about it. Rooms spotless and quiet and the family-run atmosphere works well though we encountered at least 10 different members of staff. The food was very good and we enjoyed our meals . However, the drawback for us was that the menu is a set one for about 6 weeks at a time , I believe. After 2 days this begins to pall. If one fancied fish again it's exactly the same fish as before. We would prefer a daily changing menu with choice which other hotels like this manage to offer This is the kind of place where one could easily spend a week as there is so much to do in the area: walking, music, theatre, interesting places to visit but I couldn't recommend a stay of more than 2 or 3 nights because of the menu.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 5 April 2014
I read your comments carefully and I thank you for them. We have tailored our business to meet the needs of short break takers but I take your point, we may be denying ourselves the longer stay business. There is I submit, plenty of choice on the menu with two fish, several meat dishes and vegetarian options. We also have a menu for coeliac sufferers too. As for 10 members of staff, we are a team and as long as the ethos of the place and the standards are maintained, it matters not whether it's 2, 5, 10 or more. it's all part of the challenge of running a 365 days of the year business.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is an impressive hotel with such beautiful views and one of the best we have stayed in. Service is impeccable from when you arrive to check in to the service in the restaurant and throughout. We really couldn't find fault with the reception or welcome.
Our room was really lovely in the Pinnacles and the view was well worth it. It was situated in a very quiet part of the Pinnacles and we found this very restful as my husband was recovering from surgery.
Our dinner was presented well and very tasty and I certainly recommend the fish dish I had. Breakfast was sumptious with a variety of continental and cooked.
The only thing we missed was our Sunday newspaper with our tea and there was no fresh milk in the corridor fridge.
We look forward to visiting again and again.
Our thanks to Mr and Mrs Pattin and the family for making our stay so restful and enjoyable. Please do pass on our best wishes to all the staff.

Room Tip: Room 35 - spacious, quiet, beautiful view and lovely decor - this will be our favourite room for nex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Athis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 29 March 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I'm delighted your stay was all that you wanted - newspaper and milk apart (for which apologies) - and I hope it will be an aid to your husbands recovery. We wish him well and hope to see you again in the future.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

Perched half way up the Malvern Hills the location of this hotel is ideal for walking the hills. We stayed two nights and found the rooms large and comfortable with lovely views looking out over the countryside. The bathroom was modern with a brilliant shower and a very comfy bed. Breakfast was good with ample choice and friendly service. Our only disappointment was over the evening meal.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
I was sorry to read you were disappointed with your evening meal but you did not expand with any detail. However, you still saw fit to rate us with 4 stars, so very many thanks for this, I'm pleased that you enjoyed the location and the hotel. I'll double check to see if you left a more detailed questionnaire which will help me understand/correct the situation.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for two nights, had dinner on both evenings. The atmosphere in the hotel is so friendly, welcoming and everything is done to make you feel comfortable. The food is so well prepared and presented you feel as if your in the Ritz.The staff were always so willing to help with any requests and as for the room it was large and airy with such fantastic views across the malvern vale, a wonderful sight to behold first thing in the morning. The whole hotel is clean and everything was just how it should have been. Thank you very much for a brilliant stay, we look forward to seeing you again in October.

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room and just drink in the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
I'm not sure about the Ritz but I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and the food and the team did their stuff. The tenuous link we have with the Ritz is that Baroness Thatcher (Lady T) stayed here on quite a few occasions to escape from London and of course she spent her last days/weeks at the Ritz. We look forward to your return in October.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,100 reviews
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#8 of 10 in Malvern
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing