We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely Restaurant”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Greta food with lovely views across to Worcester in the distance. Staff very good too. Looking forward to another afternoon on the terrace. Didn't stay in the hotel but will do soon. Best wishes from me and my partner and my Mum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 416Clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for your complimentary feedback! Hope to see you all again soon! Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

925 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    609
    206
    75
    19
    16
See reviews for
110
605
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I hadn't been back since I left as a chef from 1979-1982...........and it didn't take much time to remind me why I loved every day at this place. We stayed in the Pinnacles, a wonderful room with a great view. The room had everything you could possibly need, even if the décor was a dash overpowering. .
.
We ate in the restaurant which was spacious, with brilliant views, superb food, a great wine list and friendly and informed staff. Throughout the whole hotel the staff were friendly and helpful.
.
It is sad to see that the hotel is for sale, and I sincerely hope it remains as this gem of a hotel in Malvern Wells......
.
Hope to be back soon..............loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAbraxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are really pleased that you could get away from it all in our hideaway! We hope to see you agin soon. Best wishes. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

had the pleasure of dining here for a Sunday lunch and was most impressed. Firstly, the wine list is exceptionally good and not to much 'premium' added to the prices I would pay in a high end wine merchant.

Extremely attentive service, delightful owners and staff all add up to one of the best countryside restaurants I have visited in a long time.

A lovely place!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marranello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for posting the review. It is very much appreciated!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level 6 Contributor
273 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel has a very beautiful location, and we were lucky enough to have splendid spring sunshine for our stay. We did not want to pay the premium for a view, so opted for a non-view room. We were allocated room 27 in the Pinnacles., Ok no view, but because it is on the ground floor (for safety and security I suppose) you could only open the window an inch, so it was rather stuffy. Also rather dark because it is at the back of the building - so a better description than "no view" would have been "no view, dark, stuffy and rather exposed to other guests walking passed the window". So if you book, I suggest you do ask for a view - but for me even the lower price of the dark room we had was a bit excessive for what we got.

Room 27 was a good size, with good facilities but the extractor fan in the (also good sized) bathroom was intolerably noisy. There was no alarm clock, but a battery operated wall clock - with a really loud tick. When you are trying to sleep, in an otherwise quiet location, the wall clock tick was like water torture unfortunately.

We stayed for two nights, and so had two breakfasts and also had a dinner. The breakfasts were fine, and particularly pleasant on the Sunday when we were mostly looked after by two very efficient and friendly Indian waiters.

The food for dinner was fine, but we found the bar/lounge area and the restaurant a little dated and lacking in atmosphere. A good interior designer could have helped enormously to make it feel more welcoming and more like a posh place to eat.

All of the problems above are fixable of course. The one problem we found really difficult to deal with was the style of the greetings we received. Many of the staff we encountered seemed to be a bit nervous and a bit too anxious. A bit more confidence and charm would be great.

This hotel is very nice, but full of inconsistency - the facilities of the room (ironing board, iron, extra heater, spacious room) have to be balanced against the lack of higher standard in other parts - lack of atmosphere in the bar and restaurant, rather amateur nature of the staff.
Having said all this, it looked to us as if many of the guests were older people, so maybe we had just found ourselves in the wrong hotel.

Room Tip: pay the extra for a room with a view, as non-view rooms are very dark and stuffy
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilibet53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your constructive feedback. We need this to keep continuity and improvement of ou business. Kind regards. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We took the opportunity to take advantage of the hotel's spring refresher break with the dog and were not disappointed. A warm welcome and wonderful views created a relaxed atmosphere for us from the start. The room was spacious enough for the two of us and our labrador and the patio provided a small outside area to enjoy the sunshine we had this weekend. Our package included dinner which was excellent, served in the lovely restaurant overlooking Worcestershire out to the Cotswolds. The selection of wines is impressive and after sampling the local beer on our first night the bottle of Argentinian Pinot Noir was excellent. Our primary reason for the break was to walk the Malverns and the availability of paths from the hotel onto the tops and around the woods provided a perfect starting point. If we visit the area again we will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ground floor superior rooms in Pinnacles have patios
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NickF_15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for your kind review. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you again soon! Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We were bought this as a voucher for Xmas, and were every pleasantly surprised. Great room with amazing views, friendly helpful staff, fabulous walks from the door. The meal was very good in the restaurant. The bar area lacked a little atmosphere, some background music at least would help. Overall a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 7 had a fab view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
What a nice present to receive and I'm glad that we came up to scratch. You were blessed with the unusually lovely Spring weather we are having this year - a bit of a contrast to last years effort - as to music, what a vexed question. Some love it but some love the peace, leaving me between the devil and the deep. Many thanks for your review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire
Level 6 Contributor
584 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 272 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Great views from this old hotel The Cottage in the Wood...lovely friendly staff, great food, but cant help feeling the hotel shows a "well worn" atmopshere and enjoys a reputation of a more glorious past.Our bed was comfortable, and the bathroom excellent, but the furniture could do with updating....

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freddy067
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 3 May 2014
I'm glad to read that overall you enjoyed the stay with us with the compliments that you gave to the team and the food. The furniture and many other items are all on a lengthy list for refurbishment during the coming year. We have renovated several rooms and when the season is over, we'll return from outside work to the inside. Thanks for your comments.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#6 of 10 in Malvern
1,163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
129 reviews
6.4 mi away
Bank House Hotel, Spa & Golf, BW Premier Collection
6.0 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
903 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing