We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Location”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The Cottage in the wood has an excellent location with stunning views. The food was very good and the service from this family run hotel faultless. We had a small double room which was quite adequate although the bathroom had a bath with hand held shower only. Really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The hotel offers several types of rooms including some in the main building and some in a separate b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for posting such a kind review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    593
    198
    73
    19
    15
See reviews for
104
589
25
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (335)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Staff were very friendly and helpfull but bedroom was not good. Needed cleaning, curtains falling apart and stained, canopy and bed covers needed cleaning old fashioned and dreary. Bathroom really bad, bath overflow plug filthy window frames encrusted with grime . and oh dear curtains and NET curtain at window that couldnt be closed. The only nice room was the restaurant which was bright and clean, food not brilliant not much choice for vegetarians.Would not recomend., but well done for service.Views were lovely .We stayed in room 5 perhaps other rooms were better.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gabrielle R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback and apologise for the disappointment with your room. This room is planned for refurbishment on our summer maintenance schedule. The canopy and drapes were removed and cleaned only a month ago so we can assure you they were clean. They do need to be altered to enhance the spacious room though. We were glad to read that you enjoyed our hospitality and service though. Many thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cardiff,wales
Level Contributor
52 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

Lovely room 7 with beautiful views across the valley. Staff very welcoming and enthusiastic. Walk around the grounds showed 2 ways up to the hills. Did the circular walk up to the tops.. Even better views! Def return and do a longer walk along the Malvern ridge.. Up and down took us 50 mins .
Evening meal menu was limited with some choices that were not for me.. Ox cheek and duck. Choose the local sausage and mash.. Huge portions which worked well as veggie husband ate
most of the mustard mash! Desert was good as was breakfast. Our package included 3 courses but husband choose not to have desert but coffee instead as an alternative. This was an additional charge.
Def stay here again as the location and ambience was good.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank bennec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Thank you for your constructive review. We hope to welcome you back in the near future! Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Nice comfortable hotel with fabulous views. Rather old fashioned hotel but absolutely charming.
Our room was very cosy and comfortable and had one of the best views you could ask for.
Delicious breakfast, nicely served.

Room Tip: In the main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loverealale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for your positive review! Best wishes. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

we are just back from a two night break . I found this hotel by searching a place to stay in the Malvern hills where we could take a dog.
This is an amazing place to stay idyllic and peaceful. We had a patio room which opened out onto the edge of the woods which was great as we could just open the door and let the dog potter outside.Our room was really clean and comfortable . The hotel even provide a dog bowl , bed and 2 bonio biscuits.
We didn't even leave the hotel on the second day as we could walk through the woods right up onto the Malvern hills and walk for miles.
The restaurant food was excellent we really enjoyed our meals . I would say they are a little pricey but really good and flavoursome.
The family owners really make you feel at home and we really felt at ease and welcomed by all the friendly staff.
we are looking forward to returning .

Room Tip: choose a room with a view if possible we couldn't as I booked a little late but will definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank howesmandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your break with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Greta food with lovely views across to Worcester in the distance. Staff very good too. Looking forward to another afternoon on the terrace. Didn't stay in the hotel but will do soon. Best wishes from me and my partner and my Mum.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 416Clayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Many thanks for your complimentary feedback! Hope to see you all again soon! Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

I hadn't been back since I left as a chef from 1979-1982...........and it didn't take much time to remind me why I loved every day at this place. We stayed in the Pinnacles, a wonderful room with a great view. The room had everything you could possibly need, even if the décor was a dash overpowering. .
.
We ate in the restaurant which was spacious, with brilliant views, superb food, a great wine list and friendly and informed staff. Throughout the whole hotel the staff were friendly and helpful.
.
It is sad to see that the hotel is for sale, and I sincerely hope it remains as this gem of a hotel in Malvern Wells......
.
Hope to be back soon..............loved it.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DrAbraxys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
We are really pleased that you could get away from it all in our hideaway! We hope to see you agin soon. Best wishes. Maria
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,136 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
439 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
119 reviews
2.0 mi away
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
Holdfast Cottage Hotel
#10 of 10 in Malvern
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers and Hotel.de so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing