We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay with fabulous views”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 July 2014

A friend and I stayed here for a long weekend walking in the Malvern Hills. The hotel is perfectly placed for walking and indeed we walked out of the hotel on two days without needing to use the car. The welcome was warm and friendly and the staff were helpful and friendly throughout our stay. We were staying in a room in the main house. The room was cozy, though little dated for some tastes and, if you have long hair, wash it before coming as the water pressure in the shower was low. The TVs all have integrated DVDs, but the selection of DVDs available in the hotel is fairly small and a little dated, so bring your own if you think that you may want to watch a film in the evening. There was a kettle and tea and coffee and very nice biscuits available in the room. We were staying half board and breakfast and dinner were both served in a room with the most amazing views over the surrounding countryside. The food was fantastic and you will undoubtedly put on weight as the portions were very generous. There were no supplements for those on half board, you could choose a 3 course meal from anything on the excellent menu - although invariably we were too full for dessert! There is an extensive wine list - some very expensive - we chose from their 'cheaper' list, but the wines were excellent. I would recommend the hotel, not just for walkers, but for anyone interested in exploring the many other sights in the area or just as a relaxing weekend with superb food.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house with a side view - apparently the rooms in the Pinnacles are bigger but...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Christine526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay and got some good walking in. Yes, it's a bonus not having to drive to the start of a walk. The pressure in Pinnacles is immense as I put in a pressurised system when we had it built, in the main house it's a major task to replace the whole water system but we will have to one day. With 500 wines on the list they do range in price from the rarified clarets to good, inexpensive New World wines. The maximum mark up is £30, even if the bottle costs us £100.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (954)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage in the Wood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

431 - 437 of 954 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife and I wanted to do some hiking in the Malverns this place was right in the middle for easy access to the north and south. There are so many thoughtful aspects of TCITW such as trail maps, great breakfast, and nice rooms. We stayed in the main building and while the rooms were "modest" in size they are very well done. We especially like the fact that the lighting in the rooms was excellent, and 2 chairs for reading etc unusual these days, Classy but not snobby

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank twestheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

I'm glad you found us not to be snobby, that's the last thing we'd like to be and I can't stand it when we stay in some hotels. Relaxing and re-energising, that's what we set out to be, hence two easy chairs in every bedroom so you can recline and unwind. Thank you for posting a review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Yes they really thought of everything. Whatever you need, you look around the room and you'll find it there or maybe hiding in a drawer, but it will be there. Even a pair of binoculars to check out the buzzards that you can hear mewing.
This is a great hotel with a fantastic view over the Malvern hills. We stayed in a ground floor room in the Pinnacles annex. The room had a terrace with table and chairs where we could sit and enjoy the view. The room was a great size with lots of drawers and hanging space and room to put your stuff - I like that.
All the staff are very friendly and helpful.
The food was fairly good, perhaps I didn't make good choices.

Room Tip: There are rooms in the main building but they are upstairs and there is no lift. There is another a...
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Soosipicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We have tried to equip the rooms with many of the things all to easily forgotten when packing for a short break. The buzzards are a great source of joy to me and thus far have not been displaced by red kites of which there are many in the Brecon Beacons, just a few wing beats away. i was concerned you gave the food a qualified rating. We have changed the menu which was delayed much to Dominic's chagrin.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This hotel is set in woodlands and 30 mile views from the terrace
We stayed in the pinnacles complex which is just a 2 minute walk from the main reception
The room was very spacious and glorious views from our window.
The breakfast was varied and the evening dinner menu choices were fantastic
We will definitely be coming back.

Room Tip: Most rooms have open views but please ask the reception for a choice
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank peter m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, General Manager at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

As a gardener (when time permits) "little gem" means a lettuce to me!! However, many thanks for your kind words and for the best words of all which are "we will return". We look forward to seeing you again.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

With the help of a dedicated member of staff, this wonderful jewel in the crown on the side of the beautiful Malvern hills, help me organise a wonderful weekend event for my family who were travelling from around the UK and Europe. What a great job they did. The rooms in the Pinnacles wing were very comfy with fantastic views over Worcestershire from every room. The breakfasts and evening meals were excellent, using locally sourced produce well presented and beautifully cooked. The staff were extremely friendly and managed a lovely balance between professionalism and home charm. Thanks for an unforgettable stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Your review - for which many thanks - gives me the opportunity to mention Sian who organises parties such as yours. I'm delighted you all enjoyed the get together and found The Cottage in the Wood a good venue. "Unforgettable" is indeed a compliment, just as long as it's for the right reasons!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014

Very nice hotel with amazing views. We didn't stay in the main building and had a short walk from our room to the main hotel for breakfast. Plenty of umbrellas supplied for the walk in the case of rain.
Staff all very friendly and happy to helpful. The breakfast was delicious with a good choice of food, hot food cooked to order.
Rather a narrow road up to the hotel with a very sharp bend, although you can miss the tight bent if you approach from a different direction, although that means you stay on a narrow road for longer.
Make sure you visit Upton Upon Severn and Ledbury as both really nice places.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loobyBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Way up on the hill the road does wind of necessity and the bend is sharp. I guess that's the penalty for our location but the reward is the view. I'm glad you enjoyed the two local towns of Upton and Ledbury, they must be almost unique in sustaining local shops - and interesting ones too, even a specialist map shop founded in 1975. Thank you for posting a review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

had Sunday lunch here today food was excellent staff brilliant, my second visit in the past 2 months, the first was just as memorable,there will be many more, GREAT, only downside I forgot to take my camera, it was a beautiful day and I regret not taking it, but good reason to return again to take the photo, (not that I need one just a fab place)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2014

Thank you for your review. I'm very pleased that you enjoyed your second Sunday lunch with us and also that you will return - camera in hand!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
151 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range: £90 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing