We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best weekend ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best weekend ever”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were there for a celebration weekend. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Food and accommodation were excellent with great attention to detail. Stunning views rounded off an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dids239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 17 August 2014
All breaks are important but when it's a celebration it is both a relief that all goes well with the choice of hotel, the rooms and of course the food and service, so I'm delighted your gathering was such a success. Thank you for posting a review.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

914 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    601
    203
    75
    19
    16
See reviews for
108
599
26
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hertfordshire
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The only complaint we could possibly make was we did not have the stunning view from our bedroom window but in fairness, we did make a very late booking and I believe had the last available room. However, the room was stunning. So tastefully furnished with every little need catered for.A beautiful bathroom.
Very pleasant service at breakfast with really good coffee. The breakfast self service table could do with a little more imagination with the selection and some of the cooked breakfast items had been cooked a little too long and left in the warm for service but none of it worthy of complaint.
Am I being naughty to say I am pleased the rain caused a heavy mist on our last morning ensuring NOBODY had the stunning view.
Would most certainly return if in this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for 'a room with a view'
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review. Alas, not all rooms face the magnificent views across the Severn Valley but there are many tables in the restaurant which maximise the views. Sorry about the misty morning - disappointing at this time of the year, especially after such a lovely summer. Delighted you enjoyed your room. I hope you will return to the area, there is much to see and do.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Cottage in the Wood is delightful. It boasts amazing views and a lovely quiet location nestling in the hillside, but also provides discerning guests with luxurious accommodation and superb fine dining. We only stayed one night but wished it was more. Our celebration package included champagne on ice and lovely flowers. Our room had everything we needed, including a private patio, huge bathroom and a little box with bits and bobs which guests might forget to pack.

We would definitely recommend this and want to stay longer next time!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs front room with balcony for the best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SooeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Even though it was for one nigh as you commented, I'm delighted you found so much to your liking. I'm also very pleased to read you'll return for a longer break. Many thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SUFFOLK
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wonderful setting with rooms spread over 3 buildings. All very tasteful if a bit blandly decorated but I guess thats down to personal taste. An extensive dinner menu and a vast (in a fat ring binder) wine menu. The wine, a Macon Villages, was the star of the show actually. Thing is everything is 'much vaunted' from the names of all the family members who work there listed proudly to the AA Rosettes displayed in the lounge. I had for main course a Lobster and Mussel Ragout, with Salmon. It was OK, but like all our courses lacked conviction. It needed seasoning - the Ragout was just tasteless and bland, the salmon, though cooked perfectly was likewise. My starter of lobster fishcake could frankly have been plaice, cod or coley - just no oomph! The staff were wonderful, really attentive and friendly and the woman who runs the bar was beyond charming. It is a fairly expensive establishment and the food likewise at around £19 or £20 for a main course. So Dominic the chef (son of the owners) please be less timid with your seasoning!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view it is quite magnificent
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KIRBYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your honesty. I'm sorry you found the food bland but thank you for praising the team. The reason for listing the family is that it is a family run hotel and that is the key reason people stay here and they want to engage with us. We are not badge wearers and the list encourages people to do just that.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stunningly beautiful part of the world - excellent one to one service - spacious rooms with large comfortable beds - Fantastic food...and wonderful walks in the woods behind the hotel..Dogs are welcome but this is not a problem as they belong to people that appreciate four / five star accommodation and therefore owners are very respectful and mindful of others

Room Tip: All rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacq3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable and the food good too. Dogs are indeed welcome and we have had only two incidents in 28 years. In fact we've had far more incidents with humans!!! There are designated rooms where dogs are allowed - all ground floor with easy access to the wide outside!
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and l stayed here for one night in August 2014. The receptionist was very helpful when we booked as l was not sure which room to reserve, and in the end we had the most lovely room in the 'Pinnacles' with a stunning view and our own little patio. The room was large, as was the bathroom, and it's a very quiet and peaceful spot. We arrived too late for dinner, as we had a prior engagement but when making the reservation the receptionist did ask if we would like something small to eat on arrival, which we decided against but appreciated the thought. We arrived tired, but we were warmly welcomed and enjoyed a couple of drinks at the bar.
In the morning we were able to see our view for real, which really was very special. After a yummy breakfast we went for a walk tothe top of the Malverns using the route recommended by the hotel, which was easy and well thought out.
Would highly recommend a stay here, we wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: Worth paying extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dalF_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
Thank you for your review. I'm glad we provided a peaceful break in your journey and that you had time to walk "Pattin's patented path" as we call it. We had an elderly guest who , although she couldn't do the walk thought the heading was very amusing and chortled away! Maybe you will find time to return and stay a little longer?
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We are big fell walkers and having lived in Bristol for a lot of years, it's surprising that we didn't walk in this area before, but we always meant to. However after attending a meeting in the Coventry area last Friday we drove over and eventually made it.
To be honest the hotel was more or less exactly what I expected, similar to those that my parents took me to as a child in the late 50's. And therein lies it's charm. My husband had been hoping for something a bit more modern.

The staff were charming and everyone helpful, lots of lovely touches described in other reviews. We were in The Pinnacles a block of bedrooms away from the main building. Probably one of the hottest couple of days of the summer and we fried in the room. There was an air circulation unit in the room but quite honestly it was next to useless. Thankfully there was an air conditioning unit in the restaurant.

First of all a big thank you for the vegetarian options provided for my husband. We were there for 3 nights and they rung the changes for him.
I personally thought that the main menu was a bit limited. I eat meat and fish but thought it all a bit much. Gamey and the chicken dish decidedly odd in its delivery. I was not alone here as on our last evening a woman on the next table was having the chicken and was also commenting on this.
The starters were in the same vein rather heavy and meaty. Soup was an option which I had once but not every night in such hot weather. Their bread selection was to die for!

I feel slightly mean only giving it 3 stars (between 3 and 4 more accurate).but a lot of updating is needed. That's what the travelling public expect these days . A lovely weekend nevertheless in a super spot. Elgar music was in my head every time we went on those lovely hills.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geordies2_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this review, 23 August 2014
We did have a couple of very hot days and I do wonder on such days why I didn't put in air-con when I built The Pinnacles. I guess it came down to a cost v's benefit for so few days a year. We are planning further works over the winter but have never been and never will be "cutting edge" we offer good, comfortable hospitality where guests can relax and unwind. Thank you for your balanced comments.
John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,150 reviews
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
126 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
889 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Property: The Cottage in the Wood
Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing