We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over Night Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Cottage in the Wood
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2014

My Wife & I spent one Sunday night in July at the Cottage in the Wood, on route to Devon. We found the Staff most helpful throughout our stay.Our room had a magnificent views over the country side. The only down side for us was the Dinner. We found the menu very limited and the food quite bland. We felt the menu needs to be up dated and some new dishes added. Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: A Front room with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

I was sorry to hear your dinner was a disappointment. We have now changed the menu which was I admit, over-due. We are now working on the next one to get fully back on track. I wont bore you with the details! I'm glad the rest of the stay was to your satisfaction. Many thanks for the feedback.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (953)
There are newer reviews for The Cottage in the Wood
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

420 - 426 of 953 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2014

Very comfortable hotel with very friendly owners and staff. Lots of thoughtful touches throughout including fresh milk in fridges for those who don't like UHT. Plenty of space in the bedrooms but the bed was a little on the small size for me although others in our party said they were fine in theirs.

Breakfast is cooked to order and knocks spots off the stewed buffet variety although the black pudding needs to be improved. Dinner in the evening was a real treat, beautifully cooked and presented.

We were a party of 6 and really enjoyed our short stay and would highly recommend to others.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Walker5452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

Thank you for your review. We are all very pleased your party of six all enjoyed the stay and the food. I'm checking on the black puddling particularly as I like it and it can be a great start to the day!
Hope to see you again one day.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We were there for a celebration weekend. Nothing was too much trouble for the friendly staff. Food and accommodation were excellent with great attention to detail. Stunning views rounded off an amazing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Dids239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2014

All breaks are important but when it's a celebration it is both a relief that all goes well with the choice of hotel, the rooms and of course the food and service, so I'm delighted your gathering was such a success. Thank you for posting a review.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The only complaint we could possibly make was we did not have the stunning view from our bedroom window but in fairness, we did make a very late booking and I believe had the last available room. However, the room was stunning. So tastefully furnished with every little need catered for.A beautiful bathroom.
Very pleasant service at breakfast with really good coffee. The breakfast self service table could do with a little more imagination with the selection and some of the cooked breakfast items had been cooked a little too long and left in the warm for service but none of it worthy of complaint.
Am I being naughty to say I am pleased the rain caused a heavy mist on our last morning ensuring NOBODY had the stunning view.
Would most certainly return if in this area again.

Room Tip: Ask for 'a room with a view'
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HertfordshireKatie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your review. Alas, not all rooms face the magnificent views across the Severn Valley but there are many tables in the restaurant which maximise the views. Sorry about the misty morning - disappointing at this time of the year, especially after such a lovely summer. Delighted you enjoyed your room. I hope you will return to the area, there is much to see and do.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

The Cottage in the Wood is delightful. It boasts amazing views and a lovely quiet location nestling in the hillside, but also provides discerning guests with luxurious accommodation and superb fine dining. We only stayed one night but wished it was more. Our celebration package included champagne on ice and lovely flowers. Our room had everything we needed, including a private patio, huge bathroom and a little box with bits and bobs which guests might forget to pack.

We would definitely recommend this and want to stay longer next time!

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs front room with balcony for the best view.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SooeyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Even though it was for one nigh as you commented, I'm delighted you found so much to your liking. I'm also very pleased to read you'll return for a longer break. Many thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you again.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Wonderful setting with rooms spread over 3 buildings. All very tasteful if a bit blandly decorated but I guess thats down to personal taste. An extensive dinner menu and a vast (in a fat ring binder) wine menu. The wine, a Macon Villages, was the star of the show actually. Thing is everything is 'much vaunted' from the names of all the family members who work there listed proudly to the AA Rosettes displayed in the lounge. I had for main course a Lobster and Mussel Ragout, with Salmon. It was OK, but like all our courses lacked conviction. It needed seasoning - the Ragout was just tasteless and bland, the salmon, though cooked perfectly was likewise. My starter of lobster fishcake could frankly have been plaice, cod or coley - just no oomph! The staff were wonderful, really attentive and friendly and the woman who runs the bar was beyond charming. It is a fairly expensive establishment and the food likewise at around £19 or £20 for a main course. So Dominic the chef (son of the owners) please be less timid with your seasoning!

Room Tip: Get a room with a view it is quite magnificent
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank KIRBYJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for your honesty. I'm sorry you found the food bland but thank you for praising the team. The reason for listing the family is that it is a family run hotel and that is the key reason people stay here and they want to engage with us. We are not badge wearers and the list encourages people to do just that.
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stunningly beautiful part of the world - excellent one to one service - spacious rooms with large comfortable beds - Fantastic food...and wonderful walks in the woods behind the hotel..Dogs are welcome but this is not a problem as they belong to people that appreciate four / five star accommodation and therefore owners are very respectful and mindful of others

Room Tip: All rooms are good
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jacq3103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pattinfamily, Owner at The Cottage in the Wood, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2014

Thank you for taking the trouble to write a review. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and found it comfortable and the food good too. Dogs are indeed welcome and we have had only two incidents in 28 years. In fact we've had far more incidents with humans!!! There are designated rooms where dogs are allowed - all ground floor with easy access to the wide outside!
John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Malvern Wells
1.0 mi away
Colwall Park - Hotel, Bar & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
The Cotford Hotel and l'Amuse Bouche Restaurant
1.5 mi away
Malvern Hills Hotel
Malvern Hills Hotel
#7 of 10 in Malvern
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#5 of 10 in Malvern
1,178 reviews
2.0 mi away
Mount Pleasant Hotel
Mount Pleasant Hotel
#9 of 10 in Malvern
149 reviews
6.0 mi away
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
Stanbrook Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Callow End
921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cottage in the Wood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cottage in the Wood

Address: Holywell Road, Malvern Wells WR14 4LG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Worcestershire > Malvern Hills > Malvern Wells
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Malvern Wells
Price Range: £89 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Cottage in the Wood 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Cottage in the Wood: hotel, restaurant and bar in Mavlern is an independent, boutique hotel situated high in the Malvern hill with stunning views across the Severn Valley and the Cotswolds. There are 30 beautiful and unique en-suite bedrooms to stay in most with stunning views across the English countryside - remember to request a view when you book! The award winning restaurant serves high quality, locally sourced, modern British cuisine from breakfast to lunch, afternoon tea and evening meals. In the cosy bar you can choose from a refreshing craft beers & ales, fine wines by the glass (or bottle) and cocktails. With a real log fire in winter and refreshing cocktails in summer it is the perfect place to relax all year round! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and LateRooms so you can book your The Cottage in the Wood reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cottage In The Wood Hotel Malvern Wells
The Cottage In Wood
The Cottage In The Wood Malvern/Malvern Wells, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing