We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“retro romp”
Review of Hotel Arkada

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Arkada
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stari Grad
Reviewed 12 September 2009

This place is preserved in all its 70's glory - it needs to be visited for a giggley love boat throwback experience and not taken too seriously! Food bit of a disaster but who eats in the hotel resteraunt when your next to a seaside strip lined with georgous seafood resteraunts anyway!! Lovely helpfull fluent english speaking staff, a peacock park in the middle and a hillarious beach lined with local characters - go with a semblance of humour and youll love it like we did!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Les_Speedos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2009

I was affraid going to Arkada after reading reviews.
It is not such a bad place, and the basic thing is : it is lightly possible that you can have a better holidays in Hvar for that amount of money. People ! It is 3 stars hotel and the price is more than fer. The beach is beautiful, the food is very nice, the service is more than good. Rooms are modest, but clean. The taxy boat nearby is a great plus. Hvar is beautiful, Stari Grad is beautiful. Arkada is not perfect hotel but it is good for every EUR ( or $ ) spent there.
Enjoy your stay in Arkada.
One more thing : I am a Serb from Belgrade, but there was not even one bad sitation for me and my family in Arkada.

Milan Č.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank MilanBelgrade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2009

This hotel is like a time machine. It takes you right back to the 1970s! Unfortunately, it has not been updated since. Go here if you want to get a feel of what Eastern Europe was like before the Berlin Wall came down! It takes you right back to communist times; in a way it is hilarious! Certainly not recommended for a nice holiday.

Walter, London

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank walter070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2009

We visited Hvar for a couple of days during a 2 week stay on Brac and we stayed one night at the Arkada - I think that is enough

The hotel reminded us of the 60s/70s concrete block hotels. Rows of rooms along long corridors with a lift block in the middle. We had a sea view which was lovely. The room was small and in need of redecoration with the wallpaper peeling off, delapidated furniture and tatty carpet. Having said that it was clean enough. There is no air conditoning but that wasn't a problem as we went to Croatia for 2 weeks of bad weather!!

The dining room was massive - reminded me of the pictures of Butlins in the 60s. Food was OK - nothing special.

We found the staff were very polite and helpful.
There was a nice beach/pool area and a bar with "entertainment" in the evening ie. 2 singers with an organ and guitar.

The hotel is a long was from town but we had a car and at least there was a large car park. There is a taxi boat every 30 minutes or so from the hotel to the town.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nuddsyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

Hotel Arkada almost ruined my holiday. That is, until we got around to change the hotel. The hotel is more like a huge hostel, with no air-condition and no "mini-bars" where you can get hold of something cold to drink. The pool area is dirty, as is everything else. The staff is not nice, and certanly not interested in service. The shower doesn`t drain, and it is far from the city of Hvar (22km). I would never reccomend anyone to go there. Almost all the scandinavians we met who lived at Hotel Arkada changed their hotels sooner or later. And the food is horrible, and uneatable.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LinnTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2009

We stayed there in Summer 2008.The hotel is absolutely awful. Shabby 70's décor.
Dirty lobby. The windows were mucky and obviously never cleaned.
Rooms were tiny with old furniture and fraying carpets.
The food was a cheap canteen food.
But the most awful thing of all is the attitude and lack of professionalism of the hotel staff.
Avoid at all cost! Total horror!

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ermikos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2009

We stayed there in Summer 2006. The hotel is absolutely awful. Shabby 70's décor.
Dirty lobby. The windows were mucky and obviously never cleaned.
Rooms were tiny with old furniture and fraying carpets.
The food was a cheap canteen food.
But the most awful thing of all is the attitude and lack of professionalism of the hotel staff.
Avoid at all cost! Total horror!

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DanieleLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stari Grad
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lavanda
Hotel Lavanda
#1 of 5 in Stari Grad
86 reviews
7.7 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
6.2 mi away
Hotel Hvar
Hotel Hvar
#2 of 4 in Jelsa
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
8.0 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
455 reviews
15.6 mi away
Hotel Timun Hvar
Hotel Timun Hvar
#10 of 16 in Hvar
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Arkada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Arkada

Address: Naselje Helios 8, Stari Grad, Hvar Island 21460, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Stari Grad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Stari Grad
Price Range: £46 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Arkada 2*
Number of rooms: 278
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
HOTEL "ARKADA" 268 soba 10 apartmana restaurant, kavana, taverna, aperativ bar, otvoreni bazen s morskom vodom, fitness studio, snack bar, slastičarna, zatvoreni bazen s grijanom morskom vodom, tv-salon, SATV, glazba za ples, plaža do hotela, mogućnost korištenja sportskog centra u blizini ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Arkada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkada Hotel Stari Grad
Hotel Arkada Hvar Island/Stari Grad, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing