We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice mini-break”
Review of Hotel Lavanda

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Lavanda
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stari Grad
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice mini-break”
Reviewed 22 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed here as part of a Eurotrip and the half board and swimming pool were a welcome relief from hostels. There was a slight problem when we got into our room, in that the cistern leaked on to the bathroom floor. However, before we had really had chance to settle in to the room a plumber was at our door to rectify the problem, without us notifying reception. The food was basic, but there was a good choice and there were no drinks included for half board and the waiting on staff were slow to clear tables. Pool area was nice, clean and relaxing and close to the beach. This is a great hotel for families. Please note if travelling to the hotel from the mainland, try to get to Stari Grad port, not Hvar, as this is much closer and Hvar will cost c.350kn in a taxi.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank travellingsaz29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    22
    25
    14
    12
See reviews for
17
32
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
zagreb,croatia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2013

This hotel has all the conditions to be good - but did not.
Located in a beautiful forest, a few steps from the sea, with beautiful views and peace and quiet.
But ...
Rooms are unfurnished, old bedding, towels frayed, tv located on a ceiling, no hair dryer, no fridge ...
Food is a special story. Some dishes are very good (sauces, salads) some inedible (fish, soup concentrate).
The staff is friendly, impeccable cleanliness.
A tall lady boss probably, we were very surprised by their loud annoying remarks at the expense of the customer arrogant posture and organizing business lunches in self service room.
Kitchen staff served the vessel prepared for guests and somewhere applies full plates, the hotel staff to the late night crowd and having fun along the entrance to the hotel ...
Beautiful nature has saved our vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lilika01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Minutes away from the hustle and hollywoodness of Hvar. Great alternative to a hotel. Clean, Spacious, new renovations, modern. Steps to the beach plus a great pool onsite perfect for kids and adults alike. We were on a family holiday with my brothers family and we are a couple so this made everyone happy . So incredibly thankful that we didnt stay in hvar. - good enough to go for a day and then escape back to the private area of stari grad. the hosts of the apartment were great and accommodated us very nicely (we took a boat to the marina, where they picked us up to drive us 50 feet away. steps to restaurants (some of the best in the area, however over priced) and a tiny shop offering kitchen staples. could stay for a week easily.

Room Tip: three apartments i think. all great choices
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cantstoptravelling28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Canada
Level Contributor
180 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

This hotel is well situated in Hvar, it's about a 15 minute walk to Stari Grad. Because it is situated outside of the town, it is quiet at night, ensuring a good night's sleep. This is important because the rooms have no air conditioning, and you really need to keep your window open while sleeping. There is a very clean pool at the hotel, and the sea is a one minute walk from the hotel. The staff are very helpful. My rate included a complementary breakfast buffet and dinner buffet. The food was mediocre at best. The rooms are very much like dorm rooms, very small and minimal.

Room Tip: I suggest a room with a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bikerbabe22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pozarevac, Serbia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

I have spent 20 days at hotel Lavanda with my family.

This hotel is located about 800 meters from the center of Stari Grad, at the peaceful and quiet area.

Rooms are rather small with basic furniture only, but the view from the balcony is great. I have spent hours at the balcony looking at the bay and pine, olive and palm trees. This view and the scent of pines relaxes your body and soul. There is no air condition in the rooms, so it can get a little bit hot, but it didn't bother me so much, because the beautiful view made me feel like I was at a tropical island.

Food is great. Breakfast and dinner are served as buffet. There is a wide selection of different food, so you can always choose something you like.

There is a pool in the front of the hotel and various sport courses. Also, there is a children palyground.

The staff is great. I can say that the staff of the hotel Lavanda is the friendliest staff I have ever seen. They really made me feel like I am at home.

Stari Grad is an old and peaceful town. The narrow streets of the old part of the town are paved with stones, so you have an impression that you are walking the streets of an medieval town. If you don't feel like walking back to the hotel, you can take a taxi boat. Sunsets at the bay of Stari Grad, viewed from the boat are beautiful.

This place made such a strong impression on me and gave me almost heavenly peace, so I will come back here for sure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank mzivkovic012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2010

-Overall we were really disappointed with our stay at Hotel Lavanda, which was a shame as this was close to the end of our holiday. We didn't have very high expectations of this hotel, given the good price and that it was a 3* all inclusive. However, compared to other 3*s we have stayed in, this was by far the worst and deserves 2*s at best. Please, please, please do not recommend this place to young people (perhaps others did get that memo already, as we were the youngest there by at least 80 years!). We would not recommend this place to anyone we know, even those we dislike.

Unfortunately there were quite a few things we didn;t like about this hotel! Despite booking 2 days all inclusive, we ate in the restaurant just twice, preferring instead to pay for food elsewhere and left the hotel in the middle of our second night.

-Food/Restaurant: Although we only ate in the restaurant twice, we saw a mouse on two separate occasions in the restaurant! The food was reminiscent of school dinners (even featuring a lady in a similar outfit carrying dirty plates away on a trolley!). The food wasn't terrible, but was incredibly bland (processed meat without sauce and frozen vegetables etc.) and the presentation was awful. The desserts in particular were disgusting to look at, we can't comment on the taste as we didn't try them (this review is written by two incredibly unfussy girls who eat almost anything!!)

-The alcohol on offer was pretty poor, meaning you had to pay for decent drinks. The beer on tap was quite nice but the wine was undrinkable (this is the first time we have turned our noses up at wine too!). The fruit juice and water machine was out of order too and the 'pool-side' barman kept coughing all over the drinks and tended to stare at us quite a lot, which made us feel uncomfortable and not want to use the pool, which we actually quite liked.

-The room was a decent size for a 3* hotel and kept clean, although there was hardly any toilet roll in our room.

-The location was pretty but almost impossible to leave! Although this would be a decent location for people not wishing to leave Stari Grad (which is pretty, but the least beautiful of all the places we visited in Croatia in our 3 week stay) we would actively discourage young people (or anyone under the age of 70) from going anywhere near this place. Travelling to Hvar Town from this hotel is nearly impossible and we ended up paying over 300 kunas each way, each night, to travel to Hvar Town by taxi as even the infrequent bus from the station (a good 15 minute walk from the hotel) didn't even show up! The taxi man we met as a consequence of this however, was an absolute legend...although possibly the only one in Stari Grad as he turned up each time a cab was called (twice by two different hotels too!).

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank JemmadayLisaFowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Stari Grad hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stari Grad
8.5 mi away
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
5.3 mi away
Hotel Hvar
Hotel Hvar
#2 of 4 in Jelsa
164 reviews
8.4 mi away
Pharos, Hvar Bayhill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Adriana, hvar spa hotel
8.1 mi away
The Palace Hvar Hotel
8.8 mi away
Hotel Podstine
Hotel Podstine
#6 of 16 in Hvar
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lavanda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lavanda

Property: Hotel Lavanda
Address: Priko bb, Stari Grad, Hvar Island 21460, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Split-Dalmatia County > Hvar Island > Stari Grad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Stari Grad
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lavanda 3*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Lavanda has 80 rooms, and depadances 91 rooms Rooms with balconies (mostly sea view), TWC, air condition in common areas, double and family rooms in hotel Lavanda, telephone, balcony. Free wifi at the pool, restauirant, TV salon, terrace with two pools (for adults and children), volleyball playground on sand, playroom for children and beach in the front of the hotel. The possibility of various sports facilities near the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Lavanda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primasol Lavanda Stari Grad
Hotel Lavanda Hvar Island/Stari Grad, Croatia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing