We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and emote resort”
Review of Luna Island Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Luna Island Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lun
Reviewed 23 September 2012

Luna hotel is at the northern part of Pag Island.
It's a small and friendly hotel.
Rooms and bathroom are very nice and in a good size. We had a sea and pool view and it was lovely.
We stayed there for seven days and mostly enjoyed a relaxed time by the pool and beach.
There is only one dining room for breakfast and dinner. You can have lunch by the pool but the menu is very limited.
Food in general was ok but as others mentioned: rice wasn't cooked; deserts were horrible and repeated itself every night except for one night that they served baked Alaska by the pool. Also fruit juices were terrible syrups, but if you paid extra you could get freshly quizzed orange juice!
Other things that should be improved:
1.Driving direction: The hotel is in this small place called Jakisnica it is north of Novalja and south of Lun but in the address both places are written.
2.Air condition: in the room it was ok but in the public area no ac or fan.
3.Pool chairs and parasols: it was annoying that every day all the good places were taken by the same people, they were keeping it by placing their towels on the chairs for the duration of their stay in the hotel.

Room Tip: Room facing the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank adgino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

96 - 102 of 255 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights with my girlfriend.

The hotel is situated at the northern tip of the island of Pag in Croatia and has nice private beach facilities, indoor and outdoor pools, a spa, a restaurant with terrace, poolside bar and off-road parking. Towels are sun loungers are available on a first come, first served basis.

The rooms are of a medium size and the bed sheets and bath towels can be changed every day if desired. The bathroom facilities were a bit disappointing with low water pressure in the shower and not a lot of hot water. The air conditioning system was also lethargic and would not cool the air at all.

Food served for breakfast was quite good with a variety of cakes, fruit and freshly fried eggs and omlettes. The juice selection was poor as it tasted like they were made form a syrup and were heavily diluted. The filter coffee tasted burnt.
At dinner time the main food was not unpleasant, however I did find a bowl of rice which was undercooked and cold - like it was cooked and taken from a fridge to warm up and served by mistake. The entrees were regularly replaced as they were taken by guests with fresh ones coming from the kitchen on regular occasions. The desert options were not outstanding, and mainly involved a variation on some strange tasting cream with chocolate or cake.

If the hotel was not in such a remote location I would not have eaten there.

One of the best things about this hotel is a little harbour 5 minutes around the coast which has a pizza shop and a market and plenty of places to swim in the sea with steps and hand rails.

All in all, this is a good location to visit for a few days to relax and swim in the sea. Would not spend more than 3 days here and don't recommend the food at all.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Aryeh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelluna9, General Manager at Luna Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2012

Dear guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

Sincerely yours

Renata Komadina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

We were spending a week there with our kids at the end of month . In most of the cases the official photos and ads dont meet with the reality but not here. We arrived to the Hotel which is standing in the middle of nowhere but surrounded by a nice mediterian garden . We had no problem with our reservation what I did back in june . We got a very nice room on the 2nd floor with a big balcony to the park side of the hotel. Maybe the sea view might be better but from 11 to 18 that side of the building gets direct sunshine and the balcony there almost useless . We were very satisfied with the 'back' side room with our kids. The room is furnished by modern furnitures with a big impressive bathroom , the usual minibar, built in safe, 2 TVs .
Everything was nicely cleaned at the time of our arrival and the room service kept it clean through the hole week.
We had a technical sort of issue right after a big storm but the maintenance group managed it immediately within couple of minutes. In general the hole staff is very helpful and kind I can speak about them just in the highest registers .
Food and the caering service is excellent and the staff got the 5 points there as well for the quality of food and the service.
We killed our time mostly by the pool which is fantastic for smaller and older kids as well just like for their parents.

We were visited Croatia from the nothern cities down to the southern border already and we spent several days in many
hotels during the previous years. This Hotel offers the best service with the best team and it might be located anywhere around the Globe - I mean they could satisfy any more standards with success. We were very satisfied and decided to go back as soon as possible.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
3  Thank Justforposts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We stayed in many hotels along the Croatian coast and this was the only one that ailed to honour the booking. There was some pseudo plausible explanation about why things went wrong and I initially accepted their alternate solution without objection. Key elements were: the other hotel is of the same quality and you get a deluxe room instead of a normal room, we'll transport you there including your bicycle and the distance to the ferry is no longer from there than from Luna Hotel.
In practice however the following happened: the alternate hotel (hotel Pagus in Pag) was by no means the same quality (it is not because both hotels have 4 stars that they are the same). Although we never saw a room in Luna Island hotel, based on the luna hotel lobby and pool bar quality we cannot imagine our room in Pagus to have been better than a standard room in Luna hotel. A check on booking.com revealed that the room price in Pagus is 150€/night where we paid 220 €/night in Luna. So they probably made a profit on the swap!
The restaurant in Pagus was below standard for sure, it didn't help that they didn't even have lamb on the menu in a place that is hailed to be the best place for lamb in all of Croatia.
Next morning we set out early (6am) to cycle to the ferry to take us to the main land. After a few kilometres the asphalt road turned into a dirt road. Almost inevitably we had a flat tyre on that road to the ferry, so although the net distance may have been the same from Luna hotel, in time it was a lot longer.
If a hotel makes an error in the booking, you not only expect them to provide a solution, you expect some compensation for the inconvenience of having to move hotels etc... We definitely didn't feel compensated and the solution was inferior to what we ordered.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Kwizim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelluna9, Manager at Luna Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2012

Dear Guest,

I feel sorry we didn't’t completely meet your expectations in the matter you comment to us.
As we explained at the reception you booking was cancelled on behalf of your agency, instead of amendment of your booking for reducing number of nights with the same reference number we have received cancelation of reservation.

As hotel was fully booked and there was no contact from your agency in order to help you, we have organized for you and bicycle transportation on cost of hotel (45 minutes drive from hotel) to the next available four star hotel.

If you like we can send you copy of cancelation of your booking from your agency that was sent to our head reservation office.

Kind regards

Renata Komadina
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

Excellent personal, excellent rooms, small but excellent beach. My best recommendations!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redakcija A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelluna9, Manager at Luna Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2012

Dear guest,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.
This was really a nice letter; very motivating to our crew. It made us happy and proud to hear that we’ve met your expectations. We were pleased, because we share the happiness of our patrons; and we were proud because your satisfaction with our service is a validation of our mission and goal fulfilment.
I can assure you that quality and courteous service is our ongoing task and that we will continue to make your stay in our premises special.

Sincerely yours

Hotel Manager
Renata Komadina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

What a surprise to me. I was looking forward really a lot, hotel has a great looking webpage but the reality is somehow different. Firstly it is a great family hotel - in a quiet distance, staff is greatly helpful - i guess there's nothing they couldn't do. Food - very nice. Pool is good, beach is so so - but given the conditions of Croatian island - very good.its like that over there. rooms are nice, big, BUT, our bathroom made a negative impact on the stay. bath tub didn't let the water go and all its surrounding looked really "used" and dated more than the hotel itself. but in such hot territories - you just need to take shower quite often, don't you? and this comes worse when you check their prices. for these money - i thought it'd be an excellent stay. (our room number was 203)

Room Tip: avoid the room 203, nice sea view, but the bathroom was rather poor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gustavb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I agree with the previous reviews re. location of the hotel, diligent and friendly staff, good facilities and stunning views. I'd also like to express my gratitude for the management running such an effective hotel literally in the middle of nowhere. This is an ideal place for hermits and people who'd like to get back to the nature without abandoning the sweet comforts of civilisation... Finally, I'd like to recommend local (Dalmatian and Croatian) wines, especially reds from Istria and Malvasia (dry white) from smaller producers. The former is essential to accompany any meal with the fantastic local sheep cheese and unimitable green-yellow olive oil from the more than 2000 years old local olive trees, the latter - with the local fish and sea-food. Enjoy Dalmatian hospitality!

Room Tip: Choose a room not facing the swimming pool. This way you'll be perhaps spared for quite annoying...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DottoreOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelluna9, Manager at Luna Island Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2012

Dear Mr DottoreOK,

On behalf of Valamar Hotels and Resorts, and me personally, I would like to thank you very much for staying in our hotel. We are grateful that you have shared with us impressions from that period.
Your comments are of tremendous importance to us, because in this way we acquire complete picture of the quality level of our services.

Sincerely yours

Renata Komadina

Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lun
7.9 mi away
Hotel Boskinac
Hotel Boskinac
#1 of 14 in Novalja
137 reviews
18.7 mi away
Hotel Tony
Hotel Tony
#4 of 9 in Pag
36 reviews
17.8 mi away
Family Hotel Vespera
Family Hotel Vespera
#4 of 13 in Mali Losinj
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Vitality Hotel Punta
Vitality Hotel Punta
#1 of 1 in Veli Losinj
398 reviews
19.2 mi away
Meridijan
Meridijan
#6 of 9 in Pag
76 reviews
7.6 mi away
Arbiana Hotel
Arbiana Hotel
#1 of 15 in Rab Island
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Luna Island Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Luna Island Hotel

Address: Jakisnica bb, Lun, Island of Pag 53294, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Zadar County > Island of Pag > Lun
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Lun
Price Range: £64 - £331 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Luna Island Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luna is a new modern Hotel just 20 from the sea. All the rooms are wide and comfortable, most of them facing the sea. The hotel has a Spa/Wellness Center (pools, saunas, fitness, congress center, restaurant, cocktail and lounge bar, private parking). The surroundings are many ancient olive trees (from hundred to thousand years old). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Luna Island Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Island Hotel Lun, Croatia - Island Of Pag

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing