We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hosts, comfortable accommodations and great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airport Orchard Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 2 Cloghran B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
12
Reviewed 3 April 2014

If you are flying out of the Dublin airport there is no better place to spend your last night in Ireland that the Airport Orchard Bed and Breakfast. John and Annabelle are gracious hosts who go out of there way to make you comfortable. We arrived at the B&B in the late afternoon. After dropping our bags, John followed us to the airport so we could drop off our rental car. He then took us to The Coachman Inn, a wonderful local restaurant and pub, where he got us a table even though the restaurant was full of families celebrating Mother's Day. After dinner, he picked us up and took us back to the B&B. At 5:45 am the next morning he and Annabelle had coffee, juice, yogurt and cereal ready for us before driving us to the airport which is less than 10 minutes from the B&B on country roads. My wife had broken an ankle two days earlier in Cork so we needed a wheel chair. John stayed with us until we had a chair and had all the luggage on a cart. Extraordinary service, comfortable rooms, friendly hosts and within minutes of the airport. We will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

72 - 78 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2014

Was not sure what to believe it sounded too good to be true. Well it was that good and better. John and Annabelle are two of the nicest people you will ever meet in your life. If you want it and it can be done they will do it. In fact they were so accommodating we invited them to come stay with us in our home as guests if they ever make it our way in the US. They got up early made us breakfast and took us to the airport. We will never stay anywhere else when near Dublin.
If there were numbers higher than 5s we'd be giving them

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptBobCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

I really, really wanted to love this B&B. Emailing back and forth and reading previous reviews, I was looking forward to a great experience. My arrangements were a bit of a challenge, we needed two rooms, for two non consecutive nights. We needed to leave our bags with the hosts for our one night away and we needed a lift to the airport very early twice (4am and 6am) and a pick up from the airport once at 10pm. All of our requirements were outlined in our correspondence, agreed upon and the price set by the host. While there are many hotels near the airport, with free shuttle, at a comparable or lower price, the Airport Orchard reviews were all great and a breakfast (B&B!), made this a comparable deal. Ahhhh, we were so wrong! John and Anabelle do seem like nice people, but...
John complained nonstop about previous guests. He had no boundaries, walking into my room as we were packing to leave, chatting nonstop even after I explained I needed to finish some work on my computer and turning off lights. There was enough hot water for one lukewarm shower the first morning, then the water was ice cold. The second morning, I ran the water for five minutes to get a lukewarm shower and only one of us was willing to trust that there would be enough. Although my email correspondence clearly stated our traveling times, breakfast was not available or offered. This had NOT been explained previously. When I inquired, I was told they had changed the policy of making arrangements for an early breakfast and we were welcome to take a yogurt and piece of fruit. Then they went on to complain about previous guests who had the audacity to try to make a pot of coffee in their kitchen (they only offer instant in the room). John (who has a real over-sharing problem), explained how stressful running the B&B is and that they had only been at it a short time. They seem very nice, but it's definitely not worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AirportOrchard1, Owner at Airport Orchard Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Hi,
Just wanted to respond to this extremely negative review to apologise for any misunderstanding that occurred and to respond to some of the comments.
Firstly, our breakfast and shuttle service are complimentary, so there is no negotiation that would influence our prices in relation to that. Given that this is a B&B operating as part of a family home with a few rooms available for guests, shuttle service is by arrangement as it is we ourselves who operate this service via our own vehicles (although it is a rare occasion that we have ever not been able to answer requests and this is usually as a result of arrivals and departures at unsociable hours).
Shuttle service is usually available between 6am to midnight in order to allow us time to sleep (albeit often less than 6 hours at busy times!) but this is flexible based on the requirements of other guests at the time and we often break our own rules, as we did in this case, although a taxi fare would be very cheap with the airport situated within about 1.5 miles of the house.
Breakfast is cooked between the hours of 7.30am-10am, and for any departure before that time we offer a package of all or including yoghurt, fruit, cereal bar and bottle of water, which we think is very acceptable. Tea and coffee can be made in bedrooms at any time during your stay and we provide fresh milk for that. You would be hard pressed to find a B&B or hotel that would provide a breakfast service before 4am, again our sleep and the requirements of all rooms and guests, which go on throughout the day, need to be our priority.
With regard to cold water, water heating is timed to start at 5.30am. We advise guests leaving during the night or very early morning to have a shower the night before as there may not be enough water by early morning for a long shower. We cannot have water pumps and heating systems running throughout the night disturbing visitors.
Most of all, and getting to the point, we wanted to draft a thoughtful response to this review, as there is a great deal of personal commentary added.
Given that we are inviting people into our home, we treat each guest as we would any visitor to our house and perhaps that warmth is misperceived.
If you felt that your boundaries were breached, that does not sit easy with me. I would defend myself only by pointing again to the time of your departures. I may not have had the wherewithal to be highly intuitive at that hour of the night/morning and most of all, I am forever conscious of disturbing other guests by making noise in our hallway as people are sleeping in other rooms.
In our opinion, ensuring that guests (and family members!) get a good night’s sleep is the most important service that we can provide.
In summary, we responded to your correspondence and queries promptly and took on all of your requests (including luggage storage) and delivered to those.
We think that this review is disproportionate and hurtful but as ever, in light of anyone who reads this, we take all feedback on board and will continue to deliver a service that we enjoy greatly.
I’m lastly left bewildered as to what kind of person revisits accommodation that they found so unsatisfactory (there was ample time between your staggered visits to cancel your second night) and will forever be wondering who would expect anyone to get up and cook breakfast for them at 3.30am.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Thanks to Annabelle & John for making our stay so memorable. Upon arriving we asked if they knew of a restaurant that we could go for dinner, John not only told of us a great place but drove us to the restaurant & picked us up at the end of dinner. The next day John drove us into Malahide and gave us a nice tour of the area with some great tips before dropping us of to spend the day. Annabelle made us a great Irish breakfast and the morning we left for the airport also prepared breakfast for us at an early time, then John drove us to the airport. They really go out of their way to make your stay special and enjoyable. Also the rooms were large, with great comfortable beds with great bedding & the bathroom was spotless. If you are lucky enough to book a room here you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jcandgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Stayed here with my wife at the end of September.Stunning accommodation. Very spacious and modern en suite accommodation, impeccably furnished (no toiletries, though, except for a small soap). Excellent breakfasts with a good range available. Fantastic hosts, John and Annabella, unbelievably welcoming and friendly. You're made to feel part of the family here. Very modest cost for what you get.. Conveniently located close to the airport (earplugs recommended for light sleepers though the bedding is so comfortable even light sleepers mightn't need them) and also close to The Coachman's Inn which offers 3 course "early bird" dinners, in the restaurant, for 15.95 euros. Early bird means before 9.30pm here and a big advantage is that John is well known to all the staff and is happy to come to pick you up and bring you home when one of them calls him. He'll also take you to the airport when it's time to go. A great find.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank dyingkangar00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Many, many kudo's to Annabella for helping me resolve a scheduling issue that allowed us to stay at their beautiful place!! Annabella also was sooooo helpful helping us decide what to do in Dublin on our last afternoon! They genuinely do care about their guests - always going above and beyond our expectations in so many ways!! She even accommodated an early breakfast - at least something to eat before the kitchen opened, which we were forever grateful! Hop and skip to the airport - only negative, you do hear the planes!! But that's to be expected when you're virtually right next to the airport!! Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mschaves55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

After enjoying the great hospitality of the Irish people, spending our last night at the Airport Orchard helped us leave the country with most enjoyable memories. John and Annabella are wonderful hosts who went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. On the evening of our arrival, John drove us to a great nearby restaurant. After enjoying a wonderful meal, the waitress called John, and in 5 min he was there to pick us up, providing not just a drive but also his charm and great sense of humor. He made us feel as if we were long time friends. The next morning, John took us to the airport shortly after 6:00, after continental breakfast served by Marie. We were almost in tears when John left us at the airport. This was service well beyond the call of duty!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank teuton56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
1.4 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
0.3 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
2.3 mi away
Dublin Airport Manor
Dublin Airport Manor
#6 of 7 in Swords
308 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Orchard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Orchard Bed and Breakfast

Address: Dublin Airport | Stockhole, Cloghran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Cloghran
Price Range: £113 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airport Orchard Bed & Breakfast is a beautiful family home in an idyllic setting. Our newly re-furbished bungalow has spacious rooms that can cater for all guests. Situated on two acres of lush garden in North County Dublin, just 1 km from Dublin Airport, the M50, the M1, and only 6km from the city, the Airport Orchard provides a country getaway within close proximity to the city, local attractions and major transport routes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Airport Orchard Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airport Orchard Bed And Breakfast County Dublin/Cloghran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing