We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel for an early morning flight.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Longford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great hotel for an early morning flight.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed in the Carlton for one night 18th June.It was our 2nd time to stay there,and it was as good as the 1st time.Everything about this hotel excellent.Its location , the staff , the rooms , the food , all round a very good hotel.
Would highly recommend this hotel if you have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hoopsLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and great feedback. The Carlton has long been a favourite for so many people taking early morning flights and it is encouraging to read that you continue to enjoy our service and quality product.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    677
    573
    218
    97
    44
See reviews for
342
557
147
359
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed overnight before leaving for the airport in the early hours. Hotel was spotless, staff friendly and shuttle to the airport was really good. Restaraunt food was very tasty if a little pricey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moley1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review and great feedback following your stay at the hotel. It is always so encouraging for the team to receive great comments such as yours and ensures we continue to provide a great product coupled with friendly and professional service.

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed just one night as part of a group booking on business. Room was large and spacious, but had a sense of something missing, despite a great welcome from the manager with fruit, chocs, etc. As we were working i didn't spend a lot of time in tyhe room, but when I did the TV had sound but no picture, and I wass too tired to fight it out with the front desk. Disappointing part was the food, which had aspirations, but was not good - overcooked and ageneral lack of care. The staff made up for it though - all pleasant, welcoming willing to help. A good bunch of people.
The hotwl does do a good deal on parking + a room if you are flying out for a few days, so stay, but don't eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Macluhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to read some of the comments you have made and would welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you in more detail. To this end I can be contact on dmeagher@carlton.ie

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2012

Stayed here for 1 night after a late arrival when going home to see my family. Hotel was nice and clean. Rooms were comfortable and higher standard than most airport hotels. We were only there to sleep so cant comment on much else but were generally quite happy. Value for money in Ireland isn't great but under the circumstances this hotel was good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jono B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport. I am pleased to read of your satisfaction and hope to welcome you back again in the future.

Best Regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire, Reading
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2012

I stayed here for ease of location and had various meeting rooms booked (4 - 25 people) and 3 bedrooms.

Sarah (meetings and events), was particularly helpful and flexible in helping me arrange everything (our requirments changed, quite a bit).

My bedroom was 'average', the sink had a large crack in it and the shower was limited in size due to it being suitable for a disabled person (fold up chair). the room was clean.

The conference facilities were fine and the lady on the Business Centre desk was very helpful (thank you).

Food and Beverage leaves a lot to be desired. Dinner in the restaurant (for 3 people) was very poorly served with staff appearing to have no interest, and my steak was severly over cooked, the restaurant was very quiet, so no excuse there.

Food served for our 25-cover meeting was OK but service was pretty poor - sauces and service spoons didn't arrive until around 20 mins after the food, so was of no value.

Reception staff very helpful.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MyraUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport. I am sorry to read that not everything was to your expectation and would like to apologise for our shortcomings in the areas which you habve highlighted.

I am encouraged that your experience was somewhat postive and would be delighted to discuss any of the issues with you in person should you wish to contact me directly. My email is dmeagher@carlton.ie or telephone +3531 866 7500.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

The outside appearance of this hotel is clean, well kept & fairly new looking. The desk staff were all friendly and accommodating. Our room, however, was not up to par for the price we paid. We had the family room & it looks more like a room used to host frat parties. The furnishings don't look to be that old but they are banged up and most had dust & other remnants on them. We found stains (I will refrain from the ugly details) on beds, sheets, comforters and pillows. 2 of the pieces looked to have been laundered but the brown, very large brown, stains obviously did not come out in the wash. The comforter had not been washed. The chairs in the room were very stained and dirty. The housekeeping staff (2 different girls) couldn't speak English so it was hard to communicate with them. The hotel is very convenient to the airport & offers shuttle to & from and is also right next to Enterprise, which is why we chose the hotel. But, unfortunately the room was not the best "welcome" to Ireland.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WannaBgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to read that you were unhappy with the quality of your stay and I would be delighted to discuss the matter further with you if you wish. My contact email is dmeagher@carlton.ie should you wish to contact me.

As a leading four star hotel at Dublin Airport we take great pride in providing a high quality product to all our guests and I am sorry if your experience was not indicative of this.

I look forward to hearing from you.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2012

We stayed for five nights as we were staying in Dublin on business. Overall we found the hotel very good, the staff on the front desk were friendly and helpful. Free WiFi was a huge bonus for us and we were able to catch up on emails during the evening using this facility.

The hotel rooms were spacious enough and provided decent facilities, some of the furniture is starting to look a bit chipped though. The bathroom was a decent size, plenty of counter top space, good quality toiletries and plenty of clean towels supplied. We weren't particularly troubled by aircraft noise.

Our room rate included breakfast which we thought was decent enough, plenty of choice from continental to cooked options. We had a couple of evening meals in the hotel and these seemed expensive. In fairness the quality of the food was good and the meal was freshly cooked. Bar prices were equally expensive.

Overall a very good hotel, we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JerryandMargo007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 9 June 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review. I am delighted that you found everything to be great at the hotel during your recent five day stay with us.

I look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
0.9 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Property: Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Address: Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport is a stylish, international 4 star hotel next to Dublin Airport terminals, the hotel offers free 24 hour shuttle bus transfers to the airport, free internet access and free parking during your stay. With room rates from ONLY €99 everything you could possibly wish for is here at this top Dublin Airport Hotel, wrapped in an elegant contemporary design and delivered with the highest levels of personal service. Just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre you will find deluxe bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary WiFi, award winning Kitty Hawks Bistro & Bar which serves food all day including Carvery Lunch, Early Bird Menus and our famous Chef's Specials popular with both locals and our residents. De-stress and unwind in our new fully air conditioned Fitness Suite, which is complimentary to hotel residents. A range of Cardiovascular Machines and a weight station will enhance your workout and help to refresh and relax you. Guest enjoy reduced rates at Sportslink swimming pool and leisure centre only 2 minutes away. One of the newest Dublin airport hotels, the Carlton Dublin Airport Hotel offers residents FREE parking and a complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport County Dublin/Cloghran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing