We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dissapointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
dublin
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Dissapointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed at the Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport on the 14/06.12. We booked a nights stay and 14 nights for the car as we were heading on holiday the next morning. As it was also my 50th birthday that day we thought it wouls be nice to have a meal in the lounge. First of all we waited 30 minutes to be asked if we wanted drinks or food even though the lounge was quiet. We ordered drinks and looked at the menu, we then waited for our order to be taken. The waiter did not seem to have any personal skills and was not very friendly.Both our starters were average and acceptable but our main courses were mediocre. I ordered a Salmon dish with a seafood linguine or pasta with lemon, I had to look for the seafood and I think I found 3 mussels and the rest just tasted of pasta. My husband had a chop with a honey and mustard glaze which seemed overcooked and flavourless and tasted as if it had come from a jar. The whole experience was not what I would expect from a top class hotel. The reception staff could not be faulted but the long delay in longe staff and service is appaling as there were only about ten people in the lounge thar night,

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellie016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to read of your disatisfaction and would like to apologise for our shortcomings in relation to service delays in the bistro on the night of your stay.

I would like to assure you that all guest feedback is taken very seriously at the hotel in order to provide continuous improvement at all times.

On a positive note I am pleased to note your praise for the rest of the hotel and in particular the Reception Team.

I do hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Yours Sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,663 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    595
    223
    98
    46
See reviews for
356
569
155
375
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (272)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
County Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

I stayed here just for the one nite. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Room was big an bathroom was too. View was ok looking into front of hotel. Food was nice too. The hotel has a free shuttle bus to and from airport. I would recommended this hotel. I would have no problem in staying here again.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jewel18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review following your stay at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable experience with us and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

The bed was very basic for the money. One short duvet was tucked into a duvet cover, not sheets. If you want to take the blanket off you have no sheet, no covering of any kind. The pillows were nice. The shuttle to and from the airport was great. Good internet connectivity. It really would not take that much to improve the beds. I sleep so poorly I will not be back

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank milagroCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your reivew which I am very disappointed to read. I would like to apologise for our shortcomings during your stay and assure you your comments have been addressed with the Housekeeping Team.

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2012

Stayed in hotel on arrival from Australia 26th march 2012 Hotel was clean, close to the airport and ALL the staff where excellent. After our self driver tour of Ireland stayed there again before leaving Ireland. We where upgraded and the room was excellent. waiters where very attentative and the food was was good. special mention for Jimmy and the front counter girl (cant remember her name) who's boyfriend likes to have barbecues when it becomes hot (19 deg C). A very good hotel would recommend it to any one.

Room Tip: Dont be afraid to ask for upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank colinryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you so much for your great review of the hotel. I am delighted that the team here took such great care of you on your arrival from Australia and again prior to departing for home.

I do hope you had a great holiday and perhaps next time you will join us for a barbeque as we bask in 19 degrees of summer sunshine!!

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longford
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

Stayed in the Carlton for one night 18th June.It was our 2nd time to stay there,and it was as good as the 1st time.Everything about this hotel excellent.Its location , the staff , the rooms , the food , all round a very good hotel.
Would highly recommend this hotel if you have an early morning flight.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hoopsLongford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your review and great feedback. The Carlton has long been a favourite for so many people taking early morning flights and it is encouraging to read that you continue to enjoy our service and quality product.

I hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2012

I stayed overnight before leaving for the airport in the early hours. Hotel was spotless, staff friendly and shuttle to the airport was really good. Restaraunt food was very tasty if a little pricey.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moley1230
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Reviewer

Thank you for your recent review and great feedback following your stay at the hotel. It is always so encouraging for the team to receive great comments such as yours and ensures we continue to provide a great product coupled with friendly and professional service.

Best regards

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

Stayed just one night as part of a group booking on business. Room was large and spacious, but had a sense of something missing, despite a great welcome from the manager with fruit, chocs, etc. As we were working i didn't spend a lot of time in tyhe room, but when I did the TV had sound but no picture, and I wass too tired to fight it out with the front desk. Disappointing part was the food, which had aspirations, but was not good - overcooked and ageneral lack of care. The staff made up for it though - all pleasant, welcoming willing to help. A good bunch of people.
The hotwl does do a good deal on parking + a room if you are flying out for a few days, so stay, but don't eat.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macluhy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CartlonGM_, General Manager at Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the hotel. I am disappointed to read some of the comments you have made and would welcome the opportunity to discuss these with you in more detail. To this end I can be contact on dmeagher@carlton.ie

Yours sincerely

Declan Meagher
General Manager
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Dublin Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Property: Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Address: Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport is a stylish, international 4 star hotel next to Dublin Airport terminals, the hotel offers free 24 hour shuttle bus transfers to the airport, free internet access and free parking during your stay. With room rates from ONLY €99 everything you could possibly wish for is here at this top Dublin Airport Hotel, wrapped in an elegant contemporary design and delivered with the highest levels of personal service. Just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre you will find deluxe bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary WiFi, award winning Kitty Hawks Bistro & Bar which serves food all day including Carvery Lunch, Early Bird Menus and our famous Chef's Specials popular with both locals and our residents. De-stress and unwind in our new fully air conditioned Fitness Suite, which is complimentary to hotel residents. A range of Cardiovascular Machines and a weight station will enhance your workout and help to refresh and relax you. Guest enjoy reduced rates at Sportslink swimming pool and leisure centre only 2 minutes away. One of the newest Dublin airport hotels, the Carlton Dublin Airport Hotel offers residents FREE parking and a complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport County Dublin/Cloghran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing