We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convient, near car hire centre, comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 249 helpful votes
“Convient, near car hire centre, comfortable”
Reviewed 8 November 2010

We were a bit apprehensive about staying so close to the runway but the convenience for the following morning flight couldn't be overlooked. The staff were very helpful, even printing off our boarding pass. The hotel was by no means crowded at the time, and we had quite a good meal at the bar in the early evening. The room was clean and we had a king size bed. Yes, we were near the runway and sometimes the glass in the windows vibrated, but we slept like logs, probably because we knew we didn't have to find our way out of Dublin and work out the timing for the traffic, to get to the car hire centre and be at the airport the following morning in good time. We dropped our car off the evening before we left and were driven back to the hotel probably because of it's close proximity.
I would definitely stay there again, for the one night.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,848 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    796
    637
    254
    108
    53
See reviews for
417
633
171
411
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2010

We stayed here because we don't live near the airport and we had an early morning flight. This offered superb value as they also allow you to leave your car in the car park for the duration of your trip abroad - all for the cost of the night's b and b. We were delighted with the quality of the hotel and of the room. The shuttle bus took us to the airport the next morning and upon our return lo and behold but there was the shuttle mini bus waiting for us to take us back to the hotel. SO convenient! We were thrilled with the whole experience and will definitely be using this hotel again!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fuchsia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maynooth, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2010

I'll keep this short and to the point!

Good points:
- Located close to Dublin Airport with shuttle bus service (did not use this)
- Good food
- Rooms are very clean and spacious (we were in a suite)
- Modern Hotel

Negative Points
- This hotel allows functions late at night. We were in a Suite and were woken up several times between 1am and 3am by rowdy, drunk party goers staggering along our corridor to bed. Not what you need at an "Airport" hotel. When I book into an "Airport" hotel, I expect a good night sleep, uninterrupted by noise from drunken party goers.
- Staff at Reception - upon check out I approached the desk and simply said "I would like to check out of room XXX". I was asked for my credit card and handed a receipt. No "how was your stay" or "was everything to your satisfction" or even a "thank you." I wasn't in the mood to say anything about it as I was heading for a transatlantic flight - after a sleep disturbed night.

Bottom line - you will find a nice hotel with good food in a modern environment. However if you want to sleep and relax the night before you fly, then stay at one of the other Airport hotels, the Radisson being the best choice.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slumped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 October 2010

I have in recent months used a number of the hotels assocaited with Dublin Airport and found the Charlton to be the best of them all. There is a high quality of services from the bus collection at the airport with polite and friendly drivers, through the efficient receiption, to comfortable spacious and clean rooms. this is all cmplimented by the good food delivered in the light enviroment of the restaurant.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cranidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2010

Stayed at the Carlton Dublion Airport for one night before flying the next morning.
We booked room online for a very reasonable rate including breakfast and overnight parking.

We arrived and were checked in to a room which was a good size but a bit Grubby around the edges. Stained carpet, wall paper missing and dirty torn / rusty furniture (not really waht you expect at a 4 Star.

Beacuase we got the room cheap we were happy to live with it, however

That night a group of young people were checked in to the room next to us and basically kept us awake from 12 midnight until 6 in the morning. I complained to the staff numerous times who were helpful and appologetic but could not do very much.

We did recive a full refund at check uot and the breakfast was very good.

In short, happy we got the room free of charge but will never be back!!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank parny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2010

The following is a list of observations/complaints that made the visit entirely unsatisfactory:

- Room numbers/signage to direct you to your room was in a state of disrepair (missing numbers).
- The room hadn’t been properly vacuumed. Strands of confetti littered the carpet.
- The washbasin was badly cracked and needed to be replaced.
- The phone was dead because it was improperly plugged into the wall.
- The literature advertising free Internet failed to mention that apparently a voucher code was needed from the front desk. After more than 1 phone call someone came to the room and got it working after about 20 minutes of fiddling and referring to a list of instructions.
- After waiting for ONE HOUR AND 45 MINUTES for the dinner entrée to be served, I went over to someone at the cash register, asked for a couple of dinner rolls and went to my room.
- The final frustration was that we had to schedule an earlier shuttle to the airport than we intended because of scheduling/capacity problems with the van service. And my wife and I had to ride in different vans to the airport. A primary reason many people stay at an airport hotel the night before a long international flight is that they desire consistent, reliable hassle free shuttle service.

The Carlton Hotel Group (a consortium of hotels in Ireland) does an excellent job of marketing and promotion but competent hotel management is not apparent and I also have to question their sincerity in terms of resolving customer service issues.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 43323Love_to_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
galway
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2010

I was travelling alone and stayed in Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport, it was a very comfortable stay, staff very friendly, food good, and my room was beautiful.
It was a great experience in comparason to most other airport hotels,
I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling for business or pleasure in the Dublin area.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DaisyGalway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cloghran
0.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Dublin Airport
0.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Dublin Airport
1.0 mi away
Clayton Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Hotel Dublin Airport
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin Airport
1.4 mi away
Metro Hotel Dublin Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport

Property: Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport
Address: Old Airport Road, Cloghran, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Cloghran
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Cloghran
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport is a stylish, international 4 star hotel next to Dublin Airport terminals, the hotel offers free 24 hour shuttle bus transfers to the airport, free internet access and free parking during your stay. With room rates from ONLY €99 everything you could possibly wish for is here at this top Dublin Airport Hotel, wrapped in an elegant contemporary design and delivered with the highest levels of personal service. Just 20 minutes from Dublin City Centre you will find deluxe bedrooms and suites, all with complimentary WiFi, award winning Kitty Hawks Bistro & Bar which serves food all day including Carvery Lunch, Early Bird Menus and our famous Chef's Specials popular with both locals and our residents. De-stress and unwind in our new fully air conditioned Fitness Suite, which is complimentary to hotel residents. A range of Cardiovascular Machines and a weight station will enhance your workout and help to refresh and relax you. Guest enjoy reduced rates at Sportslink swimming pool and leisure centre only 2 minutes away. One of the newest Dublin airport hotels, the Carlton Dublin Airport Hotel offers residents FREE parking and a complimentary airport shuttle service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Dublin Airport County Dublin/Cloghran

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing