We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
County Cork, Ireland
1 review
“break away”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We stayed two night the room very spaceioous food was excelent and staff very friendly will return again we will recomend to our friends.only downside was bathroom is small you get over that.we visited tullamore dew and did the guided tour

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carolinebransfield66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    118
    47
    36
    24
See reviews for
73
175
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

I’ve eaten from the bar menu and at the carvery a few times over the past few years and obviously enjoyed it as I went back.

Unfortunately the last couple of times have been quite disappointing. I had a toasted sandwich one lunch time and it was falling apart when brought to me, it had been left sitting on the plate for a while before I got it as it was almost cold and soggy. Both my friend and I ordered cappuccinos however we were brought one cappuccino and one latte.

My next visit was with my mother for carvery at the weekend. We had turkey and pork, both of which were quite dry. The staff were friendly enough but were talking to each other while we were trying to talk to them. After we sat down an elderly gentleman was standing at the counter for about 5 minutes waiting while the serving staff were all inside the kitchen door talking with the kitchen staff. I actually went over to the kitchen door to let them know that there was someone waiting, they didn’t acknowledge me and I was seated again for a while before anyone came out and as far as I could tell they made no apology to the gentleman who was waiting. After he paid he was struggling a bit with his tray to get to a table but none of the three staff now standing at the till area offered to help him.

I am disappointed because the food used to be of a better standard and the staff always made the guests feel very welcome but lately it almost feels as if the guests are disturbing the staff. I hope this will be turned around because it is a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We occasionly stop here to eat, the food has always been satisfactory but on Monday last we had dinner here, starter and main course. The food served was absolutely terrible, both of us have worked in the catering industry for a number of years and have to say it was one of the worse meals we have ever eaten or tried to eat. When we complained we were told to fill out a card and it would be given to management? Very unsatisfactory, left both of us very unwell!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank oconnorfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Had a great time in Co Laoise all thanks to the hospitality of Racket Hall Country House Hotel. We were allocated a room overlooking the garden with the beautiful fountain in view. We informed them beforehand that we were on a genealogy ancestory search of the area and they offered us all we needed for a comfortable stay. Staff in the restaurant were top class for service and attention to detail. The room was spotless with ample tea/coffee facilities. Much appreciated as we were using our room throughout the day updating our ancestor records on their generous free wi fi. My local relations were made to feel very welcome on visiting us and we had a delicious carvery where we were spoilt for choice. It was obvious they were making every effort to give a first class service and the guest requirements were always observed.

Room Tip: we stayed in room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank miriam m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballincollig, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Spent 5 nights in a great room with an enormous comfortable bed. Breakfast served til 11am which gave a bit more time to snooze in the morning. Staff were so welcoming and helpful. Nothing seemed too much trouble for them. I would definitely stay here again. WiFi in the room was a little flaky.

Room Tip: Room overlooking the garden gets great afternoon sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Valerie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nenagh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed there for 1 night in April and lovely room and excellent breakfast. Staff very warm and friendly would definitly stay again. We also booked a room for a meeting and it was first class.

Marion B.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marion B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne L, General Manager at Racket Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Marion B,

Thank you for kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you would like to make a booking in the future please check out our website and please follow us on facebook.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards the management and staff at Racket Hall Country House.

Racket Hall Country House Hotel employs a team of 40 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sligo
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Fantastic little hotel with one of the best breakfast we have had in a long time while travelling. The room was big and the bed was very comfortable.
Ample amount of free car parking and the local scenery is just breath-taking will definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdynan72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wayne L, General Manager at Racket Hall Country House Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear pdynan72,

Thank you for kind comments, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. If you would like to make a booking in the future please check out our website and please follow us on facebook.

Hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards the management and staff at Racket Hall Country House.

Racket Hall Country House Hotel employs a team of 40 dedicated people who are focused on delivering great customer service. We actively seek and welcome genuine, constructive feedback as this is what we use to ensure our service and standards constantly improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscrea
10.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.4 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
19.3 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
20.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#2 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racket Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Roscrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Roscrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Racket Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Racket Hall Country House Hotel is ideally situated on the N7 just outside the heritage town of Roscrea just a short distance from Dublin & Limerick providing the perfect location to get away from it all and enjoy a relaxing stay, whether it's business or pleasure. The perfect weekend or midweek hideaway. Originally built in the 18th century, this "Olde Worlde" country house has been refurbished in keeping with its true character. Set in the rolling countryside of the monastic midlands and nestled beneath the Slieve Bloom mountains. The elegantly furnished guest rooms are styled for comfort and luxury. Relax in the charming atmosphere at Racket Hall Country House Hotel. All guest rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, free wifi, room safe & tea & coffee making facilities to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Racket Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racket Hall Country House Golf And Conference Hotel
Racket Hall Country House Golf Hotel Roscrea
Racket Hall Country House Hotel Roscrea, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing