We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant wedding reception...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Pleasant wedding reception...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently attended a wedding at this venue...the hotel is a little dated but the staff were nice and I enjoyed most of my meal. The Caesar salad was tasty as was the soup....I asked for the vegetarian option which was very bland and extremely unappetising (cold rice with stir fried peppers and onion in a sweet chilli sauce)....however the beef looked tasty and those who ate it confirmed it with me...the trio of deserts were very nice too...chocolate cake, cheese cake and apple pie...the bar served non alcoholic beer for those who were driving..i wonder what the food is like in the bar/restaurant?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RollerGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    110
    47
    34
    23
See reviews for
66
168
11
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
eire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

A wonderful old world Hotel set in a quiet area, just off the main road. A friendly welcome awaits you from the reception on check in to the staff in the dining & bar areas. The bedroom was clean , bright & fresh overlooking the mature garden & car park area. Decor in the hotel is mostly golf scenes & hunting pictures, some of the furniture in the bar area needs upholstering as it's a little shabby in parts , being perfectly honest the dining area/bar area needs a good dusting.. breakfast was pretty good with the full irish as well as a selection of cereals , Yoghurts & special requests met with a smile. Good variety of food available for dinner or lunch which was ok. If it's a relaxing quiet break you're after then this is a good choice. Kathleen at breakfast was a lovely lady, and anything you ask her for .. you get with a smile. will be back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor have lovely views , is quiet , bright & fresh smelling. Oh and you just got to use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EireGriffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Racket Hall. It is hard not to get the feeling that this hotel's heyday has passed and it is desperately trying to survive the post celtic tiger era.
The bedroom was spacious, clean and had beautiful expensive furniture including a king size bed. The decor was about a decade out of date which made the room feel dark. Overall it was comfortable and pleasant.
Dinner was served in the bar area which is a wide open space, not very pleasant and in need of a good cleaning. Even the tables were unsteady and wobbly. Attention to detail and a few spanners would fix this.
The food itself was nothing special and was expensive for what it was.
The breakfast however was very good quality, cooked individually and not a buffet. Well done.
The staff on reception were very nice and professional. Our breakfast waitress, a foreign lady called Eva was exceptionally good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed two nights here and we have to say......what a huge mistake. This hotel is classed as a 3* hotel but I wouldn't mark it as 1*. It is very dated and looks depressing and dull. It might be ok if you were pensioners looking for a very quiet break and weren't looking for any atmosphere. There was 6 staff behind the bar with only 4 people in the vicinity.....why? The evening meal was very expensive with no thought or imagination given and we had a full time job trying to keep the flies off our food. Only a small section of the bar was open.....right at the end behind a wall !! The breakfast staff, especially Eva was lovely and very helpful. We left this hotel and headed to Ennis to stay in another 3* hotel and it is just fantastic. Absolutely no comparison to the Racket. We would NEVER stay there again !!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

We had our wedding there in July 2014,
the service and attention to detail was second to none ,Most of our guest traveled and found the accommodation very comfortable and clean and the service and food was excellent .
John was our wedding coordinator, he could not have been more helpful, he understood our requirement and everyone of them were met and more, i would have no hesitation recommending this hotel as a top wedding venue, I am from portlaoise and considered the other hotels local but wanted a country house feel and a place that would only do one wedding a day.
Thanks to all involved you made our day, Hope this helps other couples

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I live 35 minutes away from roscrea,my mother lives about 15 or 20 minutes away from the area. I would go out to see my mother once a week and we use to have a bite to eat in the racket hall back about a year ago maybe more .to be quiet honest I don't know why I stop having lunch their ,but we did ,any ways I was on my way back from a week in Clare and we stopped in roscrea in the racket hall as it was handy ,any how so we went in and we got seated there was at least 8 or 9 waitress alone and 2 waiters including a man that looked like the owner and their was only about 4 others in the place including ourselves ,with all those workers their it took them about 15 minutes for them to give us a menu ,and an other 15 to take our order,when our food was ordered (sandwiches and soups ) it took them 20 minutes to bring them out and they mixed up our orders and the food wasn't even great.. Very poor ,and the soup was terrible! It looked like it was lying around the whole day and my husband said it wasn't even drinkable.the sandwiches was so-pose to come with side salad and on each plate was a big spoon of coleslaw on its own like how anyone could eat that I don't know.we were looking forward to watching the Sunday game when we came and then to hear the television was broke down for a week now is what we were told and this was the weekend of the World Cup like that is shocking ! And at the end of it all my husband went up to pay and for 3 lunch sandwiches and 2 kids soups and 2 portions off cold chips and cold tea it was 40 euro !!! Like I was very disappointed and a lot of people then told me it was an absulute dive of a place and it Is not at all like what it use to be.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Aoibhinn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

A beautiful olde worlde hotel with many interesting nooks' and crannys'. Efficient, courteous staff. Excellent Restaurant with good understanding of specific dietary requirements', good prices', and excellent music.Ample parking in landscaped car park. In very close proximity to the golf club and heritage town of Roscrea

Room Tip: Rooms to the rear are quieter, especially on evenings' when bands' are playing, but overall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscrea
10.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.4 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
23.7 mi away
Horse & Jockey Hotel
Horse & Jockey Hotel
#2 of 3 in Thurles
4.0 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.3 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
11.0 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
20.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#1 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racket Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Roscrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Roscrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Racket Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Racket Hall Country House Hotel is ideally situated on the N7 just outside the heritage town of Roscrea just a short distance from Dublin & Limerick providing the perfect location to get away from it all and enjoy a relaxing stay, whether it's business or pleasure. The perfect weekend or midweek hideaway. Originally built in the 18th century, this "Olde Worlde" country house has been refurbished in keeping with its true character. Set in the rolling countryside of the monastic midlands and nestled beneath the Slieve Bloom mountains. The elegantly furnished guest rooms are styled for comfort and luxury. Relax in the charming atmosphere at Racket Hall Country House Hotel. All guest rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, free wifi, room safe & tea & coffee making facilities to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Racket Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racket Hall Country House Golf Hotel Roscrea
Racket Hall Country House Golf And Conference Hotel
Racket Hall Country House Hotel Roscrea, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing