We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant Family Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Brilliant Family Wedding”
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in racket hall for a family wedding on 8th August. This hotel was excellent for a wedding. The manager and all
The staff were absolutely top class. Service was second to none and the bar staff so accommodating. Rooms are nice and comfy and for the amount of time we actually spent in the room they served the purpose. We had bed and breakfast rates which were extremely reasonable. It was a young
Persons wedding with plenty of drinking and craic and we really
Felt like we had the run of place
For the weekend. Dinner was absolutely fab with a choice for both starters and mains and good size portions. All in all I would recommend anyone to try the racket hall and I know from talking to the couple themselves they spoke so highly
Of anyone they were dealing with. The staff make this venue from bar staff to wait staff to anyone on reception. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank shopaholic98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

388 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    163
    118
    47
    36
    24
See reviews for
73
175
13
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kerry
Level Contributor
109 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a tough one, not sure if I should have scored this a "Poor" or an "average". It really was somewhere in between. I'll go with average based on the rate we paid. We stayed at Racket Hall for one night, a Saturday. The outside looks tired but thankfully our room was quite nice. Spacious, clean, nice dark furniture and a really big bed. The bed had a few dodgy springs but not uncomfortable. There was one small chip from the wall and the carpet looked scruffy. While I'm sure it was clean it really does need replacing, almost threadbare in places. I found the receptionist to be a bit lacking in personality, she wasn't rude or anything just not overly welcoming. The staff in the bar and at breakfast, however, were very friendly.
The public areas, such as the lobby and what they refer to as the parlour were quite scruffy also. In particular the upholstery on the armchairs, grubby and shiny. Yuck. I'm sure some arm covers could be made? I got a similar impression in the breakfast area the next morning. Fabric on the chairs grubby and an un fresh smell in the air.
I do understand that replacing anything costs money which is all easier said than done, however, cleaning doesn't cost too much other than elbow grease.
Overall, for what we paid (got a great online discount) we were happy. Not sure I'd go back though.

Room Tip: Request a room at the back of the hotel. The front is onto a main road which can be quite busy and n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KerryPenguin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We booked this hotel at short notice for Saturday 2nd August. The exterior of the hotel does not look great, but what a surprise we got when we were shown to our bedroom. Spotlessly clean, amazing furniture, and very spacious. The hotel itself has a lot of old world furniture which adds to the atmosphere. Great food, great staff and management. Less than two hours from Dublin, watch out for their special offers. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: All the rooms are lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

I recently attended a wedding at this venue...the hotel is a little dated but the staff were nice and I enjoyed most of my meal. The Caesar salad was tasty as was the soup....I asked for the vegetarian option which was very bland and extremely unappetising (cold rice with stir fried peppers and onion in a sweet chilli sauce)....however the beef looked tasty and those who ate it confirmed it with me...the trio of deserts were very nice too...chocolate cake, cheese cake and apple pie...the bar served non alcoholic beer for those who were driving..i wonder what the food is like in the bar/restaurant?

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RollerGirl2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
eire
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2014

A wonderful old world Hotel set in a quiet area, just off the main road. A friendly welcome awaits you from the reception on check in to the staff in the dining & bar areas. The bedroom was clean , bright & fresh overlooking the mature garden & car park area. Decor in the hotel is mostly golf scenes & hunting pictures, some of the furniture in the bar area needs upholstering as it's a little shabby in parts , being perfectly honest the dining area/bar area needs a good dusting.. breakfast was pretty good with the full irish as well as a selection of cereals , Yoghurts & special requests met with a smile. Good variety of food available for dinner or lunch which was ok. If it's a relaxing quiet break you're after then this is a good choice. Kathleen at breakfast was a lovely lady, and anything you ask her for .. you get with a smile. will be back!

Room Tip: 3rd floor have lovely views , is quiet , bright & fresh smelling. Oh and you just got to use th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EireGriffy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Racket Hall. It is hard not to get the feeling that this hotel's heyday has passed and it is desperately trying to survive the post celtic tiger era.
The bedroom was spacious, clean and had beautiful expensive furniture including a king size bed. The decor was about a decade out of date which made the room feel dark. Overall it was comfortable and pleasant.
Dinner was served in the bar area which is a wide open space, not very pleasant and in need of a good cleaning. Even the tables were unsteady and wobbly. Attention to detail and a few spanners would fix this.
The food itself was nothing special and was expensive for what it was.
The breakfast however was very good quality, cooked individually and not a buffet. Well done.
The staff on reception were very nice and professional. Our breakfast waitress, a foreign lady called Eva was exceptionally good.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

My partner and I stayed two nights here and we have to say......what a huge mistake. This hotel is classed as a 3* hotel but I wouldn't mark it as 1*. It is very dated and looks depressing and dull. It might be ok if you were pensioners looking for a very quiet break and weren't looking for any atmosphere. There was 6 staff behind the bar with only 4 people in the vicinity.....why? The evening meal was very expensive with no thought or imagination given and we had a full time job trying to keep the flies off our food. Only a small section of the bar was open.....right at the end behind a wall !! The breakfast staff, especially Eva was lovely and very helpful. We left this hotel and headed to Ennis to stay in another 3* hotel and it is just fantastic. Absolutely no comparison to the Racket. We would NEVER stay there again !!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Regina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Roscrea
10.6 mi away
County Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
18.4 mi away
Great National Abbey Court Hotel & Spa
19.3 mi away
Anner Hotel
Anner Hotel
#1 of 3 in Thurles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
The Horse & Jockey Hotel
11.0 mi away
The Maltings
The Maltings
#2 of 3 in Birr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
20.3 mi away
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
Maldron Hotel Portlaoise
#3 of 4 in Portlaoise
4.0 of 5 bubbles 670 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Racket Hall Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Racket Hall Country House Hotel

Property: Racket Hall Country House Hotel
Address: Dublin Road, Roscrea, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Tipperary > Roscrea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Roscrea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Racket Hall Country House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Racket Hall Country House Hotel is ideally situated on the N7 just outside the heritage town of Roscrea just a short distance from Dublin & Limerick providing the perfect location to get away from it all and enjoy a relaxing stay, whether it's business or pleasure. The perfect weekend or midweek hideaway. Originally built in the 18th century, this "Olde Worlde" country house has been refurbished in keeping with its true character. Set in the rolling countryside of the monastic midlands and nestled beneath the Slieve Bloom mountains. The elegantly furnished guest rooms are styled for comfort and luxury. Relax in the charming atmosphere at Racket Hall Country House Hotel. All guest rooms are en-suite with direct dial telephone, free wifi, room safe & tea & coffee making facilities to name but a few. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Racket Hall Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Racket Hall Country House Golf And Conference Hotel
Racket Hall Country House Golf Hotel Roscrea
Racket Hall Country House Hotel Roscrea, Ireland - County Tipperary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing