We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Characterful restaurant and good flavours”
Review of La Serenata Cafe

La Serenata Cafe
Ranked #10 of 13 Restaurants in Roscrea
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Pasta and Pizza
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Characterful restaurant and good flavours”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

We were travelling from Dublin to Limerick and looking for a lunch stop south of Portlaoise for good food but not too heavy as we had a booking for a restaurant dinner later. La Serenata proved to be the ideal stop for us, in the centre of Roscrea not far off Junction 22 of the M7. We had pizzas (good Italian style base and good ingredients) and a soup with plenty of flavour. The restaurant has plenty of character with some stone floors and it rises up about three levels from the initial street level entrance. The photograph at the top of the TripAdvisor entry is of the top level, viewed from the next level down. We found La Serenata to be good value and good quality with friendly service. There is also small outdoor terrace, very close to a neighbouring building.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Saval1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    11
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Cosy little resturant”
Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

A nice cosy restaurant. It has a nice menu which is reasonably priced. Food is very nice. Staff are very friendly and do their best to accommodate you. I eat here when ever im in roscrea and I will be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank tipptopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
1 review
“Very good restaurant”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

This cafe is a real gem. When we were there the place was packed I noticed that locals are the majority of the customers. La serenata excels in every details from friendly staff,good atmosphere,excellent selection of fine italian food. It's a great restaurant and we recommend it wholeheartedly

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“great food”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

Lovely little Italian restaurant in roscrea. Great choice in the menu. Starter of garlic mushrooms are gorgeous. Both of us had pizza as main course and both were lovely. Great value. You can bring your own wine.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ohanlondeirdre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

Ate there on a Saturday, sign outside advertised lunch menu from €7.95 but when we were seated we were told that there is no lunch menu at the weekends. We were the only people in the restaurant on a Saturday lunchtime which did ring alarm bells but we decided to stay. We only wanted something light and ordered two starters: chicken bruschetta which had one strip of chicken on each piece of bread and chicken goujons which were not fresh (frozen processed meat). Overall was a disappointing lunch. Would not go back.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Brid D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Serenata Cafe also viewed

 
Roscrea, County Tipperary
Roscrea, County Tipperary
 

Been to La Serenata Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing