We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank you Sean!!”
Review of Leap Castle

Leap Castle
Ranked #2 of 9 things to do in Roscrea
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Uboldo, Italy
Level Contributor
64 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Thank you Sean!!”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Amazing castle, Sean filled it with everything he likes, and it's wonderful!
He'll tell you stories in front of the fireplace, and he's very friendly and says interesting things. He speaks very clear, so it's not hard to understand for tourists.
I asked him about the ghosts just when we finished the tour, because I was too scared, but he answered all of our questions.
Totally worth it, I'm glad that there's no sign to go there, so it's not crowded, and Sean can welcome people easily.
I regret that he couldn't show us the castle himself because of his leg, but he stayed in the main hall and guided us from there.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    17
    5
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vogelbach, Rheinland-Pfalz, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great castle..a must see!”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had the pleasure of seeing Leap Castle, and met the owner, Sean Ryan, a super neat guy who took the time to sit us down in front of his fire and tell us stories. I think he even left out some of the 'elemental' stories because we were with our young boys. But he did not disappoint. He told us other ghost stories and shared his families personal experiences. He then gave us a flash light and let us explore the upper floors. So far, it's been my favorite part of our trip to Ireland. This castle had great charm, and is a definite must see. Mr. Ryan does all the restoration himself and has lovingly brought life back to this hidden gem. 6 Euro per person, but more than worth it! It helps finance the restoration, which the owner does with recycled materials.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sioux City, Iowa
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“The Walls talk nearly as much as he ...”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Mr. Sean Ryan and his Leap (pronounced LEPT) Castle is Amazing. We were in Ireland on the Shannon Princess hotel barge, and were directed to this "fixer-upper." The family has been rebuilding this ruin for more than 2 decades and must be commended. Its history is immense and they are staying true to its beginnings. Leap Castle ... and the Ryan Family ... are to be admired. They are knowledgeable beyond belief ... I mentioned my grandmother's maiden name, and Sean instantly told me quite a bit of their history while they lived in Northern Ireland. Some of it I already knew, and it was uncanny that he was spot-on with the rest of the information. Google the Ryan's Leap Castle on youtube. Interesting stuff. Don't miss this stop if you happen to be in the area. It is not for anyone who struggles with walking stairs, however.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Heathcote H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Joseph, Missouri
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome Visit”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We had a great time. Mr Ryan told great stories, and then gave us a couple of flashlights and let us explore. The view was amazing from the top. I strongly recommend visiting this castle if you are anywhere near Roscrea.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Meeting the owners is worth visit alone. Their music and hospitality coupled with the education they shared about the area was invaluable

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank asm28443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Leap Castle also viewed

Roscrea, County Tipperary
Roscrea, County Tipperary
 
Roscrea, County Tipperary
Roscrea, County Tipperary
 

Been to Leap Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing