We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Sunday Lunch & Sea Bass in Bantry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Seaview House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballylickey
Certificate of Excellence
Cork
Level Contributor
57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Best Sunday Lunch & Sea Bass in Bantry”
Reviewed 15 September 2013

It was a last minute decision to have lunch in Bantry as it was a damp, wet, miserable Sunday afternoon in West Cork , however the sun shined in Ballylickey. Seaview certainly scores highly for friendliness, choice and a warm welcome. What a great place for traditional Sunday lunch with friends and family. We didn’t have a booking but when a phone call was made to Seaview seeking a table. “ Absolutely, no problem sir, we would be delighted to arrange a table” the lady on reception replied. The Dining room was buzzing, guests chatting and enjoying conversation and tucking into plates of food. The service was excellent, everyone seemed friendly, even the chef sent out “Petit-fours” apparently a local chef Nigella. I had the Sea Bass with Lemon Butter, 10/10 wow it was the business, highlight is the dessert trolley packed with loads of cakes, puddings, sugary delights. Well done to all certainly the best fish in Bantry.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CKM1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

166 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    31
    20
    4
    2
See reviews for
36
90
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dingle, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Full of character, and a spacious room with french windows onto the garden, we were allowed to bring our small dog at no extra charge and no fuss. Complimentary tea and homemade biscuits on arrival. Dinner was good, but the star of the show was breakfast which was quite delicious with a choice of freshly prepared quality ingredients, even lambs kidneys and liver in a mixed grill if you had the appetite for them. The service was friendly and informal and we felt welcome in every way.

Room Tip: If you are taking your dog, ask for the corner room with french doors onto the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank farr3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Dined in this establishment and was very impressed with the standard of food as well as friendly and obliging staff. The decor and general hygiene was of very high standard. The situation of this establishment is very attractive being in one of tyne most scenic areas of West Cork and the grounds are very attractive and excellently maintained.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunseekerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
louisville
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

My husband and I spent three peaceful nights at the beautiful Seaview House Hotel. If you are in the Glengarriff or Bantry area, please stay at the Seaview House. Our room was wonderfully furnished with antiques but had a very modern bathroom. Very quiet with a beautiful view. The breakfasts were the best we had in Ireland and the two dinners were four star! The hotel is conveniently located. Wish we could visit here every year. Kathleen O'Sullivan and her staff will take are of you!

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the house. Rooms facing the car park wouldn't have such a nice vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jamie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

We booked this hotel as a last minute break. What a surprise! This is Irish hospitality at it's best and is the cleanest, spotless hotel I have ever stayed in. Set in lovely established gardens surrounded by trees which can block the views of the sea but it doesn't matter when you are staying in a wonderful house decked out with antique ornaments and furniture.
Our room was lovely, bright and spacious. Everywhere was spotless and the staff were so welcoming and inviting. A special mention should go to Mary Connelly, a waitress who whilst serving, had us in fits of giggles!! She is the best!! We will miss you!!
Our evening meal was freshly cooked by a chef which was tastey as was our tastey Full Irish breakfast.
This place is a great base for going out exploring which was exactly what we did.
Thank you to all the staff for making us feel so very welcome.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack10111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
114 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013 via mobile

What a very pleasant surprise this hotel turned into. Set in beautiful gardens, the house was a beautiful mansion furnished with wonderful old furniture. Our room was large, and very impressive. Cannot compliment the staff highly enough, they were so warm and friendly, and very efficient. We choose to eat in the resturant at the hotel, it was fantastic food, just want weary travellers needed, a good choice of vegtables. Breakfast was wonderful. As the hotel is set off the road, the only noise we had was nature. I would totally recommend this hotel and would stay again if in this area.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Joanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This Manor House Hotel is a must visit. The rooms are all individually decorated with original paintings and antiques. We have stayed here many times, and have always had a wonderful holiday.
The food is amazing and the menu changes each evening, allowing for the fresh fish that is caught each day.
I could not recommend this hotel highly enough for comfort, food and staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnaKDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballylickey
3.0 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,109 reviews
3.8 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bantry Bay
The Bantry Bay
#4 of 5 in Bantry
4.0 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Glengarriff Park Hotel
Glengarriff Park Hotel
#1 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.5 of 5 bubbles 489 reviews
13.8 mi away
The West Cork Hotel
The West Cork Hotel
#1 of 1 in Skibbereen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
4.9 mi away
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
Eccles Hotel Glengarriff
#3 of 3 in Glengarriff
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seaview House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seaview House Hotel

Property: Seaview House Hotel
Address: Ballylickey, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry > Ballylickey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Ballylickey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Seaview House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Seaview House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seaview Hotel Bantry

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing