We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No B&B compares!”
Review of Aran Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Aran Lodge B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Ballylickey B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 September 2009

My husband and I were camping in the nearby Eagle point Camp Site. After one night we had to abort the camping as we were flooded out! Weather was awful. Deirdre, the hostess, greeted us with open arms at 10pm on the first night with our 3yr, 4yr and 5yr old girls! She couldn't have made us feel more at home. The family room was breath taking when we walked in. the space we had. Kids all had a bed each. They had space to play, TV, DVD's (supplied by Dierdre).
Our eldest daughter turned 6 one of the mornings during our stay there. Not only a bun with a candle did Deirdre produce, but also, a happy 6th birthday banner and a present. We ended up stating for four nights and were sad to leave!
We could not say enough about Deirdre and her family!
Do try out this B&B, we will be again in 2010!

I

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank laylarose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (84)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

56 - 62 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2009

Aran Lodge is a lovely B&B with fantastic views from the upper bedroom of Ballylickey Bay. Breakfasts are legendary. Hosts are unremittingly friendly and charming. Very reasonably priced and set in beautiful grounds.

The area is not renowned for its great weather but provided you take a bit of waterproof gear you can knock yourself out on the views, walks and hospitality of the locals. Bantry is lovely market/fishing town and only 5 mins away. Bantry Bay Golf Course is stunning and would give many on the Monterey Peninsula a run for their money

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank picturetag1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2009

My partner and I spent a bit of time in West Cork over the Easter holiday and found this lovely bed and breakfast on the road from Bantry to Glengariff, about ten minutes outside Bantry town. The welcome was very warm and the room cosy with an excellent sea view.
The Ouvane pub right across the street was a good spot to spend an afternoon overlooking the bay. Bantry itself a great town at night and the very helpfull owner not only pointed us in the direction of a good meal (at O'Connors in the town centre) but she also gave us a lift into town freeing us up to have a drink or two that evening.
As a vegetarian I was impressed with the breakfast options available. Quite often I have to make do with a bowl of cereal or piece of fruit while my partner tucks into a big breakfast, but here I was well catered for.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrcorkchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2009

I stayed at Aran Lodge with friends for several days in May. It was 'home away from home'. Wonderful, friendly atmosphere and outstanding service. Nothing was too much trouble for our hostess, Deirdre. The breakfast menu re the variety offered and the quality was five star. The area is very picturesque and the view of Bantry Bay from Aran Lodge is stunning. We will definitely be back. I would recommend this B&B to all.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemini2930
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2008

The bar and restaurant is walking distance, like across the street. The ceiling in my room was made of wood. A big shower. Nice room. Comfortable bed. Nice view. Way above average breakfast. Really nice folks. Good price. Quiet. Consider it a jumping off ground to Beara and the Mizzen, and don't miss either.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BaltimoreFats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2008

My wife and I have just returned from a 10 day vacation at Aran Lodge. We both had a great time. There are several reasons we loved Aran Lodge.

The location is excellent for day trips in Co. Cork. The Beara Peninsula has to be seen to be fully appreciated. Aran Lodge is conveniently located for trips to the Beara, as well as Sheeps Head, Mizzen Head, Kinsale and Bantry.

Aran Lodge is sited on a hill with a beatiful sea view. They have large front and back lawns - you can even try your hand with a traditional Irish "hurley"!

The rooms are top notch. The mattresses are especially good for those with "back problems." The breakfast is my favorite - I recommend the "full Irish", which will definately hold you all day long.

The O'Connell Family are wonderful hosts, with extensive knowledge of Irish language, history and culture.

We absolutely recommend Aran Lodge to new, as well as experienced, vistors to Ireland.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank SlowBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2008

Great location, very clean, gracious hosts,great breakfast and great pub across the street. definitely to be recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notreallymyname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballylickey
3.9 mi away
Westlodge Hotel
Westlodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Bantry
647 reviews
3.1 mi away
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#1 of 5 in Bantry
1,228 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seaview House Hotel
Seaview House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Ballylickey
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Mill
The Mill
#3 of 26 in Bantry
176 reviews
2.2 mi away
Edencrest Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
Doire Liath
Doire Liath
#10 of 26 in Bantry
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aran Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aran Lodge B&B

Address: Ballylickey | Bantry, Ballylickey, Bantry, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Bantry > Ballylickey
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Ballylickey
Price Range: £47 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Scenic tranquil B&B/Guesthouse, on two acres of landscaped gardens overlooking Bantry Bay at Ballylickey on route N71 between Bantry and Glengarriff. All rooms en-suite; wheelchair-friendly; central heating; TVs, tea/coffee and sea views. Coach parking, one minute’s walk to local bar/restaurant. One hours drive of Killarney and the famous “Ring of Kerry” Mizen Head & Blarney Castle. Ideal location for touring, hill-walking, golf, lake, river & sea angling. Credit Cards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Aran Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing