We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great hotel let down by poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gozd Martuljek
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful setting with a river babbling by and awesome views of mount Spik.

We opted for a room with mountain views, which were well worth the little extra.The rooms are large and spacious with a large bathroom. Our room had free wifi too, but it appears that some rooms don't.

However, the hotels idilic location is also a bit of a burden. Unless you go full board you will need to walk (1hr) or bike (20 mins) along the cycle path to Kranjska Gora. There are two pizza restaurants along the way and a half dozen or so more pizza and steak restaurants in the town. The menus are very similar and there isn't much to offer vegetarians.

You will find that hotel spa is a welcome break from cycling and hiking. It consists of a decent sized indoor pool and a good sized children's pool. Outside there is a spacious sun terrace. The sauna is an extra, which must be paid for, as are the beauty treatments.

Breakfast at the hotel is well below four star standard, as is the service. Tables are set with room numbers for those on full board, but for those like us on bed and breakfast only you have to hunt for a spare table, which are often not set. Surely, when paying above the going rate for hotels in the region, being guided to a table is not too much to ask. The quality of the food at breakfast is below four star standard too, with machine only hot drinks (not fresh coffee) tinned fruit and watered fruit juices.

When we complained about having to search for a table every day the staff were disinterest and unhelpful, including the restaurant manager.

In summary, if a beautiful peaceful location allowing you easy access to the countryside for hiking and cycling is what you are after and you are not too concerned about poor service, then this is the place for you.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank wayneghall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 18 July 2013

The Spik Alpine Welness resort is an excellent choice when visiting this region.
Very close to Kranjska Gora (5 mnutes by car) but such a quiet location!
If you take one of the rooms with mountain view, the experience is exceptional.
Nice swimmingpool area and good spa/massage facilities (good prices!).

The only point which can be improved:
The restaurant: the quality of breakfast is not good enough for a 4* hotel, the half board guest have their own table, the breakfast people have to sit in minor places (demand a table with a nice view! Don't let you intimidate by the waiter ).
So if diner means to you to fill your stomac and you want to feel the old communistic way to run a restaurant, take half board. If diner means enjoy eating, go and eat in one of the excellent places in the little village or Kranjska Gora

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Hans N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This hotel was super. The room was comfortable. The facilities were great. Indoor swimming offered 3 pools, including a lap pool for serious swimmers. The breakfasts and dinners were wonderful. Lots of choices for meals and lots of fresh food for the health conscious.

The vistas from the front of the hotel were spectacular. Free internet from the lobby. Lots of nearby hiking and bike trails. This was a summer trip, and we are not skiers. If you are, this locale is amazing.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This was our third stay in this hotel. We used a very good offer which included half board in superior room with free entrance to the pool and saunas. This has become one of our favourite hotels due to its very good position, many opportunities for walking and enjoying the nature and most of all its very good service and amazing spa area. The food is not exceptional but it is OK. The only thing that bothered us (mainly my husband) is the lousy TV system. I hope we will be able to return to this lovely place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the pool are the best.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oneteacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2013

Did spent one week with the family , including 1 year old daugther.

Got inmediately an upgrade to a spacious mountain view room with a huge terras, staff is utmost friendly. Parking is no issue.

Place is absolutely quiet, while you are only 5 minutes driving from the city centre and the ski slopes. Spa is huge and brand new. Sauna area is also gorgeous, just a pity that the sauna is not included in the price of the room.

Buffet is abundant, although not really gourmet style.
Only LAN in the rooms , no WIFI.

Close to Italy and Austria, the location is just perfect !

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dirkusalbertus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Hotel Spik is very good base if you want to explore this part of Slovenia. Very nice surrounding, Sava river passing in front of hotel will help you to have good dreams, beautiful view on Alps to have good day start. Rooms in 4* part are modern, big enough, clean. Apart of excellent spa and swimming pool, there is almost no activity in hotel. It is strange that new 4* part with rooms and spa/pool is just added to 3* hotel, without any additional 4* infrastructure. I never was in that class of hotel with so unattractive reception area. Also, there is no lobby bar in hotel.

Not to forgot hotel staff is very pleasant and will to help in any occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dejan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

We spent 7 nights on half board bases with a 6 month old baby. The room was clean and spacious and it had a magnificent view of the mountains and river. Our balcony door was not closing properly and we had to ask the reception to turn up the heat in the evenings. The linens and towels were new and perfectly white. The rooms have only cable internet.
Food was surprisingly colorful, various soups, meats, salads, cheese, fruits and desserts. The coffee machine at breakfast made several types of coffee. Staff was pleasant and very helpful, reception especially quick in response to our needs!!
Wellness was ok but I found the indoor pool area a bit chilly.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaLuSa12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gozd Martuljek
2.5 mi away
Ramada Hotel and Suites Kranjska Gora
2.7 mi away
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
Ramada Resort Kranjska Gora
#8 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
249 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Kompas
Hotel Kompas
#6 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Lek
Hotel Lek
#4 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
326 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
Hotel & Restaurant Skipass
#2 of 17 in Kranjska Gora
217 reviews
14.3 mi away
Hotel Triglav Bled
Hotel Triglav Bled
#5 of 24 in Bled
434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort

Address: Jezerci 21 A, Gozd Martuljek 4282, Slovenia
Region: Slovenia > Upper Carniola Region > Gozd Martuljek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Gozd Martuljek
Price Range: £61 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the idyllic and tranquil setting of Gozd Martuljek, five kilometres from Kranjska Gora, is located amidst unspoilt nature the Špik Alpine Healthness Resort. The entire offer of the resort is based on the unique and natural Alpine world, stressing its sustainable character and awareness of natural beauty and tradition. These important values cover the relationship with the local environment, relaxation, exercise and dynamics – a care for the quality of life. The Špik Resort has its own special character. The natural materials bring warmth and kindness to the facility, while the wide open view of nature soothes and relaxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Gozd Martuljek
Spik Hotel Kranjska Gora
Hotel Spik Alpine Wellness Resort Slovenia/Gozd Martuljek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing