We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning Spa Schloss - fantastic pool - great food and service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Szidonia Manor House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Szidonia Manor House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rojtokmuzsaj
Certificate of Excellence
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Stunning Spa Schloss - fantastic pool - great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I was recommended the Szidonia Castle by a colleague who goes there regularly to unwind. I was met at Bratislava International airport (highly efficient, quick process through arrivals) and driven the 1:15 to Rojtokmuzsaj (no-one knows how it is pronounced!). On arrival I was stunned by the architecture of the 'Castle' - it is more a very grand manor house. The reception area is massive and oak lined with a sweeping staircase. The staff were brilliant - nothing is too much trouble and they are always friendly and smiling. Most spoke good English, my Hungarian being a little sparse!!!
My room on the first floor was massive with a luxurious bathroom. The only downside was the nearby church insists on ringing its bell long before I was ready to rise, but I was glad I did. I decided I was going to get as much exercise out of my short stay (5 days) as possible and went off to walk the 7 Hectare grounds. I discovered tennis courts, basket ball and volley ball plus a covered table tennis area. There was even an oversize outdoor chess set. There is a lovely calming pond area and an outdoor pool that was being used by a brave couple at 7 am.
On returning to the Hotel I entered the beautiful Valentine restaurant and had a marvellous continental breakfast with fresh fruit, meats, cheese, breads, and pastries. Lunch on the terrace was a lovely experience and I was able to select from 3 different menus including a healthy eating option. After lunch I went off to the stunning Spa accessed off the first floor. The pool is warm and largely underused. The saunas and steam rooms are like Roman baths and there is a full range of massages, pedicures, manicures, hairdressing and other treatments at remarkably low costs (female hairdressing was less than £20. The massage lasted over 40 minutes and left me feeling really pampered. By the end of my stay I had perfectly manicured hands and feet and a smart haircut. To get the best out of this hotel you really have to make full use of the Spa and grounds - very easy at their low prices. The Spa is free.
The hotel has its own Spa water which is served at all meals and tastes fresh and clean. Local wine served in two-glass mini carafes is remarkably good value but bottled wine will enhance your bill if you aren't careful. My full board choice was a good one as there is very little need to leave the hotel grounds.
Do ask the Manager to advise on local attractions and cycling around the local lake is a real pleasure (cycle hire was £5).
This brilliant Hotel Spa is easily accessed from most UK airports and if you fly into Vienna there is an easy rail link to the village. Both Vienna and Bratislava are about 1:15 from Szidonia Castle.
Negatives: The grounds could do with more frequent grass cutting. The bed was two singles put together and the duvets are two singles; that is the way it is done in Hungary but you get used to it. And is there any way the management can stop the early morning church bells?

Room Tip: You really must ask for a room as far away from the next door church unless you want to be awoken ea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wingco44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter G, Vezető at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Reviewer,
Thank you very much for your feedback.

I am very pleased to hear that everything was up to your satisfaction and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have shared your compliments with the whole team.

Thank you once again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming you back to Szidónia Castle Hotel in the near future.

The church bells: very very sorry, but we can not change this, it all belongs to village life on Hungary

Yours sincerely,

Eszter Gulyas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    23
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
40
3
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

There is a place, where you find a gem in the middle of nowhere. It is called Röjtökmuzsaj. It is a small sleepy village with a manor called Szidonia. This is a place of calm and nature. A place to rest from everyday stress. This place is beautiful. The Manor has a large park for walking and having fun. The high quality mineral water is coming just from the tap in every room. You drink it, you swim in it. The stuff is very polite and nice, the rooms are gorgeous. The herbs for the food are cut just from the garden. This is definately a place to think of, when planning a holiday.

Helpful?
2 Thank Dmitrij P
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Eszter G, Vezető at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, 7 August 2014
Greeting from the Castle,

Your comments about our facilities, food, mineral water, herbs and attentive service are very important for us and are our main motivation to give our best every day. We will be glad to share the result of this effort with our team. Thank you again for sharing your impressions and for your wonderful recommendations to future travelers about our services.

The entire Team Members is looking forward to welcoming you back soon to our castle for more amazing experiences.

Sunny regards from Rjtökmuzsaj,

Eszter Gulyas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Olomouc, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

In the middle of nothing there u can find this romantic castle for luxurious stay. It is enough to stay for 3 days. Hotel service is perfect, u have all u need for spa stay at your hotel room, rooms are fully equipped, in modern castle style. Spa is perfect, there are not many people, so u can enjoy a lot your romantic stay, there is sauna finish, steam sauna, hot beds with amazing outdoor view for garden full of herb which cooks use for creating their delicious meals!!!! Spa pool with inside jacuzzi, relaxing place where u can enjoy a cup of tea to with view into the castle garden, where in summer u can use a outdoor pool too. Green garden around, chess place.
Restaurant - food is modern served, delicious, great wine, no money wasted
Really recommned for people who are coming for peaceful romantic stay
Staff always smiling, very friendly, u can enjoy a glass of chapaigne in stylish lobby bar

Room Tip: great place for a short term stay, romantic place
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arny0207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter G, Vezető at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to share your experience here. We're very happy to know that you enjoyed your time with us.

Your kind words toward the team are truly appreciated. I know they look forward to your next visit so they can showcase their genuine hospitality once again.

Best regards from Röjtökmuzsaj,

The Szidónia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

My Wife and myself sent there 2 days. The location is perfect, but the park is not well kept. Some areas are untidy.
The breakfast and the meal is perfect, but the Á la carte menu is very expensive (one beer was 990 HUF, and the tapping quality was low, also they are charging for their own mineral water originating from the hotel what i will fussy).
As we see the Hotel is living from the good reputation collected in the last years (all diploma seen at the reception are from 2010-2012).
The value of the hotel is not so high. For this money we expected a little higher quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank T T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter G, Manager at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Greeting from Szidónia,

Thank you for your feedback, all feedback is very important for us and helps our work.

We regret that we read, not all of our services felt price / value rate, but we hope that you will return to Szidónia Manor House and we can show our nice and better hospitality.

We are happy that you found a perfect location. We would like to inform you that we are working on our park's condition day by day, to become full of life, brilliantly green and floral.

Thanks again, and we hope you'll choose this castle in the future.

All the best from Röjtökmuzsaj
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My girlfriend and I were there for a relaxing wekend. From our home in Vienna, it is just about 1,5 hours per car. The manor house hotel is in a remote location in Hungary, but there are many opportunities within the hotel and its garden so there was no need for us to leave the hotel. In the park around the Hotel, we had a relaxing walk after enjoing the spa. The spa is one of the highlights of the Hotel. A really huge pool, sauna, steam bath and relaxing areas. All in good condition and very relaxing. My girlfriend and I loved it. Atmosphere of the hotel is great. We felt like the royal family there. Staff also very friendly and helpful. In the evening, hotel guests were meeting at the bar, great atmosphere, People could dance or just sit, watch and have a drink. Food was good, breakfast excellent for our taste (try the smoked cheese, I loved it). Rooms were beautiful, spaceous, modern and clean. On the second day, we went to the hot springs in Bükfürdo. About 20 minutes by car, very healthy water with different Minerals. I really recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Felix_K2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter G, Manager at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Felix

Thank you for taking your time in posting your comments on Tripadvisor in regards to your recent stay at Szidónia Castle Hotel, Röjtökmuzsaj.

Thank you very much for sharing this nice experiences with others and I do hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you in the near future.

With the warmest regards from the Castle,

Eszter Gulyás
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed here a few times now and it has to be a favourite. Staff are truly excellent and natural, food is well prepared and thoughtful and the rooms just full of comfort without the chintz that so many hotels insist on nowadays. Pure peace and relaxation. The hotel does now need a bit of refurbishment but that is the sign of popularity and I am sure it will be done. I`ll be back again thats for sure. Why 5 stars? Because they try and they listen and they always take note, thats why.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eszter G, Manager at Szidonia Manor House, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Greeting from Szidónia,

First and foremost, we would like to say thank you for the nice review that you have shared on Trip Advisor regarding your recent stay at Szidónia Manor House.

We are truly pleased to read you were satisfied with the staff and service.
I have shared your comments with our entire team, as they are inspiration to continue providing the high level of service standards that you have experienced during your holiday.

Just for your information, we are a 4 star category hotel, and we had never been a 5 star. Another important information, we have a new ownership from the beginnig of this year, and we are working day by day on the better quality, condition of the house and service


We will be looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With Sunny regards from Röjtökmuzsaj,

The Szidónia Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

The Szidonia Manor House is in a lovely old building in extensive grounds. Our room in the main house was large with worn furnishings, stuffed down the end of a long a corridor with a view of a lot of bushes. Comfortable enough, however. Breakfast was a good spread although without any choice of fresh hot options; just some lukewarm eggs, sausages etc prepared hours earlier. The quality of food at dinner was reasonable but not such as to warrant the inflated prices charged.
Before we arrived we had exchanged emails receiving prompt, helpful responses so the don’t care service we encountered came as real surprise. No one offered to help with our bags and restaurant service was slow and either patronising or surly. On the first night we waited 40 minutes for our dessert whilst on the second we waited an hour for our main courses. No word of an apology. I should also point out that they were not busy with only 4 tables taken on the second night.
We had arranged to pay the bill the night before we left as we had to make an early start. I’m glad we did as the bill was full of errors (in their favour of course!) and it took over an hour of arguing between us, the receptionist and the waiter from the restaurant to resolve. Of course a good manager would have stepped in long before this but I rather suspect there is no manager on site. This would explain many of the problems at the Szidonia. The waiters in the restaurant do as they choose. If you order anything less than a straightforward bottle of wine there you are advised to be aware of just how much the 0.10 L actually amounts to and to ensure you actually get what you ask for. They charged us double because they said they had brought us more than 0.10 L. We had not asked for it and omitted to come prepared with a fluid measuring jug!!
If you find yourself visiting this part of Hungary I advise you to stay somewhere else (anywhere!). We couldn’t wait to leave.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tringfellows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rojtokmuzsaj
14.2 mi away
Pannonia Hotel
Pannonia Hotel
#1 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 408 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Wollner
Hotel Wollner
#3 of 12 in Sopron
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Caramell
Hotel Caramell
#3 of 8 in Buk
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Spirit Hotel Thermal Spa
14.1 mi away
Hotel Lover
Hotel Lover
#2 of 12 in Sopron
4.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
12.0 mi away
Greenfield Hotel Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Szidonia Manor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Szidonia Manor House

Property: Szidonia Manor House
Address: Roejtoeki utca 37, Rojtokmuzsaj 9451, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Central Transdanubia > Gyor-Moson-Sopron County > Rojtokmuzsaj
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rojtokmuzsaj
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Szidonia Manor House 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Top 20 Castle Hotels of Europe, the Szidonia Manor House is situated in the North Western part of Hungary 20 km from Sopron, 80 km from Vienna, and 180 km from Budapest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HRS, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Szidonia Manor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing