We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location and hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Galyateto
Certificate of Excellence
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location and hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

The location is charming, right next to a lovely wood on top of a hill with a breathtaking view of the valley below. The hotel is beautiful and charming, with excellent facilities including a decently equipped gym and perfect wellness facilities. The meals were plentiful and delicious.

The only minor criticism is that Wi-fi didn't work in the rooms, but we were there to relax, so it actually helped :)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie-A-1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    33
    18
    5
    5
See reviews for
49
46
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The surroundings of the hotel are very relaxing, you can really slow down here. We rented bicycles, it was great fun to have look around on those. The hotel is clean, overall condition of the rooms is average. Food is a bit below expectations, but still acceptable. Price is OK. So all in all I recommend this hotel. Biggest advantage is the environment.

Room Tip: Choose a room with jacuzzi for great fun....
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nevem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were satisfied in general, especially with the adult animation. (Thanks to Judit!)
However, there are some topics for improvement:
- Many hotels are prepared to entertain children under 5. We were lacking such animation/facilities.
- Bambi kid's room would need more toys and activities ofr the small ones.
- My wife noticed that the restaurant keeps the same dishes repeating in the morning, and there is a limited choice in the evening.
- My experience was that the waiters were least friendly to us. (A bit of smiling could have helped a lot - the rest of the staff was very kind and open.)

Room Tip: Don't forget - the temperature is 10 degrees lower then the country average, due to the altitude...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank norbert_elek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I give 4 stars just due to the environment, because the hotel itself needs a lot of improvement (room furnitures, keys, wellness etc) The food is also average - not bad, but I met better food in other hotels. the masseur was very old-fashioned without a smile. the other part of the staff was nice and polite, but the hotel keeps its old-fashioned feeling.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Enikő B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
253 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

The location is excellent, this hotel is on top of the third highest mountain in Hungary. Many times you can see the clouds down in the valley and only this place and the top Kekes are visible.

The hotel is old but most of it had been refurbished in the last 10-15 years. The rooms are clean but the toilets in the wellness area would require some additional cleaining. The beds are comfortable except the sofa for children, it was a bit run-down.
The wellness area is very good, we also enjoyed the sauna house with the outdoor pools which have a fantastic view.
The restaurant depends on the chefs as we experienced. One team prepares excellent food, the other team is simply terrible. The waiters are not motivated except a young lady.
They organize children's activities every afternoon and you can also hire a sleigh in winter time. There some deers and mouflons in their great park.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nagytibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debrecen, Hungary
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

The place is wonderful, calm, fresh air. The hotel is elegant and considerable. The room is very clean, well-equipped. The minibar's price isn't horror. It's OK! The stuff are very friendly, polite, nice. Respect Them!
EXCEPT FOR WAITERS!!! Most of waiters are unfriendly, unpolite, listless, money hungry!

The food is quality, wide range, delicious. The breakfast is wonderful. (But the first night/first dinner was average and tasteless. The next night is great. Maybe exchanged cook?!)

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devil-k1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hungary
Level Contributor
217 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

We came to Galyatető again as we liked the hotel and wanted to do some excursions with our friends.
The food definitely improved since last autumn and the hotel was full for the weekend.
This time we had our son with us so we had to book a bigger superior room.
We had a very good time at the wellness area in spite of the fact that there were a lot of people and the outdoor bio sauna was under construction.
Our son enjoyed playing table tennis and feeding the animals in the mini zoo. (You can buy food for the animals at the reception).
Though it was indicated the there is no wireless wifi connection in the rooms, we had one, perhaps because we were not far from the reception on the first floor.
The staff is very polite and they are willing to solve any problem it might occur.
We really enjoyed our stay as well as our friends!

Room Tip: Choose a superior room as they are facing the park and Kékestető.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beabrigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galyateto
4.7 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
4.9 mi away
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
#2 of 2 in Matrahaza
4.0 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
16.4 mi away
Castellum Hotel Holloko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel
6.3 mi away
Erzsebet Park Hotel - Paradfurdo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Grandhotel Galya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Grandhotel Galya

Property: Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
Address: Kodaly Zoltan setany 10, Galyateto 3234, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Galyateto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Galyateto
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunguest Grandhotel Galya 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Odigeo, Agoda and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hunguest Grandhotel Galya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing