We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was better ten years ago”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Galyateto
Reviewed 22 July 2014

I have stayed here ten years ago, and it was a pleasant experience, so I decided to give it another go this year.

I was surprised how it deteriorated in these few years... The bottom of the pool was a bit colored because of algae for example and there were other signs showing the lack of proper maintenance.

The service is still good however, the views are still magnificent, and the surroundings are also top notch.

The dinner buffet was a bit bland, that also was better a decade ago...

We enjoyed our stay, but were a bit disappointed.

Room Tip: Choose a spacious room with a balcony. It is worth the extra cash.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dante252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
There are newer reviews for Hunguest Grandhotel Galya
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 30 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2014

The location is charming, right next to a lovely wood on top of a hill with a breathtaking view of the valley below. The hotel is beautiful and charming, with excellent facilities including a decently equipped gym and perfect wellness facilities. The meals were plentiful and delicious.

The only minor criticism is that Wi-fi didn't work in the rooms, but we were there to relax, so it actually helped :)

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eddie-A-1706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

The surroundings of the hotel are very relaxing, you can really slow down here. We rented bicycles, it was great fun to have look around on those. The hotel is clean, overall condition of the rooms is average. Food is a bit below expectations, but still acceptable. Price is OK. So all in all I recommend this hotel. Biggest advantage is the environment.

Room Tip: Choose a room with jacuzzi for great fun....
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nevem L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

We were satisfied in general, especially with the adult animation. (Thanks to Judit!)
However, there are some topics for improvement:
- Many hotels are prepared to entertain children under 5. We were lacking such animation/facilities.
- Bambi kid's room would need more toys and activities ofr the small ones.
- My wife noticed that the restaurant keeps the same dishes repeating in the morning, and there is a limited choice in the evening.
- My experience was that the waiters were least friendly to us. (A bit of smiling could have helped a lot - the rest of the staff was very kind and open.)

Room Tip: Don't forget - the temperature is 10 degrees lower then the country average, due to the altitude...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank norbert_elek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

I give 4 stars just due to the environment, because the hotel itself needs a lot of improvement (room furnitures, keys, wellness etc) The food is also average - not bad, but I met better food in other hotels. the masseur was very old-fashioned without a smile. the other part of the staff was nice and polite, but the hotel keeps its old-fashioned feeling.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Enikő B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

The location is excellent, this hotel is on top of the third highest mountain in Hungary. Many times you can see the clouds down in the valley and only this place and the top Kekes are visible.

The hotel is old but most of it had been refurbished in the last 10-15 years. The rooms are clean but the toilets in the wellness area would require some additional cleaining. The beds are comfortable except the sofa for children, it was a bit run-down.
The wellness area is very good, we also enjoyed the sauna house with the outdoor pools which have a fantastic view.
The restaurant depends on the chefs as we experienced. One team prepares excellent food, the other team is simply terrible. The waiters are not motivated except a young lady.
They organize children's activities every afternoon and you can also hire a sleigh in winter time. There some deers and mouflons in their great park.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view over the mountains.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nagytibi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The place is wonderful, calm, fresh air. The hotel is elegant and considerable. The room is very clean, well-equipped. The minibar's price isn't horror. It's OK! The stuff are very friendly, polite, nice. Respect Them!
EXCEPT FOR WAITERS!!! Most of waiters are unfriendly, unpolite, listless, money hungry!

The food is quality, wide range, delicious. The breakfast is wonderful. (But the first night/first dinner was average and tasteless. The next night is great. Maybe exchanged cook?!)

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MoziBolonderia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galyateto
4.7 mi away
The Residence Ozon Conference & Wellness Hotel
4.9 mi away
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
Lifestyle Hotel Matra
#2 of 2 in Matrahaza
159 reviews
16.4 mi away
Castellum Hotel Holloko
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.0 mi away
Bambara Hotel
Bambara Hotel
#1 of 1 in Felsotarkany
166 reviews
2.2 mi away
Hotel Narad Park
Hotel Narad Park
#2 of 11 in Matraszentimre
48 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kastelyhotel Sasvar Resort Mansion Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hunguest Grandhotel Galya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hunguest Grandhotel Galya

Address: Kodaly Zoltan setany 10, Galyateto 3234, Hungary
Region: Hungary > Northern Hungary > Heves County > Galyateto
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Galyateto
Price Range: £102 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hunguest Grandhotel Galya 4*
Number of rooms: 134
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Hunguest Grandhotel Galya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing