We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Dunes Hotel & Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hesperia Isla Margarita(Margarita Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kokobay(Juan Griego)
View Hotel
  • Spa
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel Patrick(Juan Griego)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tropical Refuge(Margarita Island)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
H2otel by LD(Playa el Agua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
LD Palm Beach(Playa el Agua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hesperia Playa El Agua(Playa el Agua)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hesperia Eden Club(Margarita Island)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,839)
Filter reviews
1,839 results
Traveller rating
602
569
375
172
121
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
602
569
375
172
121
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmain poola la carte restaurantburgerjuan griegonight showsexchange ratesnack barnightly entertainmentislandvenezuelamargaritamarcofebpinasambil
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
219 - 224 of 1,839 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2009

We went with a group of 8 friends, we were supposed to stay at another hotel but when we got there they told us at the airport the pool was closed so they moved us to this hotel.
The rooms were OK, bathrooms really small and the shower curtain kept falling every single day.
Some of my friends room´s ac did not work most of the week, and they were not able to fix it.
The food was really bad, everyday the same options, and desserts were the worst part.
The pool and beach area were really nice. The service was good, people had good atitude. We went in June and the hotel was empty so there was not much of a party life during the day or at night.
Most of the guests were Germans, and a few from south america.
The english level of the employees was a bit poor, but they delivered good service.
Suggest you rent a car and go out of the hotel at night to Mr Frog, or the casinos, it´s really good.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MeryMeryar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2009

The freindliness and courtesy of staff members in and around the grounds was enough to bring that comfort that one requires when away from home. Hector and Tyle are just two of the waiters with great personalities that there to serve you with hearts of love.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lowe2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2009

We had a fabulous time, mostly due to the 3 day trip into venezula-staying inn the jungle, a trip to Kanaima falls and flying over Angel Falls. The hotel was ok, we did have to channge rooms though cause of the ants invading us! The guest services suggested we buy ant spray from their shop. Being persistant paid off and our second room was far nicer. Food ok, but not really 4 star standard. beautiful country, i'm sure the room situation could of ruined the holiday for some people, but a holiday is what you make it - we had a great time.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank addictedtoholidays68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

Margarita island is beautiful, the ocean and desert at the same time. Clean and friendly resort. The Dunes is nicest resort we saw during a bus tour. No problem with the food.
Nice beach but very very windy. Dont count on swimming in the ocean the waves are to large. They do have a beautiful pool. Change your money on the beach, it is worth it and he is easy to find. Go with an opened mind it is a nice experience.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sheiba0007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2009

People do not relize when your going to a different country than you are used to that things, food, people, rooms, decor, style, appliances, bedding, colors, showers, everything is different !!!!
Dunes is an Island resort with tons of things to keep you busy, relaxed, full, happy, all together.
The staff does treat tourist very well, what ever you need they find it for you. (one bed was too small for my children so they brough in an extra bedfor him) (we wanted ice and coffee for room they brought us bag of coffee, sugar, napkins,stirs, and a giant bag of ice)
the activities are fun ( we won a contest they gave us a kool mix island cd), singing,disco,games,pool & card games,ocean sports,races,bars everywhere,beach side restauraunt, inside restaurant, many pools. (if that doesnt make you happy along the beach is another food bar not part of dunes but good fish and people are along the beach selling all kinds of goodies.
(My favorite was these coconut patties so good)
They even have a kids club so parents can relax.
And about the hot water, most places on the Island do not have hot water the water is heated by the sun, its not like back home where you have hot and cold, but in this type of weather who wants a hot shower. But my room the water temp was warm. Be ready for mosquitos, sand, heat, musty feeling anywhere on any Island......Its the country not the resort. My family had such a good time here that we bought a package deal to use for 7 years...............................

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ttinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews