We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful building” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Villa Malpensa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Villa Malpensa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vizzola Ticino
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
100 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Location is great if you need to go to the airport. They have a free shuttle bus each 30 minutes departing from the hotel (at arrival in Malpensa, you need to call the hotel).
The building is really beautiful, though the hotel is just a normal hotel.
Medium size room, with a little old fashioned bathroom.
Breakfast is very simple, not many choices, and very slow service.
Dinner at the restaurant was really good, though rather expensive (but there's no other choice in the area)

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Borja I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    76
    70
    28
    29
See reviews for
28
92
20
63
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Joensuu, Finland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel has all ingredients for a nice stay, but since the maintenance of the property has been overlooked, and the hotel has practically no services, our stay was very disappointing. Room was priced ok, was quiet and clean, but the breakfast...cold coffee and toast... Not worth the money spent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vesa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Vizzola Ticino hotels

Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2013 via mobile

I'm quite stuck on how to review this Hotel, here's why;

Plus points.
Only about 1km from the airport and to be honest, I don't recall hearing any airport noise at all.
As you drive in, the Hotel looks amazingly charming and grand and all set in lovely grounds with a swimming pool.
Free transfers too and from the airport
And for me, that's where it ends.

Bad points
For a converted villa, I was quite intrigued as to what the rooms would be like.
However, the rooms are pretty terrible and resemble what's left after a Car Boot sale in late 80's.
TV didn't work, which isn't the end of the world I know.
I found one member of staff to be friendly and helpful, the rest were pretty miserable if I'm honest.
The grout in the shower was orange and the room doesn't look like its been decorated for a while.
The restaurant menu looked pretty sophisticated, but personally I found it very very average.

I don't think I could stay here for more than a night, but for a flying visit to the Malpensa area it suited me fine.
Massively frustrated with this place. With a bit of investment, this place could be amazing.

Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckeye, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

We only stayed here one night before departing from Malpensa airport the next morning. The property is very pretty and the staff very nice. It was difficult to find even though it is steps away from the terminal, the street sign is almost impossible to see once you follow the directions towards terminal 1 at the airport. After finally finding it we arrived just before the dining room was closing for lunch but the staff was very nice and we were able to get a light lunch as we had traveled from Cinque Terre that same day, we very much appreciated that. Our room was very large which was nice because we had a lot of luggage to get organized before our flight out in the morning.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

We just returned from Europe. Our last night, we stayed in the Villa Malpensa. We had a lovely large corner triple room on the second floor just above the entry. Due to traffic, we arrived later than expected, and were grubby from hiking, swimming, and traveling up from the Cinque Terre. We were also starving. (We had a bit of a language barrier in meeting the airport shuttle, but finally found it, and it was great. Make sure you slowly repeat your location over the phone). When we checked in, the mgt was a bit frazzled, but quite professional. Their pump had just been hit by lightning, and the water was completely off. We were advised that the Engineer was fast at work, and to have dinner first. We ate in the restaurant, which, is lovely, but overpriced and not amazing. After dinner, we were dying to shower for our trip home the following morning. The water was still off, and after my husband spoke w/ the engineer, he was pretty sure that it wouldn't be resolved before our check out. We decided to stick it out, and enjoy the hotel as part of the European experience. The waitress was super nice and gave us several free bottles of water, and a great free wine. :))) We got to our huge room, opened the windows, (AC was also off), drank wine, and sang for several hours. (sorry if we disturbed anyone, but this was the only way to survive!) The next morning, still no water. The mgt was very frustrated, and most of the guests were not happy. It was unfortunate, b/c they were clearly doing everything they could to fix the problem. The hotel didn't offer any $ compensation, and because we were in a hurry checking out, I didn't ask. I think that some sort of compensation should've been offered, but we decided that possibly that's not their way over there. We figure it will come back sometime as good Karma!! fyi: Free airport shuttle is nice. Free breakfast par. Free wifi for only 30 minutes, though, so speed read and type!

Room Tip: We were in the corner, where we could open 2 windows for circulation. Luckily, there was a cool fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMTexasGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvington, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

Do not stay at this hotel! After spending two weeks traveling around northern Italy we thought that this would be a nice place to stay at the end of the trip before flying home in the morning. The pictures on the website looked wonderful but the place is run down. When we went to the pool there was a DEAD RAT floating around. The hotel staff removed the rat and threw a handful of chlorine and said is was fine to swim in. If they think this is the appropriate way to handle a rodent in the pool, I can only imagine how they handle other issues of cleanliness. The air conditioning is non working. This place is thirty years past its prime and is poorly maintained. The staff was extremely rude, so much so that we left and went to the Crowne Plaza a few miles away. The Crown plaza did not have much charm, but the rooms were clean, the air conditioning functioned and the pool was sanitary. ONCE AGAIN, STAY AWAY FROM THE HOTEL VILLA MALPENSA if you want to end your stay in Italy on a positive note. For the record, I am not a hotel basher, this place was just a complete mess!

Room Tip: STAY AWAY! Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rob t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa, California, United States
Level Contributor
71 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

The night before you must leave Italy on an early morning flight after a fabulous vacation, it is so important to stay in a lovely hotel. The Villa Malpenza is a converted villa that makes you feel as if you are a guest in someone's home. A shuttle takes you to Malpenza in five minutes. There is a lovely relaxing pool where you can do some laps before you have to sit on a plane for 10 hours. And the surprise was the outstanding dinner we had in the hotel restaurant. Giuseppe, one of the desk clerks, went out of his way to assist us when we needed to locate a gas station prior to returning our rental car - he was professional and poised and we felt as if we were in one of the top hotels in Milan. We were treated very well! Excellent choice for a Malpenza hotel prior to an early plane flight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vizzola Ticino
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Milan-Malpensa Airport
0.7 mi away
Sheraton Milan Malpensa Airport Hotel & Conference Centre
1.0 mi away
First Hotel Malpensa
First Hotel Malpensa
#1 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
MOXY Milan Malpensa Airport
#2 of 10 in Somma Lombardo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
1.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Milan - Malpensa Airport
1.0 mi away
Idea Hotel Plus Milano Malpensa Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Malpensa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Malpensa

Property: Hotel Villa Malpensa
Address: Via Don Andrea Sacconago 1, 21010 Vizzola Ticino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Varese > Vizzola Ticino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vizzola Ticino
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Villa Malpensa 4*
Number of rooms: 325
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Malpensa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Malpensa Hotel Vizzola Ticino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing