We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“La Greppia - nowhere is better than here” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Greppia - CLOSED

La Greppia
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“La Greppia - nowhere is better than here”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

The food and wine here is simply superb.
We have been here many times as a couple and also with friends and have never been disappointed, in any way whatsoever.
The guy who runs La Greppi is Egisto (I think I have spelt it correctly) and he is a fund of knowledge about the wine in his enoteca and will always find the right wine for you at whatever price you want to pay.
Egisto will also go 'off menu' and provide what you want if he has the ingredients!
Nothing more to add, except go and be surprised!!
TokyoJacko

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TokyoJacko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    16
    7
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Standout small restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2012

For five or six years we have spent some time near Peccioli and eaten at La Greppia with friends and family. We were introduced to this terrific restaurant by a friend who owns an agriturismo nearby. It is everything a small town Italian restaurant should be! The food is delicious and authentic, whether it is risotto cooked in red wine, or rabbit, veal, or pasta. The owner is charming and delightful, the decor entertainingly wacky. The wine list has some decent wines that are affordably priced. All in all, if you're in the area it's a must.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank auntiemame r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Superb food in splendid setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012

Absolutly astonishing dinner, in a cosy setting with a couple who puts there entire focus and decidaction to serve good food. Good and personal service. Winelist with some real gems to afforable prices. Will come back !

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank arne_richtner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2011

We stayed in a villa near peccioli for three weeks and dined here five times. It's a small restaurant so book early and avoid disappointment. We ate pasta, chicken, paella ( just wonderful!!) and the best zabaglione we've ever had, and every dish was cooked well and was delicious. The owner is a warm and welcoming man who was very accommodating with the children, nothing was too much trouble for him. I look forward to a return trip in the future.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank snainton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MLGWesgate-On-Sea
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A truly memorable restaurant experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2010

We stayed in Tuscany a few miles away from Peccioli and sampled quite a few different restaurants some inexpensive and others more so. I have to say that by far this restaurant was miles ahead of the rest. We booked the day before but the proprietor did not take our name down. I was concerned that he would not remember us when we turned up, however my mind was soon put at rest when not only did he remember us but also remembered where we wanted to sit. We occupied the most charming 'booth' in the restaurant where we could sit and chat without being heard or bothered by other people in the restaurant. What then followed was a gastronomic delight with excellent service and including wine cost less than £90 for the two of us. I would love to return to this restaurant wehen next in Tuscany and would recommend anyone visiting the area to do the same, you will not be disappointed!

Helpful?
1 Thank MLGWesgate_On_Sea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Greppia also viewed

Peccioli, Province of Pisa
Peccioli, Province of Pisa
 
Peccioli, Province of Pisa
Fabbrica, Peccioli
 
Peccioli, Province of Pisa
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing