We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Inexpensive Authentic Hotel”
Review of Hotel San Gerolamo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel San Gerolamo
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vercurago
Reviewed 26 April 2013

This is a hotel near Lecco and Calolziocorte, Italy.
It is on a hilltop in a small ancient, medieval section.
The streets are very narrow, and the small neighborhood has many old buildings and there is a monastery.
The view from the hilltop overlooks the lake below, and it is very quiet and green.
The hotel is small, the receptionist is the owner, he is very friendly.
The rooms are large, and well furnished, also with some antique furnishings. The bathroom is very large and has a bidet.
On the negative side, the wireless internet signal is weak and quite slow. It is not aan internet oriented hotel. Also there is no elevator, but nayway it is only two floors.
Pricies are very good, inexpensive.
The breakfast is good, the brioche are wonderful.
The hotel restaurant is not very cheap, perhaps you can consider one of many places in Lecco.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mete1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (84)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Gerolamo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 84 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

Many thanks to Luca and family for making our recent two night stay a very comfortable and enjoyable experience. The hotel's location, though a little away from the lake/river itself, is stunning, set on a steep hillside with great views of the imposing church above. Accommodation itself is very reasonably priced due to it being further away from the lake and dinner, though certainly not cheap, is excellent as Luca is a marvellous chef and is aiming at the higher end of the dining market. The room and bathroom were comfortable and very nicely furnished, with fine quality fixtures and fittings, though perhaps the walls could do with some paintings or pictures, but that is just personal taste of course. Luca and family are such hard-working and welcoming hosts and you can see that every effort is being put into making your stay a happy one, Luca himself even took time out to drop us to the train station in Calaziocorte for us to travel to Bergamo (well worth a visit by the way).

All in all, highly recommended!!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentlemanrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013 via mobile

If you are in the area a must to stay here we use it for the f1 in monza
Just a quick train ride away
There is an pasta restaurant very near
Bit of a walk up the hill to the hotel but worth it
Parking good we travel on bikes and no problems

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jdwcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at San Gerolamo hotel for 3 days during our visit of Como lake. It was advised to us by our friend who is s big fan of Italy. The location is very quite and beautiful. The service is excellent. It is family-owned business and the guest would feel himself as if he is not just a customer. Really authentic breakfast with proscuitto, Italian cheese and fresh eggs. I never felt so relaxed and recovered after just 3 days of vacation. Special thanks to Luca, his advices about the surroundings and local cuisine were very valuable. We would definitely recommend this hotel to all our friends.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lyagush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 3 nights in September and enjoyed our stay very much. Our room was spacious and very clean. The owners and staff were very friendly and helpful and the food was superb. I would highly reccomend this hotel to anyone. We're already looking forward to going back.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Situated in a picturesque area of Vercurago, a suburb of Lecco. The drive to Lecco town centre is about 10 minutes. The road leading to the hotel is very narrow - caution for wide cars. The area is very quiet and there are nice walking areas around. The hotel staff, especially Luca are extremely helpful and polite. They do their best to accommodate your needs. I was particularly impressed by their willingness to find us travel information. Breakfast and dinner are of a high quality. Though the breakfast buffet is not the most extensive I have witnessed, everything was fresh and tasty. Rooms are very clean and the loft is quite immersive. Keep in mind that there is no lift, though it is a 3- storey building. I definitely recommend this place and would surely stay there again if I visit this area.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alkof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

Stayed for one night in June 2012. Service was wonderful. The two bedroom apartment was spacious and clean for my family of four. Dinner was delicious. The only negative was the television not working but the owner came and changed set.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gioia52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vercurago
3.5 mi away
Clarion Collection Hotel Griso Lecco
4.2 mi away
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
Hotel Resort & Spa Miramonti
#1 of 1 in Rota d'Imagna
1,166 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Nuovo
Hotel Nuovo
#1 of 1 in Garlate
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
NH Lecco Pontevecchio
0.8 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Locanda Del Mel
#1 of 1 in Calolziocorte
12 reviews
5.6 mi away
Hotel Moderno
Hotel Moderno
#1 of 1 in Fuipiano Valle Imagna
217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Gerolamo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Gerolamo

Address: Via San Gerolamo 56, 23808 Vercurago, Italy
Region: Italy > Lombardy > Province of Lecco > Vercurago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Vercurago
Price Range: £61 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel San Gerolamo 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel San Gerolamo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Gerolamo Hotel
San Gerolamo Lecco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing