We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Just Fantastic”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
5 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Porlezza, Province of Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 5 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Richard H
Landgraaf, Limburg, Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed 5 October 2013 for a stay in October 2013

The cottage is beautiful situated. Just about 100 meters from the town Porlezza, where you can find everything needed (bar, restaurants, butcher, supermarket etc.). The ancient cottage has a beautiful terras with a very nice view over the lake and town. The cottage is situated at a quiet road (the busy main road is about 100 meters further). Due to the water nearby there are of course mosquito's, so bring a good spray with you. We also saw some big turtels on the lake. Despite the discription we were allowed to bring our small dog with us.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: nice views over the lake
Liked least: we met a Scorpion (although the Italian Scorpion is quite harmless!!)
Travelling group: Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve B
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic views of the lake”
Reviewed 20 August 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This property is in an excellent location right beside the lake. It is South facing meaning that you get the sun on the balcony for most of the day. It is easy to get to Lugano and Lake Como each a short drive away. I thought the criticisms made in the July 2013 reviews were quite unfair. If you stay beside an Italian lake in the summer there will be mosquitos ants and lizards so you just need to take basic precautions. The same is true if you want to keep cool inside. You just have to use the window shutters and the air conditioning appropriately. The kitchen equipment is at times basic But the Holiday company were very helpful when we told them of any difficulty For example We couldn't find any scissors So they just gave us the scissors from the office there and then .....problem solved. It has Wi-Fi and it is just a few minutes walk from the town but the best feature is the very large balcony with lots of different places to sit and admire the views of the lake.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisseboss...
1 review
“Nice outside area. Not so nice inside.”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We booked this place for nine days, but after four days we've had enough. There is an air-condition on the groundfloor, but the bedroom is on the mezzanine floor. We had normal summer temperature outside. The bedroom was 27-28 degrees warm at night.
Lots of ants inside the flat.
Mosquitos outside in the evening.

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Idiehs
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dont go there”
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Bugs everywhere
Smelly towels
Not cleaned at all
Aircondition not working in the bedroom so its damn hot in there!!! There is a road right ouside with alot of traffic.
Was promised no mosquitoes and the whole family got eaten up. Suiatable for children? No! Standard! Very poor. We left in the middle of the vacation. Couldnt live like this! Lizzards in bed? Not my style. Asked for our money back! Did we Get it? ....

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie S
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful cosy retreat”
Reviewed 18 April 2013 for a stay in April 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing place to stay. Really different! Set into the cliff face it is a stone cottage with so much oldie worldly character. Very romantic.
We went when it was cold and wet and felt very cosy. But it would be fantastic to be there in the summer when you could utilise the terraces.
The information from the booking agents was very useful too and gave us ideas of things to do while we visited the area. You do need a car. It would have been useful to have a pack in the apartment though with information on how to use the shower, where the supermarket was etc. We arrived on a Sunday with no milk or bread, and everywhere closed!
The only other problem we had was showering...there is a huge new shower across the open terrace which we did brave despite the cold and rain but only managed one hot shower from the tank. My poor fiancé had a cold shower. Not nice on a cold, wet morning. The shower in the cottage was tiny and hard to get hot water from too.
I felt the photos on the website led you to believe this property was actually on the lake and in fact a road divides it. Also the cliff it is built into provides a road tunnel that is the equivalent to an A road. In the morning rush hour this was noisy. As we're the church bells......but that's the joy of staying in Italy.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The cosines and oldie worldy feeling, log fires,
Liked least: Showering and the traffic noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing