We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fresh fish”
Review of Il Crotto del Lago

Il Crotto del Lago
Ranked #8 of 39 Restaurants in Porlezza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Child-friendly, Kids, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Bruges, Belgium
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very fresh fish”
Reviewed 17 August 2013

We found this restaurant by accident and were delightfully surprised by its fresh fish and beautiful location on Lake Lugano. We went there twice: once for lunch and once for dinner. Staff extremely friendly but do book your table for the evening (they open at 7pm) because it's always full. And, once you've asked for your bill you get given a bottle of Limoncello to digest a volonté!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tineke50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    99
    26
    17
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida
1 review
“So Perfect”
Reviewed 1 August 2013

We were in Italy for two weeks and after visiting Tuscany. we arrived in porlezza to greet my friends. We met at the Il Crotto del Lago for a drink.
The restaurant is located in a beautiful place to two meters from the water of the lake.
Giancarlo owner immediately made ​​us sit on the terrace and let us try the new drink Ugo, made with Mionetto, elderflower, mint and lime, very good and even better if you drink with il Tagliere del Crotto a selection of Italian cold cuts, I can not forget the onions in balsamic vinegar.
The next night we reserved a table to try some specialties of the place.
Everything was perfect and the food was great and the service quick Gaincarlo a wine expert advise us perfectly with the wine and food pairings at the end we were offered the limoncello carrying a bottle on the table
I have to say I had a great experience
Thanks Giancarlo Laura and Carlo

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moorea, French Polynesia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“go for it if you love salty dishes”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

it's a fish restaurant but my favourite is the chicken in the basket there. you love th whole cuisine f you are a sodium fanatic

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vasco d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lugano, Switzerland
2 reviews
“Lunch on the Lake”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I went to this restaurant with my husband for lunch. It seems to be a very popular place. The food was great and service wonderful. At the end of the meal they bring you a complementary limoncello. A lovely way to finish the meal. We went on a wet and windy day but the outside area looks lovely.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mousiekins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great Find”
Reviewed 6 November 2012

We were searching the area for a good restaurant and stopped here for a glass of wine. The setting was great--right by the lake--the restaurant was fairly busy for lunch, and it was full of locals which is always a good sign to us. So, we dined there both nights, and thoroughly enjoyed it. Although few of the servers spoke English, they welcomed us back like family members. Definitely try their mussels in a light marinara sauce--everyone was ordering them and one order is certainly enough of a starter for two. Their seafood is definitely one of their strengths, although we didn't try their pasta. Also, really enjoyed the homey way they bring a bottle of grappa and lemoncello to your table after your meal so you can pour yourself a "digestive" and relax. Recommend that you go early if you can, as they fill up quickly, especially on weekends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kayhawk53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Crotto del Lago also viewed

Porlezza, Province of Como
Porlezza, Province of Como
 
Porlezza, Province of Como
Porlezza, Province of Como
 

Been to Il Crotto del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing