We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice peaceful hotel with great views”
Review of Hotel Campione

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Campione
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bissone
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I am working in Lugano and after a very long day found myself relaxing with the great staff. Not far from Lugano but with views you will pay a fortune for in the city. The hotel offers everything including lovely pool, mountain walks, views and I had a big room with separate living space. Ideal to catch with work after a busy day looking out over the lake.

Reception has given me a run to try in the morning so looking forward to throwing open the curtains to watch the sun rise over the lake and having a bit of fun on my travels.

Thanks to all staff

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Exhibit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (369)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 369 reviews

Reviewed 15 September 2012

Ordered this hotel almost half a year in advance, coming with a family and wishing to have a room we wanted (separate beds for kids and balcony). Just to arrive, get the keys and find ourselves in a room having none of the above. The room we ordered was occupied, and the receptionist did not even think of an apology. Tried to argue, but we were facing a "take it or leave it" choice. The best offer we have got was to be moved to another room next night (out of 3 night we came for). Asked for a compensation, received funny 10% for the 1st night as a "big favor".
The 1st room (without the balcony) was big, but very worn out and outdated. It was on the 2nd (ground) floor, windows facing directly the restaurant terrace and the pool. So, we had to stay with shut windows and curtains and a noisy air conditioner on.
The 2nd room was more modern, but much smaller - a standard triple with a fourth bed squeezed in. Got a promised "balcony" fitting more or less 1.5 person and directly facing the main road.
Arriving with a car (what other options do you have in the middle of village?), be prepared to pay extra 17 CHF for parking (per night), as there are no other parking options.
And the place is expensive, up to date we do not understand what for. Probably, the unheated pool noone is using.
Bottom line: ovepriced, greedy, unfair, the rest is not important.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G9508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arminrastcampione, Owner at Hotel Campione, responded to this reviewResponded 20 October 2013

Dear client

we have receivd your comment and first of all we thank you for your time and we are apologizing for not have met your standards.
Your comment is surprising for the following:
The room you had the first night was as you confirmed a big room, actually it was a free upgrade to a junior suite.
Your request to have singel beds for the chidren was met, unfortunately we where not able to give you the balcony but on the other side we have to say that your requests have never been confirmed from our side , they were only requested from your side.
We thought that you would appreciate a big junior suite and prefer a spacious room on the more tranquil side of the hotel, to a balcony, which in septeber is not very useful.

The second and third nights you moved to a family room, with balcony, two beds for the children and lakeview. We are sorry to hear that it was to loud for you.

You received a 10% discount in high season. We are sincerely sorry that you were not happy about it, but it's obvious we could not give you the 100% discount you asked for.

About the parking, we do not understand your complain:
10 outside freeparking spaces are available on the hotels premises
20 inside parking spaces are available in our garage at CHF 15 and not 17.- as you wrote
the moore in front of the hotel there are parking spaces long the road and a big parking for 30 cars is just 100 meters from the hotel in the village....

About the pool: in September the pool are is not very much used it's true, the people go hicking, looking for mushrooms not for pools any more.
You would be surprised to see our nice pool are full of peolple in the summer ....

Sincerely
Best regards

Armin RAST, Dir.
Hotel Campione

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel for one night in our pass through from Rome, Italy to
Zurich, Switzerland. The shuttle from the airport to the hotel was ready and waiting for us when we arrived via train station from Rome. The pricing for the shuttle was around 35€. The hotel staff that greeted us at the reception/lobby area was amazing! He was super friendly and incredibly accommodating throughout our short stay there. We absolutely loved his welcoming demeanor and super-friendly attitude. The room was sized fine. Bathroom size was decent. The view from the room was amazing. Great views on Lake Lugano. Decor looked outdated though throughout the hotel. Wifi connection was good when it connected to your devices (we had iPhones/iPad), but there appeared to be some problems with the Internet. The breakfast was decent. The restaurant food was pretty good but pricey. Pool looked awesome, but we were unable to stay long enough to utilize it.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Noapple4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Very basic hotel, but clean. It says it's a three star hotel but I think it's closer to 2 stars. The staff is helpful and available 24 hours. The breakfast was very basic tho... not much variety. Every day in the early morning I was waken up by noise of chairs being dragged on the floor coming from upstairs. The hotel is located about 10 minute walk to the Casino Campione. Campione has no shops, just a handfull of restaurants. I think you're better off staying in Lugano.

Room Tip: You have the chance of having mountain view or lake view. The lake is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teresa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2012

Great Hotel 5 minute away from Lugano. The Hotel is in next to a small village called Campione and is right in front of the lake of Lugano. The service is fantastic, the Hotel might be a 3 star Hotel but the service is certainly 5 star worth. The rooms are pleasant and very clean. Nice pool as well. The best part is having breakfast on the terrace with a fantastic view to the lake of Lugano. We were planning to stay one night and ended staying two.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bego75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2011

Superb view over Lugano lake, friendly people and quiet location in the Italian enclave inside Swiss. Another advantage: Only 10 minutes walk to Casino Campione d'Italia.

Room Tip: Higher floor, better view over the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andreifrimescu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

After driving up from Padova in Italy me and my wife came upon Hotel Campione. At 8pm we make enquiries about a room, we were quoted a price accepted and was promptly upgraded for the same price. It gets better the person at the reception (who i later found out was a director) was so helpful with local and national knowledge it made our follow on journey a lot more interesting.Now the hotel where do i start the room was spacious and clean the restaurant did a brilliant evening meal and the breakfast very was very adequite but MOST of all the stunning views from the terrace outside the restaurant will blow you away.
All in all we found the whole experience BRILLIANT and will have no problem going back.

John & Ani Head

Room Tip: Follow the signs for Hotel Campione you can't go wrong
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bissone
3.6 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
5.6 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Park Hotel Rovio-Albergo del Parco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
3.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
16.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
Hotel Belvedere Locarno
#2 of 27 in Locarno
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Campione? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Campione

Address: via Campione 62, Bissone 6816, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Mendrisiotto > Bissone
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Bissone
Price Range: £95 - £172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Campione 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family owned and runned top tree star hotel, just a few meters from the shore of lake Lugano, recently renowated, at the entrance gate to the italian enclave of Campione with europes biggest casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Campione reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel
Hotel Campione Switzerland/Bissone

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing